We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kalmar: The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kalmar Pension

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kalmar Pension to your Saves list
Kalmar Pension
Kelenhegyi ut 7-9, Budapest 1118, Hungary (Gellert Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 177 Budapest B&B and Inns
USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Kalmar: The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

The Good
The room off of the eating area is quite large, with an oversized granite tiled bathroom.
The owner was extraordinarily helpful with advice and arrangements.

The Bad
The room has very little ventilation, and gets quite warm, even in Spring. If you do chance the bugs and open windows, the noise from the nearby hotel is quite loud throughout the night and into the early morning hours.
The room is expensive for what you get.

The Ugly
Overcharged for her "taxi" service when we were about to call a taxi. Our bad for not checking prices with her, but we made the mistake of trusting her after several days. 75% higher than what we paid for same trip; a second "taxi" service offer by her was nearly 3 times the going rate. We did not find out the rates until we were checking out.
Overcharged for "laundry" service. When we were going out with laundry, she offered to have it done. Our bad for not checking prices, again. It turned out to be 4 times the available rate.
Overcharged when converting euros into forints. When questioned about it, she lied.
Overcharged is a kind way of saying what she did.
Insulted by her on last day, a similar experience to what another guest reported.
I sincerely wish none of these "Ugly" things happened so that I could write a favorable review. But they were _real_ ugly.

Avoid this place, or, get all prices in forints (not the room rate in Euros) in advance and have a very thick skin.

  • Liked — the room size
  • Disliked — dishonesty, cheating, and insults by the proprietor
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    7
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
1
13
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2006

This hotel is wonderful, it's very individual and characteristic although you probably won't like it if you are used to large chain hotels. We stayed in a 'studio' on the top floor for 95 euro a night, a large room with very large bathroom and shower. Aircon and a fridge too. Breakfast was fine and we liked the communal table as it allowed you to get to know the other guests. The location is really good if you want to stay in Buda, on the quieter side of the river. The hotel is seconds away from the famous Gellert Baths.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and loved the 'typical hungarian' surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2006

I stayed here in 2006. The rooms were old fashioned, had a strange aroma but nevertheless were clean. The bathroom was very small and not up to the standard required in a three star hotel. I cannot see how this establishment was granted three stars. The breakfasts were very basic with only a single communal table, almost non existent choice and nothing hot except the coffee.. This place felt more like hired rooms than a hotel. Definitely not good value for money and certainly not recommended.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2006

We stayed at Kalmar with our 1 1/2 year old daughter & it is absolutely the best place. The owners were very friendly and the location is great. They even let us use their kitchen to warm-up the milk, cook food for our daughter, use their refrigerator & washing machine! Our daughter was the star attraction and everyone, including the staff, was eager to help :-). Plus, the breakfast was very good.

From a location standpoint, we walked most of the time and it took us 20 - 30 min (with a child) to get to some of the main places of interest. The bus & tram stops are just 5 min from this place.

Overall a very good value for money. Highly recommended. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2005

The Kalmar Pension is located just behind the famous Gellert Hotel and Spa in Pest. It is a 5 minute walk to the Danube and the City Center.

I stayed in the suite - a mammoth 2 rooms with an adjoining wintergarten and balcony. The view of the Gellert was excellent. The price was $105 per nite, for two, including breakfast.

The furnishings were very old world, big heavy desks and chairs, an elaborate headboard with the double bed, with a great sitting room suite/parlor, and made for a relaxing and interesting stay. It also has a real "water closet" in the bedroom that I had heard about, but never sampled.

I had read some negative responses about the Kalmar from Trip Advisor and was hesitant to stay there. But I can say the staff was nothing short of wonderful, and the room was perfect.

I travel all thru Europe, and can say without hesitation the Kalmar is worth the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2005

Thank you to the Kalmars for their hospitality, from Eva and her two Canadian daughters. It was like our home away from home. Our apartment was clean, comfortable, elegant, and safe. It was a wonderful week (from the end of June until early July)

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2005

It started nicely and despite the hard bed, it was quite comfortable, yet she became very rude on the day we were checking out for no reason. Will not return. Do not need this kind of hostility. The breakfast room was also dingy and the private balcony/terrace was big enough for only one person.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#110 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 2,234 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,330 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#9 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,693 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#47 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalmar Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalmar Pension

Address: Kelenhegyi ut 7-9, Budapest 1118, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Gellert Hill
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kalmar Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalmar Bed And Breakfast
Kalmar Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalmar Pension, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.