We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Corinthia Hotel Budapest to your Saves list
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erzsebet krt 43 - 49, Budapest H-1073, Hungary (Erzsébetváros)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Discover Budapest
Ranked #5 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

We stayed here for our honeymoon and got a fantastic deal on it, and managed to upgrade to an executive room which was big. The staff are friendly, rooms are big, comfy, interior's beautiful. We were very happy staying here after staying at some cheaper hotels around Europe. The swimming pool and spa were great, a must try for all. The breakfast buffet is good too!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,045
    635
    132
    50
    16
See reviews for
472
2,124
112
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

Hotel was beautiful with excellent service. Brilliant value for money. Hotel is about 15 minutes walk from Danube, but still central enough to get around city and trams stop right outside, although we did not use them. Definitely worth a visit.

Tracy & Steve, London

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

We spent three nights at this beautiful hotel in August and were lucky to be upgraded to a superior room at no charge on check in. We were also given free use of the spa, which we found to be so relaxing and quiet. A little oasis.
The hotel staff were courteous, very friendly and well presented. All spoke english. The breakfast (included in the price) was excellent and there were many choices. The dining room is very elegant and spacious with plenty of seating room.
The hotel is in a good location, withing easy walking distance to most tourist attractions. The Corinthia Grand was our favourite hotel of our 6 week European holiday.
.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

I stayed there for four days during a conference. Unfortunately, the weather was a rainy 5-7C outside during the day and colder during the night with NO heating on in the rooms and the aircon NOT producing any warm air.
In the bathroom, normally you hava fans extracting the humid air, here you had cold air blowing on your head while standing in the shower.
Several colleagues had the same problem (there were extra woolen blankets in the closet, thank god) and reception apologized that the heating system would take a few days to come up fully.

Breakfast was included in the conference room rate, at the 28 EUR they normally charge I would consider it extremely overpriced. I have seen better range of selection at 4 and even 3 star properties.

Room was comfortable with twin beds, small desk, armchair and table. WiFi was available in parts of the public areas (spotty coverage) and rooms had ethernet cable for no-fuss connectivity.
Bathroom was marble with glass shower (not completely sealed, so tended to flood the area in front of the toilet) and bathtub. Bathrobes and slippers provided, very classy.

The spa area in the basement was very nice in terms of decoration, but smaller than one might have expected form the photos (pool length maybe 10-12m). 2 small saunas, one small steam bath (bathing clothes compulsery) on hot pool. Not quite enough room in the rest areas if it gets full. Great to wind down for an hour between conference and dinner, direct elevator from all floors.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Chesnay, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

Very beautifull venue, helpfull staff and excellent buffet breakfast. Rooms are huge, well furnished and calm. The only con, the spa seems to be small in comparaison with the hotel capacity.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

The hotel was perfect . We had an excellent stay.The rooms were very comfortable and clean.
Loved the breakfast buffet . The staff were friendly .We certanly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

My wife and I attended a conference here in early November. From the moment we arrived the the time we checked out, we enjoyed absolutely every minute of our esperience. The building itself is a magnificent old style property that has been beautifully restored to its former elegance. Every member of the staff we encountered was wonderfully professional and also extremely polite and friendly (not something I can say about the Hungarian people in general....). I know that we will re-visit Budapest in the future - and I know also that we will not stay anywhere except in the Corinthia

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Address: Erzsebet krt 43 - 49, Budapest H-1073, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#3 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#3 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#5 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Escapio, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corinthia Hotel Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.