We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service,comfort,location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Erzsebet City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Erzsebet City Center to your Saves list
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Karolyi U 11-15, Budapest H-1053, Hungary (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #82 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic service,comfort,location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

On my recent visit in Budapest I stayed in the Hotel Elizabeth. I was impressed by the prompt and courteous service, the cleanliness and comfort in the guestroom. The Concierge was extremely knowledgeable and excellent with his recommendations, speaking English very well.
I can recommend this hotel to anyone,who wants to enjoy a pleasant time in this beautiful city.
W.Reimann
Toronto,Canada

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Palffy32,

Thank you for sharing your kind review. I’m glad to hear that you were satisfied with our service, our aim is always to please our guests needs and to ensure them a pleasant stay at our Hotel. Thank you also for the recommendation and we hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you at our Hotel Erzsébet City Center again.

Best Regards,

Dóra Homola
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    376
    120
    22
    6
See reviews for
80
313
49
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Very good location, close to many attractions.
Comfortable, clean hotel. Helpfull, excellent staff.
Nice breakfast included. Good selection of food.
Highly recommended, for visitors staying in Budapest downtown.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Cosmopolitan 1931,

Thank you for staying again at our Hotel Erzsébet City Center. We are glad that you were still satisfied with the hotel and the staff. We are happy that you enjoyed our wide choice of buffet breakfast including cold and warm dishes also. Thank you for the high recommendation and we hope we can welcome you in the future again.

Best Regards,

Dóra Homola
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed with a friend for four nights in a room with two singles and it was far nicer that we expected! We had a very pleasant stay and found this excellent value for money. The rooms are very clean and quite modern but not massive-if you are used to going on caravan holidays you will feel right at home. It was nice and quiet at night and the area felt pretty safe. We didn't go for the breakfast buffet as the hotel is close to lots of cafe's and bakery's. There are bars and restaurants as well as a metro station very close by (very convenient if you arrive from the airport by metro). The Vaci Utca is also very short walk away.

The staff were generally very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear GaddAbout93,

Thank you for your stay at our Hotel Erzsébet. It is nice to hear that you had a really good experience at Budapest. We are glad that you liked the room and felt the area pretty safe. We hope that you had enough time to explore our beautiful city.

Best Regards,

Dóra Homola
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My friend and I stayed here during our trip to Budapest. The hotel is not fancy but comfortable. Breakfast is provided which was a plus for us, there was a good variety of food. The location was excellent, staff is nice and helpful, and the hotel is clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Rhi21,

Thank you for your stay at our Hotel Erzsébet City Center. We are happy that you found the hotel comfortable and you enjoyed our wide selection buffet breakfast. We hope that you could take advantage of the central location and you had enough time to visit most sights of the city.

Best Regards,

Dóra Homola
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/Houston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel was very cheap, but the standard was great. Staff were very helpful, and the location was perfect. 10 min walk to heart of city centre and also cultural Jewish quarter. Metro is 2 mins away. The rooms and bathrooms in particular were very clean. The room we stayed in was a little small, and had two single beds pushed together which was a little annoying but didn't ruin overall stay. Hotel lobby has free wifi and comfy couches which is great at wifi in the room is about 12 euros! Overall a brilliant hotel and perfect for an mid-low budget trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Shrin85,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with us about your stay as every feedback is very important for us. We are happy that you liked the location and you could visit many sights of the city. For your next visit we can suggest you to ask for a double bedded room instead of the twin. We hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Dóra Homola
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Great location, breakfast buffet was good by local standards. Can't remember the room as much but I would definitely stay there again. Central location to walk or take the metro. Also very close to a GREAT place to get your laundry done (not a laundromat). Drop off everything in the morning and end of the day it's clean and folded!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Alexqueso,

Thank you for your stay at our Hotel Erzsébet City Center. We are glad that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast and for that you wish to stay at our hotel again. We hope that you could visit many sights of the city. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,

Dóra Homola
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had booked a number of single and shared twins/doubles for my group of 11 who planned to spend 6 nights in Budapest at end October / beginning of November. The contact I had with the bookings dept was all very friendly and efficient and prices quoted fair but when we arrived three rooms were on the smoking floor, moreover there was a loud party in a newly opened bar opposite. I feel we should have been asked whether we required smoking rooms and I felt embarrassed that some of my group had to endure the smell. I would also have expected them to warn us that this party was happening, but reassure us that it was a one off. In spite of a late arrival Sat night and feeling tired, I nevertheless phoned down to request a move and they did bring the key to a room at the back, albeit on the same smoking floor but this one smelt less smoky. Comfortable and quiet, with an excellent shower, but I had expected that next morning the management would have checked with me that I was happy with the move and that my group had a comfortable night. There was no question of this, nor a move for the ones on Floor 5 after the first night. Breakfasts offered a buffet style spread with cheeses, cold meats and various slices of bread / rolls, also some hot scrambled eggs/ vienna type sausages and fresh fruit salad (very welcome) and cereals etc. Coffee was the ubiquitous push button machine type and the bar was not open for any drinks at any time of our stay. The really disappointing thing was the dour men who were behind the desk - unhelpful, detached and grumpy in the main. I would recommend the hotel for its convenient and central location - especially if you do not like to wander too far for your evening meal - but I wish there had been a few niceties, especially as we were staying 6 nights and were a friendly group of ramblers!

Room Tip: make sure it's not a smoking floor and the back is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Jennynew,

First of all thank you for your stay at our Hotel Erzsébet City Center and for your review about your stay as every feedback is very improtant for us. We are sorry that we could provide you only the smoking rooms. It could happened because during your stay the hotel was almost fully booked and we did not have more available non-smoking rooms. Unfortunately we could not do anything with the bar on the opposite side of the road as it had the opening party on that Saturday night until 2am. After you called the reception desk my colleagues did their best and provided you one of our most quiet room overlooking the courtyard. As we had limited rooms available, we could not provide any non-smoking quiet room. I have contacted the management about the issue and I have been informed that unfortunately no manager was available at the hotel during your stay. That is why you were not checked after the situation. We are happy that you were satisfied with the meal for breakfast however we are sorry that you missed the bar at the hotel as we do not have any from the beginning of this year. We hope that you could take advantage of the location and you had enough time to expolre our wonderful city.

Best Regards,

Dóra Homola
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Pilvax
City Hotel Pilvax
#119 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Matyas
City Hotel Matyas
#138 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 449 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria
Danubius Hotel Astoria
#56 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#46 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Budapest City Central
Budapest City Central
#64 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#68 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Erzsebet City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erzsebet City Center

Address: Karolyi U 11-15, Budapest H-1053, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Budapest
#68 Business Hotel in Budapest
#69 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Erzsebet City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location in the heart of the city, on the new downtown pedestrian street, close to atmospheric cafes, bars and restaurants. Quick access to the famous Vaci Street, near the main shopping areas and the Great Market Hall. 123 Air-conditioned rooms with shower, soundproof windows, telephone, minibar, radio, Sat-TV. Connecting rooms and both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available. Internet corner, free WiFi, concierge service, hotel safe deposit box, souvenir shop, car rental, airport shuttle. NEW! Free WiFi in the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Erzsebet City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Erzsebet City Budapest
Erzsebet Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Erzsebet City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.