We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best vegetarian restaurants in Budapest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bollywood

Bollywood
Akacfa street-50 | Akacfa Utca-50, Budapest 1072 Budapest, Hungary
+36 70 541 3812
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #849 of 1,784 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Indian, Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“one of the best vegetarian restaurants in Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I have been there many times as living in the area and being vegetarian. Hands down the best choice to get a great vegetarian meal for a small budget. Staff is friendy and helpful, and always ready to suit your special requests. Try out and you'll for sure add it to your favorites!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Cooked just the way you want”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is a lovely quirky small curry house. Its not posh, but the food is amazing. The Owner asked what we liked, we explained we were vegan, and he said he could make any dish vegan. He also asked how spicy we liked our food, so we got dishes perfect to our taste. The food is very fresh and amazing value for money! Highly recommend if you want a good quality, cheap vegetarian meal.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My family fall in love with that place and it's owner!!! The most tasteful vegetarian food ever! Try mango lassi and bollywood sandwich!!! The owner starts cooking just when you make your order!!! And masala tea my passion)))my younger sister become vegetarian after we visit that place)))next time in Budapest we go there!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaragoza, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very nice veg food in tatty local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Do not make wrong assumptions on the tatty decoration and the small size, food is very good and tasty (both hot and normal), basmati rice is superb and all is fresh and hand made in the very same moment by very charming owner/chef. My suggestion is getting a full plate and let the chef choose it for you as you tell him what you like. At last, even the decoration has its point to feel comfy. Price was also very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“simple and sweet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Quaint little indian home restaurant serving tasty vegetarian food for a good price. additonally, the owner who cooks everythig himself is super friendly and polite! however, it takes quite some time for the owner cooks everything without any staff so be sure to go when you have time to spare

Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Bollywood also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Bollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.