We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hungarikum Bisztro

Hungarikum Bisztro
Steindl Imre utca 13, Budapest 1051, Hungary
+36 30 661 6244
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,586 restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Traditional Hungarian Restaurant serving old fashioned Hungarian dishes following family's recipes.Open every day:11:30AM-3:00PM/6:00PM-11:00PM.Between 3:00PM-6:00PM is CLOSED! RESERVATION IS REQUIRED!
Athens
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had an amazing dinner there at the invitation of a new friend (thanks Dani!). You can find delicious and tasty Hungarian food. Food was really good, especially meat. I would reccomend beef which was so good it was melting. Reasonably priced.The Hungarian Merlot wine was wonderful. Probably one of the best meals we had in a long time. This little bistro is excellent....booking in advance is highly recommended. Attentive and friendly service and spoke good English. Worth a visit if you like quality food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    1,175
    406
    82
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
“Honest.. Hungarian.. Hospitality.. Happy!! :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Timi (Proprietor) was wonderful from the start! She made us feel welcomed as if we were guest in her own home. The food was incredible, our first true Hungarian meal.

A classy Bistro, with great flair and ambiance. The entire staff went out of their way to make sure every guest was attended to - and they were very pleasant as well.

Make sure you have a reservation or you'll be staring through the window as the musician plays the Cimbalom (Hungarian Instrument) :)

Very inexpensive for the quality and quantity of both the meal and drinks. I admit I read the bill incorrectly and made a call back to Timi to make sure it was correct. She was very understanding and correct as well, I did not notice the extra digit to left of what I am used to seeing on a typical menu. This goes to show her integrity and honesty as an owner. Highly recommend Hungarikim Bisztro if you are in Budapest and seeking a great Hungarian meal. We'll be back!

Cheers,

Mika and Cheryl

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Last Night Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Eat here on our last night in Budapest. You will need to book as many people called on chnce and were turned away. Great food, good wine and a nice atmosphere. Good value for money. I would recommend

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A nice little find,great dessert & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I happened upon this charming place quite by accident, as I was taking a walk on my last evening in Budapest (for a while!----plan to return next year). I only had a dessert and beverage, but it was tasty and service was very good. It is a cozy, enjoyable place. Try it for a true Hungarian experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Just had dinner there... Loved it... Great food, great service.... And really good value for money....fabulous!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungarikum Bisztro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Hungarikum Bisztro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hungarikum Bisztro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.