We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you do one thing in beautiful Budapest, do this!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alternative Budapest

Alternative Budapest
Deak Ferenc ter, Budapest 1052, Hungary (District V / Inner City)
+36 20 292 0362
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$20*
and up
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Want to see the side of Budapest that other tours miss out and learn about what's happening in the city today? Alternative Budapest tours take you deeper, further and more underground focusing on the flourishing artistic and alternative culture in the city.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you do one thing in beautiful Budapest, do this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This wonderful tour led by Lauren was a perfect way to spend a sunny afternoon. Her passion for the city's underground art scene and local shops is very evident. I learned a lot and also had the opportunity to be exposed to shops and bars that I wouldn't have found on my own. Also perfect way to meet people of the same creative and quirky mindset!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    12
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxed walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

With the great and relaxed guide Antonia we got to experience what's hard to do by yourself. It felt like she took us to her personal favorite backstreets and places but also pointed out small details here and there – that I never would've notice myself – and she gave you a story about them. Also, a great way of meeting fun people and new friends instead of the usual everyday tourist!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Take the alternative tour in Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

A 4 hour walk through central Budapest with Lauren was a great experience introducing us to the street art, ruin bars, and boat music scene of Alternative Budapest. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Im not a huge fan of basic walking tours, so i decided to do the 'Alternative' walking tour in Budapest. I was not disappointed! This tour shows you so many cool hidden gems in Budapest that you would never stumble across on your own. I wanna say a huge thanks to the team that has set this up and shown me something completely different to the average sightseeing tours i have previously done!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Alternative Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

There are any number of things to see in Budapest, and if you feel like walking the road well traveled, you can book a more conventional sightseeing tour. If, however, you want something a little more interesting, you have another option. I was interested in seeing the "real" Budapest, the underbelly of the city. These are the sights and sounds you'll want to experience before they disappear. That's why I turned to Antonia, who took our tour group on a magical journey through the city's art, music, graffiti, and much more.

Remember, this is not a "normal" tour. Anyone familiar with the First Friday projects in the United States will have some understanding of the flavor of a trek like this. It's Bohemia dotted with history, a real look at the culture of Budapest seasoned with love for the city and respect for its unique identity.

Besides being smoking hot (at at least, so I am told, as I'm a happily married man and not influenced by such things), Antonia is herself a musician and an artist. She brings a real passion for all things creative to the tour. There were many opportunities for us to visit local craft shops, artisans, and similar stops. This tour is unadulterated, underground Budapest, a real guide to surviving the city.

If you're happy with the same-old tourist scene, a tour like this is probably wasted on you. If, on the other hand, you want something exciting, different, and unflinching, if you want to look deep into the soul of Budapest, see Antonia. She's your girl.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alternative Budapest also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Alternative Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alternative Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.