We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place should be number 1 in rating!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hungarikum Bisztro

Hungarikum Bisztro
Steindl Imre utca 13, Budapest 1051, Hungary
+36 30 661 6244
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,668 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Traditional Hungarian Restaurant serving old fashioned Hungarian dishes following family's recipes.Open every day:11:30AM-3:00PM (LAST ORDER AT 2:00 PM!)6:00PM-11:00PM (LAST ORDER AT 10:00 PM!) Between 3:00PM-6:00PM is CLOSED! RESERVATION IS REQUIRED!
Chisinau
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This place should be number 1 in rating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Every person who is visiting Budapest probably trying find a good value nice restaurant with local food be cooked homemade style. If exactly you are this person, stop reading that and head to Hungarikum ! Cafe is situated in centre of town close to Basilica. U will eb greeted by friendly bistro manager who will provide excellent service together with waiters. Menu is good and honestly prices are cheap. Whole atmosfere is very warm , nice old style music is softly playing. I had a traditional goulash soup , apple pie dessert and home made lemonade. All was very delicious.
My only advice for everybody will be to prebook restaurant before coming cause from what i saw this place is always fully booked. I got my place by some luck and savouring my soup was watching many people coming and leaving cause place was full !
The only thing i would advice to the restaurant is add some fish meals. In the rest its totally amazing hungarian restaurant right in the heart of Budapest!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan H, Proprietario at Hungarikum Bisztro, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear All,

What a wonderful comment! What can I say??? Thank you so much from the bottom of my heart!

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,021 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,429
    462
    98
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Authentic, Great service, great fresh tasty food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We went to the restaurant based on the trip advisor reviews and we weren't disappointed! It was not busy when we went but this was due to our timing rather than anything else. The staff were great and helped us through the menu brilliantly. The food was tasty and fresh, everything was clean and we would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting authentic food. The prices were also very reasonable and should we be in Budapest in the future we would definitely return!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan H, Proprietario at Hungarikum Bisztro, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you very much!

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great hungarium food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

The place as a cool hungarium atmosphere.. The food is delicious , we tried the menu two courses and desert plate for a very good price, the same you will pay for just one course anywhere.. I totally recommend it .. Open until 23 hrs !!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan H, Proprietario at Hungarikum Bisztro, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice words!

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Authentic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The two of us had a 3-course lunch with wine on our last day of a 4-day trip. This was the best food we had--very authentic, all ingredients fresh and beautifully prepared. We had a nice chat with the owner, who is Hungarian, but lived in the UK. Even though it was our only time there and we were clearly tourists, we were treated as valued customers and friends. Fantastic experience and we left with the memory of some wonderful food. Total price was less than 14,000 Forints, or £40 GBP.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan H, Proprietario at Hungarikum Bisztro, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

Your satisfaction is our satisfaction as well. We all would like to thank you again.

Best wishes,
Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely genuine Hungarian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Went to this restaurant after recommendations from Tripadvisor and the minute we entered we knew this was a right decision! A warm and genuine welcoming by the owner, a really lovely place (small and cosy), excellent service and fantastic Hungarian food at very reasonable prices. Easy to book online as well!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan H, Proprietario at Hungarikum Bisztro, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Your satisfaction is our satisfaction so thank you very much!!!
Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungarikum Bisztro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Hungarikum Bisztro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hungarikum Bisztro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.