We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star City Hotel

Save Saved
You added Star City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Star City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Istvan Utca 14, Budapest 1078, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #153 of 332 hotels in Budapest
Worcestershire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

We three girls stayed here last weekend and were not sure what to expect. We had booked it through Expedia for a really low price. We were pleasantly surprised, it is clean, and the staff are helpful and friendly. The area looks a bit dodgy at first, however it is just an old part of the city and seemed quite safe. The walk into town takes around twenty minutes and there are things to look at on the way. The railway station is a five minute walk from the hotel and there are various trams and buses. We decided to walk everyday as it was quite pleasant.

The breakfast is plentiful and sets you up for the day. The hotel can also arrange taxis to and from the airport.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a weekend, even though there is nothing fancy about it. One more tip, change your money when you get there it is a better exchange rate.

We had a really good experience and would stay there again. Another tip, you must experience one of the spas, they are fantastic!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    62
    33
    13
    8
See reviews for
7
32
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2009

This seems to be a relatively new (or newly renovated) hotel in a rather old part of the city, quiter close to the Keleti main station (10 min. walk). The hotel itself is nice, clean, rather small, with not too many guests (the balance of January and February) and silent. The breakfast is good, with the right variety of food to have. A special thing about a double room there (anyway the one we were given) is that it actually consisted of two small separate rooms (one bed in each room) which makes the whole look like an apartment rather than just an ordinary hotel room. This is a perfect solution for couples who'd prefer to sleep separately and undisturbed (i.e. when someone's sneering or reading until late at night). The rooms are very high (the roof is somewhere several meters up above your head which is good, especially in hot summer time).
A big minus about the rooms are huge and taugh cushions you can hardly use for sleep, unless you like to sleep in a nearly sitting position. The daily cleaning service was also surprisingly ineffective (no carpet cleaning, no matter how dirty it becomes after several days).
The area the hotel is placed in might appear a little questionnable at first sight, but it is just the old part of the town that is not pretty much renovated hence not immediately "glittering and shining". It does not, however, have its own special charm and did not seem unsafe.
Just in front of the the hotel entrance there is a trolley stop that takes you in 10 minutes to the city center, or in 1-2 minutes to the Keleti station where you can change for nearly all directions, taking a bus or an underground. Mind, the Hungarians are obsessive about ticket control, so you'd better not travel blind (you need to punch a new ticket every time you enter a new vehicle, no matter if continuing your trip or uninterrupted).
All in all, it is a good and recommendable hotel, especially taking the price - value ratio (we booked it, however, much in advance via a travel web site thus, it cost us much less than the standard hotel rate ranging around 100 Euro!!!).

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, IL
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

For the money, Budapest's Star Hotel is pleasant: it's clean and cheery. The pillows were nice and big on the bed and the towels were nice, the staff friendly. The Star has a nice atrium-like sitting area. And it's not far from great stuff to do in Budapest, like near Heroes' Square.

By coincidence I actually heard this radio show about the Star:
http://budacast.hu/shows/budapest_star_hotel.mp3

I think the travelers' comments in that show were spot on.

  • Liked — The feel of the hotel
  • Disliked — The neighborhood was a bit gritty, but Budapest seems very safe
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2008

Pros: Friendly, helpful staff. Very large (by european standards) room. Room was also very clean. Inexpensive.

Cons: Not a very central location or in a great neighborhood. The room was very hot (we opened the windows in December.) and their was no hair dryer.

If I ever go back to Budapest, would I stay there? probably not. That has much more to do with the location than anything else.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2007

We traveled in early October to Budapest, finishing two weeks in Central Europe. We searched online for hotels under $100US per night and chose the Star Panzio due to its proximity to the Keleti train station - we arrived by train from Vienna (after a stop-over for lunch and exploration in Bratislava) mid-evening.

The Star is too far from where you want to be. Upon arrival to Keleti, we should have just jumped on the M2(Red) Metro and taken it two stops to Astoria or one more to Deak Ferenc, and thus closer to the downtown centre. Star Panzio is in a more remote neighborhood which I would caution single younger female travelers, as it isn't well-lit and just isn't as good of a location as down by those other train stops. Granted, it may be harder to find a double room under $100US in the more central locations, but we think it's worth some extra dollars.

That said, Star Panzio itself is very acceptable, with spacious, well-appointed rooms, clean bathrooms with soap and shampoo, towels and in-room cable. The breakfast is hearty, with meats, cheeses, breads, hard-boiled eggs in addition to juices and coffee as dark as night!

If you do stay at the Star Panzio or in this area, we do recommend the restaurant Paprika across from the parking lot adjoining Heroes' Square. Paprika was simply incredible, with local fare at very affordable prices and an ambiance only a local could construct.

Finally, we cannot recommend more getting your casual phrases down before you arrive, as it makes initial communications much easier.

  • Liked — spacious and clean bathroom
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

My wife and I are on a 4 month "flash packing" trip around Europe and the Americas and we were looking for good budget accomodation

Star hotel fitted the bill perfectly, it is only 5 mins walk from the main railway station (Keleti) and about 25mins walk to 'central' Budapest (10mins on public transport) and the Danube. Having said this, public transport is so good in Budapest, it is really easy to get around.

Hotel has free wi-fi (even in our room on 4th floor), was clean and felt secure (there is a central safe with personal keys). Staff friendly, all speak good english. Room was decent size and had air con, buffet breakfast also fair.

Downsides, tiny shower /ensuite and hotel location is quiet, i.e. no nice locals (15 - 20 mins to get to main eating areas on Andrassy).

But it is 50 EUR per night, which makes it a great budget hotel

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

We arrived in budapest in late July for a stag party. We were looking for mid range price accomadation with good levels of cleanliness, good location etc. Hotel is typical hungarian fare - clean, well maintained but has no extra levels of comfort or luxury. The location is central yet would appear to be in a rundown block but which in fairness is a 10 minute walk to the main "octogen" district. If I was a couple or group of girls - I would NOT walk around the immediate area of the hotel at night.

My room was a twin, it was clean and not tiny. It had mini bar fridge stocked with cheap soft drinks and water. The aircon was broken and given that the outside temp was 100f this was a massive problem. Bathroom was spacious and spotless, shower was just ok but again nice and clean.

Staff were helpful - particularly the daytime receptionist. She also isnt terribly hard to look at so that is a little bonus!! The hotel has a good relationship with a reputable taxi firm which is critical in budapest as most taxis on the street are out to rip off tourists and worse.... use serious caution with the taxis in this city.

The hotel does a breakfast, however we didnt ever rise early enough to sample it.... No other food is on offer here which is not great as there are no local shops etc which open at the weekend/ in the evening.

Would I stay here again? - No! I just felt uncomfortable about the location and felt that for a little bit more money you could stay in district v. ( more central and cosmopolitan ).

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Star City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star City Hotel

Address: Istvan Utca 14, Budapest 1078, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 332 hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Star City Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Star City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.