We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kalvin House

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kalvin House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kalvin House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Goenczy Pal utca 6, Budapest 1093, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 330 hotels in Budapest
Wales, UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Retro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Location was central for what we wanted, about a 10 minute leisurely walk to the Central Market and Liberty Bridge.The entrance to the hotel doesn't do it any favours, and the reception area could do with some updating. However, on speaking to the friendly, obliging, and very pretty receptionist, Sophia (Zsófia?), things looked up. I discovered that the hotel were apartments up until about 12 years ago. This explained the very spacious rooms and old fashioned furniture, possibly left-overs of the previous inhabitants. The wooden block flooring was spotless, as was the rest of the rooms. The only modern concessions was the ensuite bathroom and flat screen TV. Although it was snowing heavily and very cold, our room was warm, and the 'double glazing', consisting of two back-to-back wooden framed windows, seemed to work. We used the space between them as our 'fridge'! There were two CH radiators and an auxiliary electric radiator and how they managed to heat the room, which had a ceiling of about 12-13ft, I don't know. Daily room service and fresh towels. I'm not a fan of continental breakfasts, but my mates said it was 'very good'. My only criticisms are that there was no tea/coffee in the room (although the 24 hour staff would make a cup on request). No communal lounge area to meet our friends, or sit and have a coffee/drink/chat. There are no bar facilities. Having said that, whilst waiting for our taxi for the airport in the breakfast room annex, I did notice a can of beer, bottle of wine and soft drinks on a window sill in the reception room. All my friends were well pleased with the Kalvin House. It depends on what you want. I just prefer a more modern set-up.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    128
    30
    5
    5
See reviews for
29
97
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This little hotel is a gem in Budapest. I booked four rooms for a group of 8 persons and each room had a delightfully unique character, almost as if you had rented spacious rooms with high ceilings in someone's apartment. When we checked out, we had to leave before breakfast opened, and the courteous and attentive staff prepared sandwiches for us to take along on our way to the airport. This was my third stay at Kalvin Haz and I will be sure to be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Couldn't have chosen a better hotel from within our budget. The location is superb - walking distance to the centre but also 2 mins walk away from the metro station as well as buses and trams. Not to mention right infront of a Tesco's and a currency exchange shop with a great rate. Rooms are as pretty and charming as they look in photos and clean. Very friendly staff and the free tickets to the spas definitely made it worthwhile! Street outside was a little noisy on some nights though. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great location, walked everywhere and convenient to trams. Lovely old building with charm. We had a room on the top floor, with skylight windows looking over the surrounding roof tops. Very friendly and helpful staff. Wouldn't bother waking up for their breakfast, hard boiled eggs were green, not fresh. The bathroom towels may have actually been rags put in our room by mistake.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel is well situated on a quiet side street, yet one block from the city market, and two blocks from the Freedom bridge, and the Vaci Utca. The room was clean, large, and very comfortable. Breakfast was good and with enough variety to keep one interested for a few days.

Room Tip: We had room 305, which was across from the elevator. It was extremely quiet and we enjoyed the larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Very friendly staf, good location , quiet street by day but noisy at night.
Metro, tram and Danube at easy walking ditance. Some very nice restaurants and bakery nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have recently spent a short vacation in Budapest and stayed at the Inn Side Hotel. Although situated in a side street on the first floor, first impressions might not be favourable but don't be fooled . This hotel offers good clean traditional accommodation with very friendly staff who go out of their way to provide help and information. It is ideally situated between the Great Market Hall and the Vaci utca, a short walk to the river and all the pleasure craft, and a lovely evening stroll to all the restaurants. Metro tickets can be purchased at the hotel but don't do as we did and forget to stamp your ticket before you start your journey. The metro inspectors are very 'severe' and unpleasant. We would also recommend purchasing a Green Bus Hop on - Hop off ticket. We found this excellent value. It will get you round to all the places of interest and also includes a Danube cruise!! Try this hotel for value, cleanliness and friendliness

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kalvin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kalvin House

Address: Goenczy Pal utca 6, Budapest 1093, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Budapest
#78 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kalvin House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Kalvin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kalvin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kalvin House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.