We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boat ride” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Danube

Danube
Jaine Haining, Budapest, Hungary (District V / Inner City)
1-800-626-0126
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$20*
and up
Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise
Ranked #6 of 363 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Boat ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Included in bus ticket was boat trip, fantastic views stop at Margaret Island. Should do this at night the Parliament would look spectacular.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank blossomtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent, a must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We took the night cruise that was included with the price of the two day hop on off bus. The night lights along the river are a must, quite spectacular. All the buildings and monuments are lit up and the narrative provided on the boat made the trip most enjoyable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JR115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exceptional river cruise on the AMA Waterways AmaBella”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We would highly recommend this cruise line and the AmaBella. Beautiful ship, excellent and impeccable staff. Cruise manager, Lisi, was incredible and made the cruise A++

Just came home yesterday. A memory of a lifetime. Would highly recommend.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TangoParrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We took the night cruise along the Danube and saw the city in lights, then walked along the river during the day. The Danube is the heart of Budapest.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Uniworld River Danube Christmas Markets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We booked a Danube cruise on Uniworld River Cruises (River Beatrice) to tour the Christmas Markets in December of 2012. It was a wonderful experience from start to finish. Uniworld is definitely a cut above Viking, everything was included and taken care of seamlessly, from shore excursions and walking tours, to wine and beer at lunch and dinner. More about our experience can be found on Cruise Critic as well as on the Uniworld web site.

The cruise starts in Passau, Germany and ends in Budapest. Cruising the Danube was a wonderful way to visit the Christmas markets in four countries in only 7 days. When we docked, we were always in the historic part of each city as the river flows right through the center of town. In Budapest, the Danube separates Buda, the hilly portion, where the Castle District is located, from Pest, where the terrain is flatter.

Although the Danube River was not beautifully blue in the middle of winter reflecting the cloudy gray skies overhead, it was very scenic with great views passing through quaint villages especially in Bavaria and Austria. We saw the famous Chain Bridge of course. In both Budapest and Vienna, the gorgeous panoramic views of the city with cathedrals and buldings floodlit at night, was a sight to behold.

And each Christmas Market was unique to the area featuring many hand-crafted specialties not to be found elsewhere.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Cyntamar52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Danube also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Danube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing