We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for it's description” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Star City Hotel to your Saves list
Star City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Istvan Utca 14, Budapest 1078, Hungary (District VII / Jewish Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for it's description”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Recently renovated, passable in cleanliness, staff helpful, rooms, adequate, area fair. Its a good mid range hotel, above a hostel but below 3 star. Good if your expectations match the reviews and write ups. Metro a ten minute walk maximum, ok if a few but I would not recommend singles or females doing at night as there are quite a few vagrants in the area. We had no problems and were not hassled at all, not even for loose change etc. but it could be a problem for some. Overall, we loved the place, the hotel and the people. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Back room quieter as not over the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    64
    39
    15
    6
See reviews for
15
58
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

hotel needs upgrading on the upper floors where rooms are then they can call it a 3 star hotel. currently only reception is 3 star & rooms are 2 star. breakfast is decent & good choice of selection....




Room Tip: Don't stay in room 109. Hope all the other rooms are not the same. no cupboards , only open shel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MirageHotelManager, Director of Sales at Star City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Viren M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Star City Hotel. We are delighted to read that you were satisfied with our breakfast and our reception. We are actually planning on renewing our rooms and corridors, so hopefully if you return to us next time, we can leave an even better impression.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!
Kind regards,
Enikő Csvórics
Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've been there with a group of students in march 2015
The rooms were big and clean
and the staff at the reception were extremly helpfull .
It's located close to keleti train
station and bus connections.
The only small thing it's the
neigborhud is a bit rough at nightime .
I can recommend this hotel.


Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MirageHotelManager, Director of Sales at Star City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Niels-ole G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Star City Hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with our rooms and the friendliess of our staff.

I hope we can welcome you back to our hotel in the future!

Kind regards,
Enikő Csvórics
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel recently refurbished, modern and clean. Bedrooms smallish but okay. Hotel out of city centre but metro 5minutes walk and tram across road. Several very good restaurants nearby very safe area. Budapest very beautiful city with plenty to do.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MirageHotelManager, Director of Sales at Star City Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Joe L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Star City Hotel! We are very happy that you were satisfied with your overall stay, and that you find Budapest just as beautiful as we do.

I hope to welcome you back to Star City Hotel in the future. 

Kind regards,
Enikő Csvórics
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015 via mobile

I spent 5 nights at this property and the stay was perfect: location is good (good bus/subway- connections), staff is very friendly (in partcular the receptionist Viktor, always smiling and ready to help), rooms are clean and spacious. Breakfast could be improved.

Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MirageHotelManager, Director of Sales at Star City Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear CarloBaldaccini,

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay at Star City Hotel. It is wonderful to hear that you were satisfied with our location and that you experienced great service from our receptionists. I will make sure to pass your recommandations on to Viktor personally.

On behalf of all the team here I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another visit before too long. 
Kind regards,
Enikő Csvórics
Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Really nice hotel with friendly personnel. Location is pretty good. Room was big with comfortable bed and cleaned every day. Breakfast wasn't bad but there are not big select of the food. Totally good :)

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarCityHotelManager, Vezető at Star City Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2015
Dear Dimitry A,

Thank you very much for staying in our hotel and for sharing your highly valuable comments with us!

I was so happy to read your kind words about our staff at the reception, I will forward your feedback to them.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Star City Hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Csilla Mormer
Sales Manager
Star City Hotel***
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Great Plain, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Good position. The train station, shops, restaurants, bus stops are near. The hotel is in the heart of Budapest, good position for trips and there are a lots of restaurants where we can go (there are cheaper and more expensive restaurants too).

Excellent service, kind greeting and helpful staff. (You can order things for your breakfast too; for example food for people who are lactose intolerant)

Clear rooms every day, comfortable beds. Good temperature (sometimes too warm).

Room Tip: Choose the higher floors and the rooms next to the courtyard, it's much more quieter than the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarCityHotelManager, Vezető at Star City Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2015
Dear Gábor B.,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review about Star City Hotel***

We are very happy to hear that you had a nice stay in Star City Hotel*** and you were satisfied with our staff, the breakfast, the location and the cleanness as well. I am going to forward your positive personal feedback to my colleagues too.

We truly hope that we will have a chance to welcome you back to Star City Hotel*** soon.

With our warmest regards,

With my best regards,

Csilla Mormer
Sales Manager
Star City Hotel***
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#158 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Hotel Thomas
#173 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#162 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Park Hotel
#169 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 stars 695 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
City Hotel Unio
City Hotel Unio
#168 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Hotel Corvin
#127 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star City Hotel

Address: Istvan Utca 14, Budapest 1078, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Star City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The three-star Star City Hotel (member of Mellow Mood Hotels) is located in Budapest city centre on the Pest side of Budapest 10 - minute walk from Keleti Palyaudvar, international railway station(500 m) and Metro station (Red Metro line 2) - which gives easy access to all parts of Budapest. Star City Hotel has 48 well-equipped,comfortable and relaxing rooms all of which feature FREE Wireless Internet access. In the hotel's open-plan lobby you can relax after a busy day, enjoying Hungary's famous spirits and international drinks as well. Room types include singles, doubles (with double or twin beds), triples and four-bedded family rooms. The adjoining rooms have a connecting door, a useful feature for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Venere, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Star City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.