We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquillity and coziness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abel Pension

Save Saved
You added Hotel Abel Pension to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Abel Pension
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Abel Jeno Street 9, Budapest 1113, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 156 Budapest B&B and Inns
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tranquillity and coziness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Decent and very polite hosts, quiet and safe surroundings, a relaxing stay. I stayed here for one night only, arrived extremely late. The owner is a polite and intelligent gentleman, the pension is like a home you are always welcome back to. Absolutely positive impressions. Have an ice-cream at the nearby lake!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
17
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed there for 2 weeks. You will receive two keys - one for room, other for front door. Room was clean and nice. Bed was really big for a single. In the bathroom you have 3 towels and soap. Taking a shower might be a tricky, cause you'll need to turn valves carefully for a proper water temperature. It was a little bit cold in room, but bath was always warm. Breakfast - coffee\tea,juices, cereal, yougurts, sandwiches. Managment was very carring and always helpfull.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Traditional building with shutters on the windows. Clean, warm, good sized double room, with a very comfortable mattress and bedding, and decent furnishings. Nice high ceilings. Modern en-suite bathroom with a bath (but no soap provided!).

It is located about five minutes walk from tram-line number 61 which runs to/from Morizc Zsigmond Korter, which is an interchange for routes all over the city.

Geza, your host speaks good English and is on hand to help with local knowledge and nice restaurants around the corner.

Breakfast was adequate, a selection of juices, yoghurt, cereal, fresh bread, ham and cheese, and is served until 9am, although we were late twice and it didn't matter. In the Living Room there is a self-service bar with chilled beer, bottled water, Palenka and other spirits available (you have to make a note and pay later).

IMPORTANT: if you book online and are quoted the price in Euro then remember to BRING EURO to pay your final bill on checkout. Abel Pension operates a fixed exchange rate for HUF/Euro, which does not follow the Foreign Exchange rate.

Room Tip: We were in room number 1, it was right by the main door and we could hear guests coming and going bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiis in Laos
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We came here by car, and it was very convenient to park it. The family room for the four of was spacious, even with AC, should the weather get hot. The garden is in the back is nice as well. My sons told that I should write that the breakfast was great. When in Budapest, we will definitely come back here. The tram is not to far, and you can walk in about 10 min to the Gellert baths.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We've been coming here over the years. It's a great value. It was $61 per night

It's located on the Pest side of Budapest, in a quiet residential area. Located very close public transportation that will give you access to he city and to the suburbs near by. Via public bus, we went to Momento Park, which is a place some old Soviet statues were placed after the fall of communism. Our friends liked seeing the suburbs on the way to the park.

We stayed for 4 nights, so we bought a weekly city transit pass that covered public transportation.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We arrived on a Saturday and were greeted by a woman who seemed like she had been up all night at a trance party and came straight to work. Needless to say, our first impression wasn't great, but it quickly improved after meeting the regular breakfast host (Jasmin?) the next morning and the owner, who is usually around during the evenings. We rented bicycles and he was nice enough to allow us to keep them on the back terrace at night instead of in the front close to the building.

The place is definitely a little off the beaten path, but it's a nice 1/2 hour walk to Pest (where you should get an excellent thai massage at Sa Bai and/or stop at the Gellert baths along the way) and easy to get to by tram as well. The breakfasts are pretty good and guests are seated family style, which is a pleasant way to meet other guests. Not a luxurious place (there are no TVs in the room, etc), but very friendly and a good value.

Room Tip: The room that overlooks the garden (in the back) seems the best, even though it's not the one we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Abel Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abel Pension

Address: Abel Jeno Street 9, Budapest 1113, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abel Pension 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Abel Pension is a restored family villa from 1913 with its original antique furniture and style in the quiet, green area of Budapest, with old trees on the streets. The city center can be reached by tram in 10 mins. or even by walking. The terrace and the garden make this place very relaxing. Air-condition and free internet are available in every room. From western direction we can be reached in 5 mins drive from highway M1 and M7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Abel Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abel Pension, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.