We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Use the municipal river buses” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Danube

Danube
Jaine Haining, Budapest, Hungary (District V / Inner City)
1-800-626-0126
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$52*
and up
Budapest City Tour with Danube River Sightseeing...
Ranked #5 of 421 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Use the municipal river buses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We bought a 3 day travel card for about 3500 huf. This allowed unlimited travel on trams, buses, metro and the river buses. We picked up our river bus at the Margit Bridge after getting the no. 6 tram. The bus then went up the river for about 40 minutes. It then turned round and came back into Budapest. The weather was great and we sat at the front on the top deck and the whole experience was very enjoyable. Tremendous photo opportunities came when going past the Parliament Building and Castle Hill. A must do and way cheaper than one of the many tourist boats.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,838
    1,163
    231
    37
    23
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canyon Lake, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not Blue but a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We took the Danube Bend tour and the boat ride back to Budapest. It was one of the highlights of our trip. Not many rivers in the world rival the history and charm of the Danube. Spend as much time on and along the river as your can!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bravo Amawaterways.We had a great time on the Danube River Cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just returned home from our Danube cruise ( Amalegro )and overall it "exceeded expectations" which we were told is the Amawaterways objective when we arrived. It wasn't just lip service we are happy to report.

My wife and I have been on 3 Mediterranean cruises ( Celebrity and Princess lines) over the past 6 years, which we enjoyed very much. This was our first river cruise. We liked the smaller scale and more relaxed, casual feeling.

The ports of call were all interesting. Some capital cities, some small towns. Something for everyone. We were traveling with our parents, who had a different energy and mobility level then me and my wife but we all enjoyed ourselves at our own pace. They provided a "gentle walkers" group at most of the excursions, which worked out great. They also provided us with a wheelchair for the excurions which were more on foot, just in case we needed it. We had some concerns about the quality of the food, but we found the food very tasty and there were lots of choices. Having the wine included in the meal every night at no extra charge was also a big plus and saved us quite a bit compared with the larger cruise experience. We found the onboard entertainment generally good. Some better than others, but nevertheless fine for relaxing in the lounge. We opted to do a few days in Prague on our own before the cruise, which worked out good for us and we would recommend it. Prague is a beautiful city. We can't comment on the pre-cruise packages that Ama provides.

We really enjoyed the two bike tours ( incuded at no extra charge ) if you get the chance to do it.Not strenuous and very scenic. Having the bikes available at every port at no charge was a nice benefit.We did not go on the "optional" excursions so cannot comment, but all the included excursions were very nice and it was nice that it was not an extra charge like the larger cruise lines.

The rooms were nicely appointed, clean, and well maintained. Beds and bedding were very comfortable. Small, like most cruise lines rooms are, but certainly not unusually so. We enjoyed having the sliding glass door "French Balcony" in the room since we did not opt for the full balcony. The entire ship was kept clean and we are a bit fussy on this issue.

One small frustration was that the in-room entertainment system could have been better. Limited t.v. channels and just a few movies. Maybe they will expand that in the future if they get enough feedback. Internet service was also very spotty and could use an upgrade. Small irritations in the overall scheme of things.

Our trip ended in Budapest, which is a big city, and lots to see and do. We would have enjoyed another day or two on our own there, or returning for a couple more days in Vienna, which is also an amazing city, but had decided to head for home when the cruise was over.

The travelers on board were about 40% American, 40% Canadian, and 20% others from around the world. We met some very nice folks and hope to keep in touch. All in all we would definately recommend it to family and friends if you like a casual, but active, experience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaren et St Mediers
Level Contributor
119 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not blue but beautifull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Magnificent buildings flank both banks of the river. We saw them from a smaller cruise ship that was operated in conjunction with one of the city sight seeing bus companies and the river trip was included in the ticket price. The guide was very informative and spoke almost word perfect English

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Duna banks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I enjoyed a magnificent sunset! Was taken to the sight by a friend I had not seen for 10 years. We were alone.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Danube also viewed

 

Been to Danube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.