We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Budapest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burg Hotel

Save Saved
You added Burg Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 9 more sites!
Burg Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Szentharomsag ter 7 - 8, Budapest 1014 , Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 332 hotels in Budapest
Bucharest
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay in Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Burg in December 2008, for a 4-day get away. We picked this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and we made a great choice! The hotel is situated in a quite, romantic little square in the old Burg part of the city, right next to the St Matthias church. Fantastic location, provided you appreciate a romantic place to stay. We enjoyed our evening strolls around the hotel, and we had easy access to transportation to the Pest side of town, where you can find more activity (we were not bothered by the bus station in front of the hotel). All rooms have a nice view to the square, breakfast is ok (nothing fancy, just the basics), rooms are spacious. Our biggest plus is for the hotel staff - they were helpful and friendly throughout stay, but exceeded all our expectations at the end when they went out of their way to help us find alternative transportation back home due to an unexpected railway strike.
We enjoyed our stay and would go there again if in Budapest.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    89
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
21
81
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

Stayed at the Burg for only 1 night but would go back in a second - to the city and to this hotel. We asked for a room with a view and definitely got it. We had a corner room which was bigger than most North Amercian standard size rooms, let alone European. Some furnishings were dated but the room was very clean and tasteful. We could see the side street that leads to Ruzworms (great history and desserts) and looked out to St. Mathias church (one of oldest in Europe). The bathroom also looked out to the church so showering was amazing with the sounds of the church bells.

Staff was very helpful and we had pre-arranged for pick up from the train station for us by email - no problems - driver waiting at station to take us. Staff also helped in obtaining tours of the city. Location is in Buda's castle district and slightly slower paced than the Pest side but the amazing city views are within walking distance (Fish lookout across the road and the famous Gellert hill is an hour steep walk). Note: don't board the public transportation/trams without a ticket: heavily guarded by former KGB (?) and fines are steep. Amazing city, culture and great hotel experience.

  • Liked — Location in Buda and view.
  • Disliked — Limited restaurants in area.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

Burg hotel has an excellent location.We stayed in a family room,very comfortable,big and clean.It was near the breakfast room and we heard no noise at all. Everybody speaks english in the hotel,so we had no problem.The breakfast is very good and the room has a beautiful view.The only problem in this hotel is the absence of an elevator.We had to carry our luggages upstairs without help of any one.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no elevator
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, CT
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

This was our second stay. Our first stay was in 2006 and we were so impressed, that we returned this year. The Burg has all the ammenities a traveller could want. Our flight home left early and that morning we found a breakfast prepared for us in the lobby. The rooms are very clean and up to any standard. The location of the burg makes it convenient to sight seeing, shopping and fine resturants. When we travel to Hungary, we'll be booked at the Burg!
Alouise Pelletier
James Read
Stephen Ruffy

  • Liked — Centrally located
  • Disliked — Loved everything!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

I stayed at the Burg Hotel for nearly two weeks in July. It is good value for the price, but it is not without problems. The first is that there is usually only one person at the desk, so getting help with luggage is unlikely, and absent a lift, plan on hauling it yourself. The room I had initially was superficially clean, but the carpets were dirty and after about the third night it was clear there were biting insects in the bedding, which was not changed nightly. I asked for a different room, which was provided, but the staff made no apologies and did not even offer to help move my luggage up to the third floor room I was assigned. As was mentioned in other reviews, the buses run right in front of the hotel, so if you like to sleep with the windows open, prepare to be awakened early.

On the positive side, the location is great. There are many cafes nearby, a grocery store, pharmacy, and a wonderful confectionary and ice cream store three doors down. Members of the staff speak English and will call taxis, look up information on the Internet, etc. If you are there in the summer the air conditioning in the room is especially nice at the end of a hot day of walking around. The rooms were good sized and the bathroom very clean. The lobby bar serves hard liquor and coffee, but not wine. There is WiFi in the lobby, and someone I know on the first floor said she could occasionally receive it in her room as well.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

Stayed at Burg hotel for 4 nights on a long weekend break with 2 girl friends. The staff were really friendly,we had a room for 3( one was a sofabed) which was spacious and clean and the only problem we found was the noise of the buses starting at 5 am outside..and the church bells.
Its in a great location very picturesque and handy for getting around Buda and down to Pest , with loads of gorgeous views and some nice little restaurants nearby. However for nightlife you have to go to Pest, the area around Burg is very quiet but then that is the best part of it..
I dont think the area could have been prettier it was walking distance from many sights and also the hotel is really good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

The Hotel Burg is a small hotel in the castle district of Budapest. My partner and I stayed at the hotel in April 2008, this was on the recomendation of a work colleague who is Hungarian. The hotel was clean and functional. The staff were pleasant and resolved any problems we had quickly.
The views of St. Mathias church, which is apparently viewed from all the bedrooms, and less than 2 minutes from the hotel, were however marred by restoration work, scaffolding etc. This does not detract from the beauty of the area, as just another minute or so will take you to the Fisherman's Bastion, with stunning views over the Danube and to the Pest side of the city.
What we were not told, is that there was a bus stop right outside the hotel, and the buses which started at around 5.45 in the morning and came every 10-15 minutes would idle outside there letting people on and off, and unless you were a heavy sleeper, would disturb your sleep.
My only other gripe about the hotel was the breakfast, it was the same every morning! I am far from being a fussy eater, but when faced with the same option of scrambled eggs, meats or cereals it does get a bit boring.

  • Liked — The senic views
  • Disliked — The bus stop outside hotel and the breakfast
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Burg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burg Hotel

Also Known As:
Burg Hotel Budapest
Address: Szentharomsag ter 7 - 8, Budapest 1014 , Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Budapest
#67 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Burg Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Otel so you can book your Burg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burg Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.