We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near the white bridge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jegbufe

Jegbufe
Ferenciek tere 10, Budapest 1053, Hungary (District V / Inner City)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 34 Bakeries in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
268 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Near the white bridge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I went across here so many times that I never stepped in until today Nina showed me what it is. Actually I did a lot of window shopping here because the inside is just stunning and I really like it. Thanks for Nina for my first try here, and the cake here is good, though a little bit less than my expectation from the decoration.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    29
    11
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Easy/quick breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had coffe and pogacsa - the local pastrie as well as some sweets. Everything was very tasty and we liked the place a lot. If you are looking for mor elaborated breakfast (eggs, sandwich etc) this is not the place, but if you like the hungarian style, this is just the right place.
The place is cozy - only just one problem- they do not have a hanger so we had to keep once chair bussy with our coats/bags and there are not too many available,

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonkoping County, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing value for money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We visited Jégbüfé several times during our stay in Budapest, and were super impressed. Their kardenalis (I think that's what it's called) is one of the most delicious cakes I've ever tasted <3

Compared to the very expensive Gerbeaud Cukrászda, the cakes at Jégbüfé are 10x better!

The atmosphere is genuine - it feels like a place where the locals go. The only downside is the lack of tables/comfortable chairs. Other than that, it's pretty perfect!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cakes to makr your mouth water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Went here many times while in Budapest the coffee and cakes are at very reasonable price would go back again and again tried most of the cakes while watching the world go by highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“good place for breakfast or takeaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Eat your breakfast in the traditional Hungarian way - standing and looking out of the window and watch people passing by. Have a cup of Omnia coffee with traditional bakery. Quick and fresh.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jegbufe also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Jegbufe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jegbufe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.