We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food, long wait.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Rapido

El Rapido
Kazinczy u. 10, Budapest, Hungary
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #994 of 1,797 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb food, long wait.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Pretty good Mexican food, but be prepared for a really loooong wait. they say 10 minutes tops - means at least 20.
On the other hand you can try some of their special tequilas while waiting...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“best in Budapest for fresh mexican sandwiches !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

this very small olac offer for you a big selection of mex food , but not tex -mex .. its more rich and tasty.. huge kinde of drinks , nice and helpfull crew .
excellent coffes : jjawa , kenya .. guatamala , etc .. 48 kinde of tequila ..
if few people front of you may have to wait ,less than in mcdonalds ..you can sterring on your food while its made.
some times they make the same foods together , and may you orderd before, but for make faster ,then the extra kinde may will ready later ! you can ask as you like it , not hot , less spice , or hot , or very hot ..or without cheese , or double meet .. what ever.. and all this made in a very small place .. bit at least if you go in 2 minutes before closing time , you still can get fresh food ..& can go downstairs ..may for wait and enjoy the bar drinks ,and make your own you tube music !!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cheap, tasty, quirky and open late!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We thought the food here was really tasty. It isn't quite rapido as other reviews have suggested, but for the price and quality, we didn't feel we could complain . And at 1am, when you fancy a burrito, there aren't many places that you could actually go! Definitely worth a visit downstairs. Bizarre and fascinating!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Burritos, fast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just down from szimpla kert ruin bar this place serves up no nonsense mexican food and has numerous beers and tequilas to sample whilst eating or waiting for you food. The food is very reasonably priced at around 1000HUF for a burrito or quesedilla

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“What can I say - get a system that works!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stopped in here for a late night bite to eat. Menu looks great, so we ordered a burrito and a quesadilla. It wasn't super busy, but there were other people coming and ordering after us... and then getting their food before us. We gave them the benefit of the doubt, assuming these were smaller, quicker dishes that other people were ordering. It wasn't the case. Pretty much turned out it was a self service free-for-all. The chef had made my burrito, and just left it sitting on the bench, not thinking to perhaps call the order up to us waiting. And after 25 minutes, my wife gave up on watching others walk up order, and walk away with quesadillas - and so just asked for a refund. This is when the girl behind the till kicked off, throwing away the receipt, and trying to take some quesadillas from someone else at the counter, and give them to my wife. Wifey insisted on the refund, and begrudgingly finally received it. What a gong show! My burrito was nice. They just clearly need to sort their service/ordering system out, pronto!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rapido also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to El Rapido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rapido, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.