We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Szonyi Hotel

Save Saved
You added Szonyi Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Szonyi Hotel
Szonyi ut 38, Budapest 1142, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This hotel was recommended to us by our Hungarian family. It was a lovely hotel, the room was a family room so a sofa bed (double) was set up and also a cot for my youngest daughter but she wanted to sleep with her sister.

Rooms were quiet, the back of the hotel was lovely, a terrace to eat and drink on, park for the kids.

Food in the restaurant was lovely - even for a vegetarian, and breakfast was okay.

It was a approx a 10 minute walk to the metro which got us into main centre of Budapest.

The hotel even hosted my great Aunt's 90th birthday there, and there were 20 of us.

The English is very good from the staff in the hotel, even though we also had our Hungarian family as translators :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    16
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
21
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sibiu, Romania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I warmly recommend this hotel for who wants to have a nice, quiet and relaxing stay in Budapest. We were there for 3 days in August 2012 and had a very nice time. The staff were very nice with us, the room was clean, quiet, modern and equipped with everything we needed including a safe box and mini fridge. Not to mention the generous parking space, beautiful inner hotel yard which was very nice to wake up to in the morning, very good food and stylish restaurant and outer terrace. The location is not ideal, 10-15 min from the closest Metro station, but for us it was not a problem. Very good value for money. Our choice in Budapest for the future as well.

Room Tip: Choose a room with view to the inner yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv, Kyyivs'ka Oblast', Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is our choice for the place to stay in lovely Budapest. We love this cozy hotel. Rooms are spacious and clean, breakfast is ampful. Parking is free and there's always enough room for a vehicle. Location is not perfect, but other things make up for it. We have stayed there 5 or 6 times already and we always want to come back.

Room Tip: Family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I spent 6 nights in this hotel and I can fully recommend this place. This is very nice, modern and clean hotel. The hotel is situated in peaceful area, not far to the center of Pest (about 5 km). However to get to the center of Pest one has to walk about 10-15 minutes to the subway station (or 5 minutes by bus – bus stop is about 500 m from the hotel) and then another 15 minutes by subway. It is more difficult to get back to the hotel, because there is no bus stop near the hotel on the way back. The hotel has its own spa with two saunas and big jacuzzi. Hotel serves very tasty breakfast buffet. The staff is very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

This is a very nice modern hotel offering great value for the price. It has a good small restaurant and a spa. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is included in the price and the variety, quantity, and quality of the food is very good. If you're driving to Budapest, there is also ample free parking on the property. Free internet service is available and it was fast and dependable. We were there during an unseasonably cold spell in February and the room was comfortably heated. Rooms have a small balcony with chairs for warmer weather.

What, if any, are the downsides? If the weather is bad and you either don't have a car or don't want to walk in rain and snow to public transportation, you'll need to take a taxi to get to downtown, and from my experience, taxis in Budapest are relatively quite expensive compared to, say, Vienna. If you need one, the hotel can summon one up in about 5 minutes. The beds have a plastic mattress cover which leads to the sheets pulling out and bunching up during the night. While the rest of the bathroom was excellent, the shower mechanism appeared to be a relic of the communist era. You either had to accept low output or little directional control unless you took it down from its mounting and held it by hand. Very inconvenient.

On balance, I would certainly consider staying here again if I revisit Budapest--which is worth doing.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

I stayed at this hotel in September while sightseeing and visiting relatives. The close proximity to downtown, metro station, free parking was just what I was looking for. The rooms are nice, clean, and maintained well. The breakfast was esxceptional. The food was so good at the restaurant that wemade reservations and had a dinner party there one night with 15 people. I will stay there again.

Room Tip: One block to the bus station (bus 25). Then 2 stops to Mexikoi ut station. From there M1 subway goes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

I've stayed a couple of times and everything was perfect as I wrote before. Only one thing to mention - on TV there are porno channels between Discovery and Cartoon network programs. It's a little bit confusing when you travel with kids

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Szonyi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Szonyi Hotel

Address: Szonyi ut 38, Budapest 1142, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Szonyi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Szonyi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;