We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, cheerful & cool eatery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cserpes Tejivo

Cserpes Tejivo
Suto Utca 2, Budapest 1052, Hungary (District V / Inner City)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 34 Bakeries in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cheap, cheerful & cool eatery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This is one of those places that is located very close to highly visited tourist areas, but is not expensive and frequented by locals--perfect. We had breakfast here and I chose the hot ham, mushroom and cheese sandwich with a hungarian pastry--which I complete forget the name of. If I were to visit Budapest again I would dine here. The staff is friendly, there is a cool interior and vibe. Definitely recommend!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    39
    9
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
80 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fast food with quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

This is a milk drinker place came from the old ages. Cserpes produces good quality milk products. Try it!

An avarage meal costs around 3 - 5 $.

Fully recommended. Local young people visit the place very often. Four star because the place is a bit noisy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
east london
Level Contributor
106 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice local cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Glad we went here, very busy with locals and tourists. Tried some local things that we wouldn't get in a chain cafe.

Good staff, nice food and excellent price.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty food with a cute interior”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is a great place if you want to try something healthy, tasty and cheap. I had the Creamy Classic and it was excellent. The biggest plus is that the food or drinks based on milk do not contain any preservatives and you can really taste the difference.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very nice way to start a day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I have used one of the Cserpes location - not this one but the one in Alee Shopping Mall - alredy three times.
Each time we had a very good time as the staff is friendly and we really like the food. The yoghurt is very tasty, the sandwiches were very good, the pastries the same. Also the coffee is quite nice as well as the hot chocolate and the cocoa milk.
The place is very child friendly which is great.
So I would recomend this place with all my heart.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cserpes Tejivo also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Cserpes Tejivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cserpes Tejivo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.