We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice business hotel for joggers and theater visitors” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Budapest City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added NH Budapest City to your Saves list
NH Budapest City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vigszinhaz u. 3 | Ujlipotvaros, Budapest H-1137, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #76 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Kosice, Slovakia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice business hotel for joggers and theater visitors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Perfect for joggers, the Island of Margaret (Margitsziget) is close. It is in the neighbourhood of a very nice theater (Vigszinhaz).
Close to a good shopping center and Nyugati pu. (Train station).

The rooms are nice, the breakfast is really good. The staff is very helpfull. It was a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    315
    59
    18
    10
See reviews for
69
211
51
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I know NH as a hotel chain which always offered nice quality accommodation, but this time i was disappointed ... i know that some things cant be influenced like the fact that the hotel didn't have double beds (big mattress) so we had to sleep on two twin beds which were constantly shifting apart...but when it comes to service, i think that such an international chain could keep up the standards...room cleaning was terrible...they didn't make the beds, nor did the clean the bathroom...we had to ask for toiletries (not extra!) as the cleaning lady always managed to bring a set for only one person...the staff at the reception was polite but couldn't help us with several requests ...at breakfast, every time we stood up from the table to get something extra to eat, the waitress took away our tea/coffee/food:) basically, all these are details, but we had a feeling that no one really cared whether the guests felt comfortable/happy with the service/hotel.
On the other hand, i have to say that air-conditioning was very pleasant - it was effective but very quite, we didn't even feel it in the room. The windows had good isolation so we didn't hear the noise from outside. Breakfast was rich, but not 16eur rich. Free wifi was good. Location was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were part of a tour group. The stay was Ok but we were not really impressed.
Breakfast was good.
Rooms were OK generally.
The public areas such as the bar are dingy and unimaginative.
We had problems with the rattly air conditioning, which they promised to do something about, but didn't. The rooms at the front are noisy, with the trams and other traffic going all night.
At first they tried to put us all in smoking rooms. This was really a bit naughty, presumably they can't fill up the smoking rooms normally so they shoved us in there in the hopes that not too many would complain.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyiregyhaza, Hungary
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hotel room was very comfortable, and very nice - but I guess I was expecting a whole lot more in standard, after having stayed at the NH in Bergamo, Italy. That was a lot better!

The view we had was really cool, because not only did it face my favorite street in the city (Szt. Istvan Krt.), but it also had a big balcony! That was great! It was really nice stepping out in the evening to enjoy the summer air, and watch some of the people going by (as it was a very quiet area).

The TV was pretty lame, I have to say. Not only for this day in age - but also because it's such a high quality hotel. The bathroom was quite small, and I think they could have been a bit more generous with the soap - as there was only one when we arrived.

The worst part, unfortunately was the breakfast. I say unfortunately - and surprisingly, honestly - because it was so HUGE! There was everything...but nothing, if that makes sense. I literally took two bites of everything because it was so disgusting. The only good thing they had were some small pastries and croissants. The coffee (when ordered - not the machine, yuk!) was pretty good...but the eggs were so runny, they looked like they'd been bathing in their own tears. The sausages were NOT good...what they had that was called "French toast", is an insult to the real thing, I love mushrooms - and these stank and were horrible, and the "potato balls" they had were hard and nasty.

I highly recommend if eating at their buffet breakfast, you bypass everything else and make a bee-line for the pastries. A side note - we checked into having dinner at the restaurant, and after handing us a menu, the guy there whom we'd asked if they had a certain traditional dish, responded, "No...and we don't serve dinner on the weekends."

The staff was very friendly, they spoke English very well and the lobby area was very nice. Recommended if you need to stay in that area and the neighborhood is very good, safe and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel at 21-22 May 2013 with my friend. Room was clean and comfortable . Wifi is free and strong. Breakfast is various but breakfast area is not enough for guest in morning. Location is good have local bar in front of hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel is located on a side street next to Szent Istvan krt, just behind the Comedy Theatre (Vigszinhaz). The rooms are quiet, yet you are located in one corner of the broader Budapest centre, very close to some local cafes and restaurants, but not really in the main touristic areas – an ideal location for business travel. I ended up in this hotel by accident as the other hotels I used in the past had crazy rates for the night of my stay.
Back to NH Budapest: I was impressed from the moment I entered the building by the nice entrance hall (it must have been an inner yard in the past, which was later roofed when turned into a hotel), very friendly, professional and forthcoming staff. The room was just pleasant, tea/coffee making facility, and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was rather pricy but exceptionally good – great fried mushrooms!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

On the overall, the hotel was good...well located, close to public transport to many of the sights in Budapest. The staff were good, polite and responsive. The part I really liked was the breakfast, they had a good variety of healthy foods for 'weight conscious' people like me including listing the calories per food item.

I thought nonetheless that it is not really a 'touristy' hotel. This for a couple of reasons; for starters, they do not have double beds (at least that's what they told us)! Two single beds were pushed together and given separate beddings; which for a couple was weird and uncomfortable..beds would move apart on use. Second, they advertise that they have sauna, massage rooms facilities but the place was empty all the times I went there. There were no staff to assist you or anything and I had to call the reception for them to switch on the sauna; remotely albeit. The rooms didn't have gowns or in room shoes and the towels were so small they could barely go around me, let alone my husband.

I have to say though that I enjoyed my overall experience at the hotel and I hope that they can improve on the few things mentioned

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Budapest City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Budapest City

Address: Vigszinhaz u. 3 | Ujlipotvaros, Budapest H-1137, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#33 Business Hotel in Budapest
#52 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#58 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Budapest City 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally-located in the heart of the business district, NH Budapest City offers you a slice of modern luxury amid a backdrop of historic scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your NH Budapest City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Budapest Hotel Budapest
Nh Hotel Budapest
Nh Hotels Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Budapest City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.