We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what you need at the end of a day in the walking city of budapest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Csaszar Baths, Veli Bej

Csaszar Baths, Veli Bej
Frankel leo u 54, Budapest 1023, Hungary
011 36 1 438 8641
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 51 Spas & Wellness in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Knottingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just what you need at the end of a day in the walking city of budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Thanks to the excellent directions supplied by kerinski321 we found this beautiful bath house. We took our own towels but you could hire towels (deposit required but cost following towel return is only 500 HUF). Make sure that you shower fully (take soap etc. with you) before entering the complex and then relax in the various pools, saunas. Three hours for 2800 HUF and it eases the aches and pains of a long day walking. I took advantage of a 30 minute massage which also increased my feeling of wellbeing. You get a locker for your personal belongings and there are various signs on the saunas reminding you NOT to wear sandals inside the sauna.
It was a long walk from our hotel to the bath so we opted for a taxi back (booked by the hospital reception on our behalf) which cost a couple of thousand HUF but was worth every penny. A peaceful retreat that needs a visit.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    26
    5
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

It was very easy to find if just read the direction by Katrina. The place is small, not busy at all and clean! Next time ( when we are again in Budapest) I will try massage (20? for 1 hour).

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
West Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A great way to relax for a couple of hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Following recommendations here on Trip Advisor we visited the Veli Bej Spa on a recent trip to Budapest - and were were not disappointed!

Clean, welcoming, excellent changing rooms/security. A really pleasant way to while away a couple of relaxing hours.

We will definitely return on our next visit to Budapest.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“crazy hard to find this gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Although we find everything easily this one was a challenge :) For more than an hour we were looking for an entrance.
Otherwise a gem, a renovated spa is a really good value.
They start to close 10 or 15 minutes before 21:00 so have that in mind.
A bar serving tea and other refreshments on the way out is the best way to finish a visit to the spa.

highly recommended, if you manage to find it ;)

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice, new, clean and minimal tourists”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The directions below by Katrina were spot on. It's easy to find, very clean, and a great way to spend a morning relaxing. We didn't organise a massage, but the rest of the baths are great. There are numerous heated pools, a jacuzzi, and saunas.
We really enjoyed that it was so new, very we'll run, and clean. The price has gone up to 2800huf, but worth every but of it.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Csaszar Baths, Veli Bej also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Csaszar Baths, Veli Bej? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Csaszar Baths, Veli Bej, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.