We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Buddha Bar Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buddha-Bar

Buddha-Bar
Vaci utca 34., Budapest, Hungary
+36 1 799 7302
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 1,867 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Treat your senses with a visit to the world-wide famous Buddha-Bar Restaurant in the heart of Budapest! Envisioned by Raymond Visan in 1996, the Buddha-Bar brand is now present all-over the world to amaze the discerning community with its complexity.
Greece
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice Buddha Bar Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Food was good... but at 22h on Sunday evening is unacceptable when your table for 2 persons is a small one on the wall where the one person has to view the wall in less than 1 m.... Especially when 4-5 tables for 2 persons in the main hall were empty during our whole dinning...We asked one of them and the maitre refused...

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    123
    57
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Very well decorated in Oriental style. The staff are very helpful, professional yet friendly. Good choice too.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Lovely food for our birthday treat, the bar had a great atmosphere and as we were staying in the hotel we were able to charge to the room

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Food, ambience, the Buddha - all perfect...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Recently visited Budapest and ate in the Buddha Bar Restaurant on two occasions. The décor and style of the restaurant is amazing with a very impressive very large Buddha at the top of the restaurant. The food is amazing especially the sushi and dim sum. The staff are all really friendly and helpful and the atmosphere is relaxed and really comfortable. The bar wasn't as great as staff weren't so attentive and drinks were a little inconsistent in flavour and presentation. Would definitely visit the restaurant again if I'm ever in Budapest again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

A very good way to spend our last evening in Budapest.

The restaurant wasn't that busy and I imagine that only tourists eat in this place and it was a wet February evening- but that said the atmosphere was fine.

This was a little more expensive than the standard Budapest meal we encountered but the food was very good (I had black cod) and the decor and service first class. Our waitress was great- very good customer service.

An extensive drinks selection – and Hendricks Gin served with cucumber. For that alone it deserves 4 stars 

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear,

Thank you very much for your time to share your experience about your recent visit. It is a pleasure to hear that you spent a nice evening with us and you were fond of the Buddha-Bar fusion cuisine. Very much appreciate your kind comments on our service and personnel, glad that we had a chance to contribute to a nice end of your Budapest trip!

Do hope that you will soon return to the city and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back and you might even like to stay with us at the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest as well.

Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddha-Bar also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Buddha-Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buddha-Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.