We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superlative !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Corinthia Hotel Budapest to your Saves list
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erzsebet krt 43 - 49, Budapest H-1073, Hungary (Erzsébetváros)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superlative !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Felt like royalty! The food is exquisite especially the breakfast buffet which is sumptuous. The staff can't do enough to help and the decor is just beautiful . A true five star experience. Definitely want to revisit .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
I am truly delighted to know that you had a superb stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I appreciate your mentioning about the attentive service provided by our staff. I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Yours faithfully,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,570
    738
    156
    58
    22
See reviews for
559
2,480
134
449
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (734)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Was booked into the Corintha Hotel by Uniworld river cruises as part of our post cruise extension for two nights. Location is right in the heart of the city, perfect for exploring. First impressions upon entering were outstanding! Beautiful common areas. White marble everywhere. Definitely first class look, very high end, bellmen and doormen in crisp uniforms, front desk staff professional but cold. Room was very nice however had a few minor appearance problems. Wall paper was peeling off at the seams throughout the room, giving one the impression that it had been put up in haste. Bed was some kind of platform bed with a cheap thin mattress covered up by bedding and dust ruffles. Not very comfortable and definitely not what one would expect in a 5 star hotel. Lighting in the room was a bit confusing at first and had one recessed light that shone brightly on you which made reading difficult. Bathroom was very large with separate shower and tub. Great shower and shower amenities, though the shower head could not be moved. Towels definitely sub par. They need to upgrade them to newer, thicker towels. Same goes for the terry cloth robes. Ones in our room were frayed and uncomfortable. Need to be replaced as well. Bathrooom floor had stains or gave the appearance of not being cleaned as well. Utilized their concierge desk for dinner reservations and car service. Staff was professional and spot on, great table at one of the finest restaurants in Budapest, Kundels. I know I'm being rather picky but they are marketing themselves as a luxury 5 star hotel and these little things need to be upgraded. That being said, it was a very enjoyable stay. I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: inspect the room upon arrival, before unpacking. Check the wallpaper and the bathroom floor and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
I highly appreciate your honest feedback. I am so glad that you were fascinated by our beautiful building. I noted that some of our services did not exceed your expectations. Thank you for the useful comments, so we can improve our services. We hope that otherwise your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kangasala, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The hotel was amazing, best were we have ever been. Room was very clean, nice and big enough for two people. Hotel staff were helpful and gentle. Lot of different kind of restaurants. Luxury spa was very nice. Location was good and with public transport you can easily look whole Buda and Pest -areas.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind and positive review. I was delighted to see that you had a great hotel experience here. Thank you for your high rating. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at our Hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here with the husband as a special winter treat, and was well worth it. Is in a good location for seeing the city, if like us you like to meander around cities by foot it is a good location for walking around. The hotel has been refurbished to a high standard and our room which looked into one of the atrium was peaceful and comfortable. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel as that was not included in our deal and we fancied exploring the city, there were other cafes nearby that were fine. We ate in the hotel one night and it was perfectly tasty. The swimming pool etc was all clean and relaxing. We felt it was good value compared to similar standard of hotel in other countries

Room Tip: Rooms onto atrium seemed nice and quiet when we were there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
I cannot thank you enough for your very kind feedback on your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to learn from your comments that you highly valued our hotel and its facilities. Thank you for your recommendation. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future. Warm regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Located near the very centre of Budapest (Oktogon Place), the Corinthia offers the very best 5 stars hotel and service experience. Gorgeous swimming pool and SPA (2 jacuzzis! different temperatures!), excellent service, always helpful.
We were 4 friends travelling, enjoying our 25th birthdays.... Don't miss a very good bar nearby (10 min. away by foot): INSTANT

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am delighted to note that you were satisfied with our staff. . Thank you for highlighting our location and the Royal Spa, from which more information can be found on Corinthia.com/Budapest in Wellness section. I am glad to read that you had a really great and memorable stay and birthday celebration with us. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in Budapest soon. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The absolute best hotel I have ever stayed at. The location is great near Octogon. A short walk from Andrassi street (utca) The building is a restored turn of the previous century Palace. The spa and pool is gorgeous. The best of all is the service, unmatched anywhere.
Food and wine exceptional. Get executive room with finest lounge with fresh soups, duck salads, wines, cheeses deserts all day.
I lost goggles at the pool and they returned them.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
I would like to thank you that you have honored Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your Budapest stay. I am really pleased to read that you had a great time here. Thank you for pointing out our spa facilities, which together with our new Espa services some additional information can be found on Corinthia.com/Budapest wellness section. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at our Hotel in the not too distant future. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

For a five-star hotel we expected much more. Service is just ok. It is not a quiet hotel which for us is a big issue. We could hear tv and people talking in the room next door. The maid also wouldn't stop slamming doors while cleaning close rooms. In 10 minutes she slammed the doors approx 15 times. The do not disturb tag only served for her not to enter the room. On our third night there we stepped out of the room in our pijamas to request some silence. Also the room is dated, the bathroom walls were stained and the shower could not keep the water hot for more than five minutes. Freezing water would come from time to time and we needed to vê prepares to step out. There are some good points dor the hotel such as the restaurants, free wi-fi and spa and a nice coffee shop but in my next trip to Budapest I would stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time and thought to share your opinion on TripAdvisor. It was disappointing to learn that the standard of the room you received did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I am also extremely sorry that your stay in our hotel was not to your full satisfaction and that you obviously were unable to experience the first class and friendly service Corinthia Hotel Budapest is renowned for. Please accept my sincere apologies for the disturbance caused by one of our Housekeeping team members. I can assure you that your comments have been reviewed with the team and expected service behaviour has been reinforced. I do hope that you will look upon this glitch in service as a one-off and not indicative of the high standards of customer care we strive to provide at all times.
On the other hand, I am happy to read that you were satisfied with our restaurants, the complimentary wi-fi service and the facilities of our majestic Royal Spa.
I trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future.
Kind regards
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Address: Erzsebet krt 43 - 49, Budapest H-1073, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#6 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corinthia Hotel Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.