We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good if you are vegetarian.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Govinda Vega Sarok

Govinda Vega Sarok
Papnovelde Utca 1, Budapest, Hungary (District V / Inner City)
06-20-554-9919
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #650 of 1,989 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
264 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Good if you are vegetarian.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We (a couple) walked in this place by mistake thinking of some other place located on the same small street near Vaci. Anyways, we decided to stay here and to try vegetarian Indian food.

Even if it is hard to imagine Indian food without butter chicken, we were obliged to do so because all pre-cooked dishes were made with a "meat free" rule. In closer look, we didn't find any imitations of a meat made with soy, so it made a first negative impression for us.

Another disappointment was the service. No matter that the place was full of vegetarian tourists, the staff members didn't speak English. As a result, it was a bit unconfortable to explain with gestures to put veggie balls on the top of the rice. We failed in it, so rice and veggie balls were put on the separate plates as it originally supposed to be.

The taste of veggie balls, rice, fried bread and peppers, pita and mango lassi was above average but it felt that real meat or its imitation is missing. The choco cake was quite of a surprize because of its very decent taste and size.

The prices were reasonable for the food that we ordered: two main dishes + 1 desert + 2 mango lassy for ~ 9 euros.

The atmosphere of the place was nice with some Indian decorations and comfortable tables and seats.

We definately would recommend this place for vegetarians as a one time lunch option because of a few available vegetarian restaurants in Budapest. However, non-Vegetarians might be a bit disappointed with this place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PM_QualityManagement, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Govinda Vega Sarok, responded to this review, December 10, 2014
Dear "Lalaki-Papaki"

First of all thank you very much for allowing us the privilege of welcoming you in Govinda.

We are truly sorry to read that we were unable to meet your expectations and that you felt especially disappointed with the lack of service and we are sorry to hear that you "didn't find any imitations of a meat made with soy".

Please know this is not a typical example of the service we aim to provide to our valued guests and we are aware that we must continuously train our associates to assure the high quality of service we are expected to provide.

Please be assured the issues you raised have already been addressed with the corresponding department heads for the appropriate follow up.

We are however pleased to know that you liked the decoration, cuisine and our reasonable prices and hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty veggie curry - bargain!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

As a veggie, I was determind to dig this one out- easy to find by map, it was cheap ( you buy a set meal for an all in one price of about £7) and the portions are huge. Its run by the Hare Krishnas, so there is a lovely Hindu feeling- images, iconography etc. Really recommend.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PM_QualityManagement, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Govinda Vega Sarok, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Dear "BecciB81",

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your feedback with us.

We are pleased that you were satisfied with our food and with the lovely feeling as well.

Thank you for your recommendation and we hope you will return during your next trip to Budapest!

Warm regards,
Team Govinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Delicious and affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Great place for a quick, tasteful and affordable vegetarian meal. Self service, the selection changes every day. Can be crowded at lunchtime as many office workers from nearby offices come here to eat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PM_QualityManagement, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Govinda Vega Sarok, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Dear "AndrasKis",

Let us thank you for your nice review.

We are delighted about your kind words and glad that we could exceed your expectation with our “tasteful and affordable vegetarian meal”.

It would be pleasure for us to be able to welcome you back many more times in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Team Govinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olofstrom, Sweden
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Okay place fairly priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Very central okay food not that cheap but the food feels cheap variations of food and again Hindu mantras you hear the whole time

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PM_QualityManagement, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Govinda Vega Sarok, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Dear “Al C”,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

We regret to read that you were disappointed with your experience.

We highly hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you a better visit.

Warm regards,
Team Govinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aylesbury
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great for fellow vegans!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Ok so the food won't be the best you've ever tasted and has a more Hungarian than Asian taste but anywhere offering vegan choice gets the thumbs up from me!
Very reasonably priced, English speaking, comfortable, well decorated restaurant offering vegan and vegetarian fast food style meals at a very very reasonable price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PM_QualityManagement, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Govinda Vega Sarok, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear „jenjenjenmarie”,

Thank you for your kind review of Govinda.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable well decorated restaurant, as well as our reasonable prices and vegan choices.

Thank you again for your nice remarks and for sharing your experience with us.
We do hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
Team Govinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Govinda Vega Sarok also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Govinda Vega Sarok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Govinda Vega Sarok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.