We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want a bad experience, then go here.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Carmen Hotel

Carmen Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Carmen Hotel to your Saves list
Carmen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Amerikai Street, Budapest 1145, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #268 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you want a bad experience, then go here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

What I did like:

- The free WiFi.

I did not like:

- The dead cockroach and flies on the wall
- The Air Conditioner which was malfunctioning and had a 3cm layer of dust inside.
- The sink which was inoperable, the draining was not working
- The grey towels which they dry outside near a toilet
- The dust on the floor and the strange white thing which was impregnated in it.
- The TV which had just 2 Hungarian programs
- The pillows and blankets which have not been exchanged for a long time.
- The low table which was positioned so bad that I injured myself, some of the skin on my foot was removed.
- The walls which are so thin you can hear your neighbors
- The doors and windows which are so old I wonder how they even get closed anymore.
- There is no good parking place near the hotel, you have to leave it on the street.
- There is no bar as advertised. And nothing open at night near the hotel.
- The light switch was not working properly and one light bulb was burned.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    3
    0
    9
See reviews for
5
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I have been travelling around Europe with a friend so have stayed in quite a number of cheap places over the last 2 months, and this is by far the worst. Not only was it unclean (and stayed untouched by cleaners our entire stay even though we requested them for the last day), but bits of the ceiling actually fell in my hair as I was getting ready in the bathroom one morning, then another afternoon we arrived back to find paint and bits of plaster had fallen into our shower!
The dooners (blankets) had very obviously not been cleaned or replaced in god knows how long and unfortunately we didn't realise the extent until our last day when we went to shake them out- feathers, dust and particales clouded the air enough to make us feel sick that we had been sleeping under them! The girls at the front were nice enough but that is the only partly positive thing I can say about this place apart from the fact that it's easy to get a bus.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulgaria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

This hotel is a complete disater. It's dirty with old furniture, no service at all.
The pictures shown on the internet are not real. There was only one more room occupied. The breakfast consisted of one slice of ham, one slice of cheese some butter and bread. Coffee too.
The linen were torn and almost yellow. The room smelled very strange and the heating was working only from time to time which was not quite nice during December.
The only good thing is that it is close to a bus stop and the bus takes you directly to the city center.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Very dirty
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DELHI, INDIA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2008

I stayed for 3 nights at Hotel Carmen with my wife and adult daughter and must stay that it was a nice hotel. The room was large (it was a triple bed room), spacious and airy. The toilet was fine. The beds were good, the towels etc were actually very good. Breakfast was standard: eggs, bacon, toast, butter, honey and jam with coffee and tea. The juice was more of a squash.

The hotel was fine in every respect except that its a little far from the city centre although you get a direct bus from near the hotel to the city centre, or Keleti station or Nepliget bus station.

In case you decide to stay there, just get the bus services correctly from the reception.

The hotel has a nice little bar also, personalised and there is a lot of literature on the city available at the front desk.

However, take caution that do not be very late in the night, in and around the area, as it looked a little unsafe. I mean after 10.00 PM in a winter night.

Good for a budget traveller looking for a good, clean accommodation in Budapest. Incidetally, a taxi driver brought me to the hotel in the night. He charged 5 euros from kelelti to this hotel.

  • Liked — the rooms were large, spacious and clean
  • Disliked — a little far from downtown
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmen Hotel

Address: 23 Amerikai Street, Budapest 1145, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Carmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmen Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.