We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alternative Budapest

Alternative Budapest
Deak Ferenc ter, Budapest 1052, Hungary
+36 20 292 0362
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$20*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Want to see the side of Budapest that other tours miss out and learn about what's happening in the city today? Alternative Budapest tours take you deeper, further and more underground focusing on the flourishing artistic and alternative culture in the city.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

What a great way to discover this lovely city!
You will discover places where you normally wouldn't go.
Thanks for the great tips...enjoying my Hungarian meal now!
Keep on going Lauren!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    12
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“This is a really good tour and you should go on it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Had already walked around a bit of the area prior to the tour but felt a lot more enriched and enthusiastic about the surroundings after Lauren's fantastic tour. She's a knowledgeable guide with nicely developed links to the places she takes you. Packed full of good recommendations too - I would suggest this as a compulsory accompaniment to any 'proper' tour you do. In fact, I'd do this before any other mainstream tour.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A friend to open your eyes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

So, here you are; you've bitten the bullet, hopped on the plane and arrived in Budapest. Full of excitement you slowly begin to become aware of your surroundings, then it hits you: I wish I had a friend here to show me round. You're fine seeing the grand sights, those guidebook-musts: the Basilica, Castle Hill, Gellert Hill, the State Opera, the trams, the Danube, parliament all by both day and glorious night, but what of actual reality in the city?
The Alternative Budapest Tour is the perfect way to experience the beautiful poetry of the day-to-day lives of the people living, working, and creating in the city. It is the best method (second only to already knowing someone here!) to become acquainted with the streets you may otherwise have only voyeuristically spied from the top of the Basilica dome.
Streets just round the corner of the central Andrassy utca are explored with the torch of Lauren's interesting and informative commentary, opening your eyes to the recent political and historical sights and the current fertile addresses you may wish to return to. Lauren quickly becomes the local friend you'd wished for; approachable and warm, she leads you through the city she clearly knows well and loves. Street art abounds, plus you're introduced to ruin bars and quirky cafés where creative enterprise is flourishing. You'll even garner tips of where to dine and drink during your stay, which will further ingratiate you into the fabric of this truly magnificent place.
Now we're back home, the experience of Lauren's tour has remained with us in a far more essentially vital way than any of those grand sights and landmarks: not only were our eyes opened to Budapest, but also our home environment. The gift of the tour is the information received, the treasure becomes the joy of finding beauty just round the corner.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Alternative Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I really enjoy history and loved doing all of the other tours offered out of Yellow Zebra, but I am so happy I heard and experienced the the Alternative run and created by Lauren. It is the perfect way to really get an understanding of Budapest now. I also loved how it supported all of the cool local shops around town!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unique, fascinating and essential tour of an amazing city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Having already spent quite a bit of time in Budapest and the Jewish district (easily the best part of town), I was surprised by just how much of this tour was entirely new to me. From super cool design shops, to hidden street art, to an exclusive bar, there was just so much that you would otherwise miss out on, no matter how good of a tourist/explorer you think you are. Our local guide was not only extremely knowledgeable about all sorts of historical and random facts, but made you feel like you were just being taken around the city by a friend. For anyone wanting a fun, alternative and insiders view of Budapest (which should be everyone), this tour is a must!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alternative Budapest also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Alternative Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alternative Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.