We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kalmar Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Kalmar Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalmar Bed & Breakfast
Kelenhegyi ut 7-9 | H-1118 Budapest, Budapest, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 156 Budapest B&B and Inns
edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed here last August (2011) and I've been meaning to write a review since. I've finally got round to it as I look for other accommodation for a different break. My wife and I loved the Kalmar. Fantastic location, friendly accommodation and an amazing, authentically Hungarian Suite.
I've seen negative reviews of the breakfast. I don't understand them, breakfast was lovely, very European/continental & generous, worth if for the amazing, home made salami alone. Yes it got repetitive after a week, but if you wanted something different or had a special request, all you had to do was ask Eszter or her lovely staff.
I would have given the Kalmar full marks, but the smaller room in the basement would have been really disappointing. We upgraded to an amazing suite, with enormous bathroom and balcony which cost a little more but was simply stunning and amazing value, the smaller rooms simply don't live up.
Eszter was great, generous with her time and incredibly friendly. I've seen comments about her lack of approachability and having seen her take to task with other guests who were rude I wouldn't want to get on her bad side. However, we found her warm, approachable, incredibly welcoming and full of great suggestions. We would definitely come back and recommend this place to all our friends.

Room Tip: Don't go for one of the standard basement rooms, splash out on a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    1
    5
    3
See reviews for
1
8
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We recently stayed at the Kalmár Panzio and were overwhelmed by the wonderful accommodations. The location of the pension couldn’t be better, the room was large, quiet and beautiful, the owners were very friendly and helpful. The Kalmár is located right behind the landmark Gellért baths and a short 10 minute walk across the green bridge to the Great Market Hall and the Váci utca, a popular shopping street. The building itself is a beautiful 100-year-old mansion located in a large garden lot, surrounded by many trees. We had a very large bedroom with a marble floor, antique furniture, a firm, comfortable bed and a small, modern bathroom. The room was exceptionally quiet. Breakfast was nice with good local bread, yogurt and cereal, hard-boiled eggs and cold meats, juice, coffee and possibly more – I don’t recall. Eszter’s homemade plum jam was delightful! Eszter Kalmár, the owner and host, was very friendly and helpful, sitting down at breakfast with us to share thoughts and offer ideas. She even allowed us to pay with a combination of forints and euros, instead of just euros, so that we could use up the forints before leaving Hungary. I would consider this one of the best B & B’s I have ever visited.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

We enjoyed our stay just after Christmas, very friendly owner Eszter. Rooms very romantic, beautiful large topapartment. Budapest is beautiful city. We loved the thermal baths: Kiraly, Szecheniye and Gellert.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAPAN
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

My friend and I stayed at Kalmar for 5 nights. Main reasons for my choice were its location and historical background. Both were above my expectations. The Pension is in a quiet neighborhood, surrounded with trees and is close to public transportation and a 24-hour shop. The history of the building itself and the antique furnitures were fascinating. It was like staying in a museum.
We had the two basement rooms. The room I had was very spacious but the bathroom was very small, and even though I am small in size, I had to be careful not to bang my arm or elbow to the wall.
The all-guests-sit-in-one-big-table style breakfast was a surprise at first, but I thought it was a good idea as you come to know the other guests.
The owner was very caring and extremely helpful with information and advice, which made us feel comfortable and secure.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

I appreciate that every time I come here, the staff is attentive and helpful. Each time we come to Hungary we have chosen to stay at the Kalmar the last four years because of the location, the beautiful and spacious rooms, modern bathrooms and fantastic breakfasts! It's something we can count on! Also, I have needed laundry done and it is no problem which is convenient as I do not need to bring so many clothes with me.
Eszter and her husband, Istvan are very accommodating and are as helpful as they can be!
They will provide taxi's, reservations, directions, etc. and they have tourist books and maps to borrow that are available to all. A new feature is the jacuzzi and sauna that is overlooking the most beautiful view in Budapest! We love it and will come back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

My friends and I stayed at the Kalmar Pension (bed & breakfast) for several nights in October and we were very accomodated by the owners and staff. The rooms were fantastic with real antique furniture with genuine old world charm! The rooms are huge and inviting, very clean and also modernized with many conveniences, including a mini bar, phone, TV with cable, CD players.
I would definitely stay here again as the location also is ideal for walking, transport, shopping (right over the bridge is the MarketHall and Vaci Utca shopping street). Loved Budapest, loved Kalmar!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

The Kalmar is a family owned B&B on a quiet street behind the Gellert hotel. It is an easy walk to public transportation and the river. This wonderful old house sits on around a acre of private land. The rooms are large - some are quite large and have large balconies. Bathrooms are very clean and nice (No soap/shampoo so bring your own). The breakfasts are great and the atmosphere makes it feel like home. My family and I loved staying here and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalmar Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalmar Bed & Breakfast

Address: Kelenhegyi ut 7-9 | H-1118 Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kalmar Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalmar Bed And Breakfast
Kalmar Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalmar Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.