We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, pay the extra for executive room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Corinthia Hotel Budapest to your Saves list
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erzsebet krt 43 - 49, Budapest H-1073, Hungary (District VII / Jewish Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Newcastle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing, pay the extra for executive room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

From arriving we we're treat like royalty, having paid the extra for an executive room we were taken upstairs to check in at the executive lounge and given a glass of champagne whilst doing so. The room was lovely, yes I agree they're warm but not uncomfortably hot. The staff were fantastic and helped with any queries that we had, the executive lounge was great for snacks and an array of drinks, we had breakfast included in the price and this was fantastic. I really recommend this hotel in Budapest.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
I am truly delighted to know that you had a superb stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am really pleased to read that you had a great time here. Thank you for sharing your experience about the Executive Club facilities from which more information is available on Corinthia.com/Budapest. I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Very truly yours,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,807
    793
    166
    62
    22
See reviews for
600
2,651
142
484
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (792)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Godalming
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is a Great hotel and with very good facilities (was here on a company event). The location is good but quite a way from the main shops/attractions and the river.

The only negative for me was, as it is winter, the rooms were FAR to hot and i didn't get a single good nights sleep. For this, avoid the "internal rooms" and get a room where you can open a window.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
My sincerest thanks for your review of the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Thank you for highlighting our location, from, which additional information can be found on Corinthia.com/Budapest. Thank you also for the useful comments about the air conditioning, so we can improve our services. I do hope that we will have a chance of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 4 day break in Budapest. What a hotel, couldn't fault it in any way, the attention to detail was first class, everything was just effortless. We had a superior room on the 5th floor, plenty of space, with huge wardrobes. The bed was extremely comfortable and offered a good night's sleep. We had booked with British Airways on a room only deal, but were offered complimentary breakfasts every day. The selection was excellent, with freshly made omelettes. We didn't find the bar tab expensive as compared to other hotels we have stayed in. The Orfeum Club, with free entrance to hotel guests, provided excellent entertainment with top acts. Drinks here again were not all that expensive, bearing in mind the quality of the entertainment.
Highlight of the trip was an evening at the Opera, and the Deep Purple concert.
If you decide to visit Budapest, make sure you stay at the Corinthian, one of the best if not the best we have stayed in. Hope to go back in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
I value your comments posted on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I was delighted to see that you had a great hotel experience here. Thank you for highlighting the Orfeum Club and the Deep Purple concert, also there are some more information can be found about noghtlife, programs and events on Corinthia.com/Budapest. I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Yours faithfully,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We've just returned from 4 nights in a superior room in the Corinthia Hotel. We'd read the reviews over the past few months and here's our suggestions. Book a package which includes the marvellous breakfast. Only the Krasnapolsky Hotel in Amsterdam comes close to the rage of hot and cold food on offer, all topped off with delicious sparkling wine (if that's your thing in the morning) We think we're coffee connoisseurs, and therefore found their coffee not to our liking, so we ordered espresso, at no extra cost. Even in February the hotel bedroom was hot, hot and having seen other reviewers comments, asked for a room with an outside window which enabled us to let in fresh air. The executive rooms with larger bedrooms and free nibbles and alcohol on the mezzanine floor, at 40 euros each per night, was just beyond our what we were willing to pay. Don't touch the drinks in the fridge or at the bar, unless you're on an expense account. Use the SPA, find the private lift, having donned your house coat/slippers and enjoy this amazing pool, Jacuzzi, steam room & sauna. We went 4 times and it was never very busy. Perhaps this is because it's not used by the public with membership (we think) This facility was simply great and it has an impressive looking gym!! All the staff, especially the SPA & breakfast girls were smiley, charming and mannerly. Yes we saw the recent reviews on the room TV programmes with channels tuned to incessant news stations, but this is the norm. Our IPad logged on easily and free of charge, just ask at reception. The hotel's location is very handy for all sites and for many restaurants recommended by tripadvisor, all within walking distance. One last point, we don't want to be doing the hotel out of business, they'll get loads from corporate clients, however the local SPAR sells inexpensive good wine which could be destined for your room fridge. We highly recommend this hotel which we booked through Jet2 Holidays

Room Tip: Ask for one which has an outside window to open
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am really pleased to read that you were satisfied with our staff and services. Thank you for mentioning our complimentary Wi-Fi services, which is available througout the building. I hope the next opportunity to hosting you in the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Kind regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

My husband and I have just got back from a 3 night stay at this wonderful hotel. I simply cannot fault it in anyway. We were given a complimentary upgrade on arrival to the Executive Club due to some problems we had experienced last year at The Corinithia Hotel in Lisbon and so the managers of both hotels had kindly arranged this for us.
Well what can I say, from the moment we checked-in to the moment we checked-out we had an amazing 5 star experience. The room was fabulous (the bed was extremely comfortable), the staff were very helpful and professional and the spa and executive lounge were first class.
I would highly recommend this hotel.
We would certainly stay here again and I would definitely recommend the Executive Club experience - it just makes your stay all the more special!

Room Tip: The Executive Club Rooms are extremely comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
I value your comments posted on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am really pleased to read that you were satisfied with our staff and services. Thank you for your recommendation and mention our Executive Club, from which more information can be found on Corinthia.com/Budapest. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in Budapest soon. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Just returned from 3 night stay at Corinthia, Budapest. From the minute you walk in the door you are blown away by the decor and and very impressive lobby. We booked an executive package so had access to the Executive Lounge which was fantastic - definitely worth upgrading to. Reception staff and waiting on staff in the lounge were friendly and couldn't do enough for you. If you so were inclined to you could drink champagne from breakfast until bedtime. Coffee, wine and snacks available all day and the lounge itself full of comfy couches. We ate breakfast in the main hotel and I have never seen so much choice. They had everything you could wish for and more. Chefs available cooking fresh omlettes of your choice. It was our 20th wedding anniversary and on arrival to our room there was a bottle of champagne on ice and fresh strawberries - lovely touch. Very memorable break and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your stay. I appreciate your mentioning about the attentive service provided by our staff. Thank you for mentioning our dining facilities, from which additional information can be found on Corinthia.com/Budapest. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Excellent Palace in Down Town with a high level of service. high Professional team in all the services. Very good Food, and the SPA is fantastic. i recommend it to all my friends! i hope that you will enjoy

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Herewith I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your recent stay. Thank you for sharing your experience. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in Budapest soon. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,328 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Zara Budapest
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Address: Erzsebet krt 43 - 49, Budapest H-1073, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#2 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#3 Family Hotel in Budapest
#6 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#6 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corinthia Hotel Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.