We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of wombat's CITY HOSTEL Budapest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added wombat's CITY HOSTEL Budapest to your Saves list
wombat's CITY HOSTEL Budapest
Kiraly u. 20, Budapest H-1061, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 558 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We are 21 and 22 years old and we loved this hostel. The private 2 person room with private bathroom is MASSIVE and so so clean. The bathroom is massive and could fit us both in at the same time when we were getting ready.
The reception staff are friendly, fun and extremely helpful and the breakfast provided is the best we had overseas.
The atmosphere in the hostel is great for meeting people and the bar downstairs is cheap and fun very night in the summer.
It is a good location close to the metro station, walking tours and pubs. The only thing we found annoying was that for such a massive hostel the laundry is lackig in numbers of washing machines and dryers. Other than that is was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    156
    35
    8
    5
See reviews for
9
64
107
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Here is awsome. All staff are so friendly and helpfull. You can have lots of friends here. And you can also drink something at hostel's bar. You can learn lots of information about activities from reception. They are selling tickets for some organizations. So if you come to budapest, you have to come here. I dont want to go from this house :) thanks for everybody

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Have stayed in wombats in Munich, Berlin, Vienna and now Budapest. Very clean (as always) and great big lobby and bar area which is really sociable. Always recommend wombats. There is a pizza place next to the hotel that does cheap slices (and are really good).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hostel is easily reachable from train station Keleti. Across the hotel there is a narrow alley full with bars and music, it tends to be a bit noisy, but the noise does not reach to the hotel. If you keep walking into the alley you find a couple of restaruants at the end, and good icecream.

, if you travel with family book one room for all of you. We were four and booked a four bed room, so we had our own private room. We were on the four high floor, and could sleep quite well with no noise at all. On the high floors you have a window on the room, so no view, but that was no problem if you are on tourism.
The hostel is really clean. We were surprised that our bathroom and floor were cleaned during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was one of my first hostels that I had stayed at and it was a nice way to start my hostel experiences. Was very easy to find and located just 5mins walk from the centre of town. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm and the rooms came with brand new lockers which were of decent size. The bathroom was also very clean and tidy and had a fan which is handy seeing as it can get stuffy very quickly. Breakfast in the morning is pretty decent too. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The hostel looks great and all the decor is awesome, but the hostel lacks a certain charm. I found it a bit more difficult to socialize since the bar was so massive and the seats so dispersed. The rooms are decent, but the 1 ensuite bathroom for a room of 6 people can sometimes be frustrating. Staff is helpful and the location is absolutely perfect. However, the internet in the hostel was terrrrrible. I hope they get that fixed. Oh yeah - as the name suggests, lots of Australian people. If you're looking for a more diverse crowd, you may want to try elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely love the hostel as it was a hotel so that's what you can expect! Big room and clean with good lockers. Bathroom is big too with a nice shower. Kitchen is big so many can cook at once. Lobby area is really big so can be tricky to meet people but if you put a little effort in you can meet people easily! Wifi works in rooms.
Staff were not overly friendly which is a shame.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Gozsdu Court Aparthotel
#35 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 608 reviews
District V / Inner City
Maverick Hostel
Maverick Hostel
#30 of 558 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
District V / Inner City
Pal's Hostel
Pal's Hostel
#14 of 558 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#21 of 558 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
The Groove
#9 of 558 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Friends Hostel Budapest
#36 of 558 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to wombat's CITY HOSTEL Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about wombat's CITY HOSTEL Budapest

Address: Kiraly u. 20, Budapest H-1061, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 558 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelBookers, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your wombat's CITY HOSTEL Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage wombat's CITY HOSTEL Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.