We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Steak , outer location, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dallas Etterem

Dallas Etterem
Zay utca 5, Budapest 1037, Hungary
06707796520
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,231 of 1,867 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $2 - $61
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Hungary
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect Steak , outer location, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was there about 4 or 5 times, before I write this review. The place is on the rim, suburb part of Budapest mostly surrounded by 10 story block houses. In the forecourt there is a petrol station with same brand. I can recommend also the patrol station, because they do not cheat with the gasoline meter !!! (I have 2 cars, with 50l tank, but on other places I can tank 55 liter easily, while here i never had more than 50l !!!). So the environment of the restaurant is poor, but the food is perfect.
I had soups and steaks but it turned out in this place man shall order only steak and meat products. BUT THOSE ARE PERFECT, THE COOK IS A GOD!.
So if you want a steak in Budapest, you have to go definitely there. I know all snobbish places, but those do not have that type of quality meat. I hand T-BONE steak, it was perfect.
About the service.I would say, not so bad, sometimes good.
They listen on the guests, they recognize the faces(even main:). They automatically gave me 10 % discount without VIP card, just because they had seen me often. It is a small gift, but i think those are the important ones.
The prices average. a 250g steak costs 15 euro. dinner for two usualy 40.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“Food is great. Service is not so.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We've been there with family. First impression was like this place is way out of town, should be somewhere in the central. Place looks kinda cool, trying to be look like a little piece of america, even in the parking lot there were a couple of muscle cars. Food was great (had salads with shrimps and jack daniels chicken wings), also came surprisingly early. Others had burgers, which was looks big, but werent as good as the wings. Prices are kinda okay as well. Some meals are overprieced, but overall is not that expensive. However service was below average. If a place want be a piece of america the least you could expect that the staff would act like they're in america, but they're not even close to it. No interactions, very small knowlidge about the menu, kinda rude attitude, poor english knowlidge. It can ruin your night if you are used to something better. If im paying almost 20.000ft for a diner I want to know whats inside of the pancake, I dont need answers like "I think its peach..."

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lots of fun and huge meals!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Expect huge meals and great taste when you visit this burger place/restaurant! Located in a unusual old factory forecourt but what an atmosphere ! Favourite in my family! Fill up your car too while you dine! Love it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“had lunch with cousines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

exellent place to spend time great atmospher with lots of good food to choose from , the music and the whole thing is great

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Budapest
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Some say this is the best burger in town...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

...and boy they are wrong!

I don't or can't understand the ratings this place receives. Honestly. The burgers are terribly overcooked, the spicing is really off, and the buns are double the size in diameter as the patties. And the 14oz of meat was 8-9 at best!
I am pretty well educated in burger sizes, as the one in TGI Friday's Budapest, which is marketed as a 14 ounce-meat-burger is way bigger than this.

We also ordered a medium rib-eye steak. The one they served was well done, and dry. We sent it back, and the second steak they served was around medium-well. They do not know nothing about steaks. And they call themselves an american restaurant. Pretty interesting.

The prices are off too. It is priced almost exactly as TGI Friday's, but the quality is absolutely inferior compared to that one.

I would strongly advise anyone against this restaurant. There are much better alternatives on the same price level.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dallas Etterem also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Dallas Etterem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dallas Etterem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.