We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Hungarian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lacipecsenye

Lacipecsenye
Sas utca 11. | 1051, Budapest 1051, Hungary
+36703707474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #900 of 1,584 restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: Hungarian, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Modern Hungarian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Our first dinner out and we could not have asked for more. In gorgeous weather, we enjoyed a modern Hungarian vibe, that was apparent both in decor and food, on the terrace overlooking the stunning St.Stephen's Basilica. The service was good as far as Budapest standards go, and the wine options good as well. Oh. And having high chairs for the wee ones, was a definitive plus!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

53% Recommend
    27
    24
    7
    15
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant for meat lovers in the heart of Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We spent a nice evening at Lacipecsenye last week with my family. The place is in a central square with a view to St Stephen's Basilica. This place is definitely for meat fans. Almost all the meats are made in a huge oven in the centre of the restaurant. The beef tartare as an apetizer was fantastic. We ate two pork dishes, a crab and a Hungarian speciality, lecso. Try this lecso. The chocolate cake was also delicious, although a little bit small. Beef tartare was EUR 8, the pork dishes cost EUR 13-14, lecso was EUR 7. For this high quality meal it is absolutely not expensive. Interior design is nice, however sitting outside is even better in springtime. We decided to visit this place regularly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Wow, it's a "must visit"!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Delicious taste (even the salad had different leaves with different tastes, from spicey to aromatic), very helpfull and polite staff! See you next time!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We ate at this restaurant for valentines and it couldn't have been better!
The food was amazing and the staff couldn't have been more helpful
I'm allergic to lactose and they made sure that that everything was lactose free
I would recommend this restaurant to anyone!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, Northumberland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Dined here last night, not our first choice (as this was closed) and stumbled upon this restaurant. Being valentines day I was looking for something special and the food and service didn't disappoint. My fiancée and I tried the pork knuckle, my friend and his partner the duck. No complaints from anyone, very nice food. The service was 2nd to none with a very friendly young waiter who knew about the menu when questioned, was knowledgeable and able to advise on the main dishes (i've been in restaurants before and been given a blank expression when making queries about the menu, surprisingly but true) and seemed to care about our dining experience that evening. Wine appeared slightly expensive but as i was drinking beer this wasn't an issue. Good food and excellent service. Not sure why this restaurant doesn't have more many positive reviews as I'd certainly dine here again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lacipecsenye also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Lacipecsenye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lacipecsenye, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.