We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel we have ever stayed in!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Corinthia Hotel Budapest to your Saves list
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erzsebet krt 43 - 49, Budapest H-1073, Hungary (Erzsébetváros)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best hotel we have ever stayed in!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful hotel a few years ago and still talk about it now. Our experience here was totally overwhelming. I had booked this hotel for a three night break over my partner's Birthday. Imagine our surprise when on check in we had been selected as 'Guests of the Week' and had been upgraded to a suite!! When I mentioned it was a Birthday Treat they asked when Nik's Birthday was and sent a bottle of champagne to the room on her Birthday. The suite was gorgeous, very Grand with two marble bathrooms a lounge and a bedroom to die for!!! It was situated at the front of the hotel so good for people watching.

It wasn't just the room that overwhelmed us it was the hotel as a whole. Very colonial styling, with very attentive staff that can't do enough for you. The cocktails were lovely in the hotel bar, we had a very memorable evening there whilst listening to a string quartet. The entrance hall to the hotel is extremely Grand and had a very luxurious feel. The breakfasts were amazing too with a very wide variety of choice. You could even have a glass of bubbles if you wanted.

We will definitely be returning to this wonderful extremely memorable hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
I was delighted to read your generous remarks about our Hotel. I am most pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us. Thank you for your kind words. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at our Hotel in the not too distant future. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,574
    739
    156
    58
    22
See reviews for
559
2,483
134
450
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

This hotel was absolutely amazing! Staff were great, beautiful decor, and best part part was the area! Such a variety of restaurants and bars, would definitely recommend staying here. The spa facilities were amazing, we used it every day during our stay. We didn't have the breakfast, it was expensive to add this on at arrival, 29euros a day each!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
My sincerest thanks for your review of the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am really pleased to read that you had a great time here.Thank you for highlighting the spa facilities, from which additional information can be found on Corinthia.com/Budapest in Spa and Wellness ssection. I do hope to welcoming you back to your next visit to Budapest. Kind regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel and it is very luxurious and glamorous. It was December when I visited and the enormous Christmas Tree and full sized Gingerbread House (which acts as a cake shop) was a truly spectacular sight as you walk in. I stayed in an executive room which was large and very comfortable (my only slight issue was I had a room facing an internal courtyard where breakfast is served in the morning - from around 6.30am I could hear chairs being dragged around the floor as waiters seated diners). Breakfast is good with a lot of choice and lunch here was very tasty and of a very high standard. I did not use the Spa but saw it and it looked very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT overlooking the breakfast atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am really pleased to read that you had a great time here. Thank you for highlighting the Executive Club services. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon and you will have the chance to enjoy our Royal Spa as well, from which more information can be found on Corinthia.com/Budapest in Spa and wellness section. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

My wife and I were in Budapest for a short winter mid-week break, and we had the most fantastic stay at the Corinthia. The rooms are warm, well equipped and clean. The facilities are beautiful and modern, whilst the building maintains it's original grand majestic feeling. The staff are extremely polite, helpful and friendly - without exception. We stayed in an executive room, which I highly recommend. I didn't try any of the restaurants, but they all looked fabulous. All in all - it really enhanced our stay in Budapest, and I'd definitely stay again if I visit in the future.

Room Tip: I highly recommend the Executive room. I stayed in room facing inner courtyard, but I would recommen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
I would like to thank you that you have honored Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your Budapest stay. I am delighted to read that you were satisfied with our hotel. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon. For your next mid-week break I may recommmend to check out our advantageous offers on Corinthia.com/Budapest. Kind regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Excellent breakfast, conveniently located, spacious rooms, impeccable staff service! Hotel restaurants serve excellent food (though not cheap). The Hotel is beautiful, so is the spa which is complimentary for guests. Highly recommended!

Just some small advice: mattresses could have been better, but still okay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I was delighted to see that you had a great hotel experience here. Thank you for highlighting our restaurants. From the menus and specialties there are some more information can be found on Corinthia.com/Budapest at Dinings and bars section. I do hope to welcoming you back to your next visit to Budapest. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This hotel is on a grand scale and all facilities and staff maintain the impression of excellence and at a very good price coming from the UK. Prices for dining and services etc are somewhat expensive relative to local alternatives but ok. Definitely recommend breakfast in the hotel it is fantastic. We were "guests of the day" and had it added to our 3 night stay for free which was a massive a bonus. The street the hotel is on is a little mixed but close to tram stops and octagon metro. The travel pass is very good for public transport, recommend "smartcity" app for negotiating the wide range of efficient public transport.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
I cannot thank you enough for your very kind feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you were satisfied with our hotel. Thank you for pointing out our breakfast service. Also some more inforamtion can be found about food and dining options on Corinthia.com/Budapest. I do hope that we will have a chance of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future. Warm regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

It is undoubtedly one of the best hotels in Budapest. It is venerable and old, opened for the first time in mid-1800s(1860?) under the name Grand Hotel Royal, recently thoroughly modernized under its new Maltese ownership. And an interesting building it is, too. Indeed grand, five stories high, two wings, one central block with a central, enclosed courtyard/reception area/lobby; all covered by a glass roof including the passageways joining the central block with the wings. We stayed there for two nights (extended weekend city break) in one of the wing standard rooms. It was medium size with no view to speak of, comfortable king size bed, pay for mini bar, flat screen TV(only info channels free but we watched movies from our pendrive via USB port there), some neutral pictures on the walls, decent quality toiletries. Passable. The room looked a bit tired, more like four stars than five. Worse still air conditioning was not working, turning the radiators off did not help so we had to open the window to cool down. Five stars? Hardly. We mentioned it as we were checking out. What makes is five stars however is the ambiance, the attention of the staff, the décor, the feeling of exclusivity, the pool and spa and the restaurants. Breakfast is expensive(30Euro per person) but if you have enough time to enjoy it is a unique experience. The food is excellent, certainly worth a couple of hours of your time accompanying sparkling Hungarian wines very good quality(and included), service however is on occasions a bit sloppy (like wiping the table while leaving the disgusting large spot of freshly spilled milk trapped in-between the glass and the table itself. Ugh!) Five stars? Maybe it is me who is too demanding? We also thought charging for as basic a service as ordering a taxi is a bit mean. Apart from the restaurant there is a café-Szamos Marcipan on the ground floor which serves snacks till 20.00 apart from delicious cakes and coffees. It could be a cheaper and quicker option then the elaborate hotel breakfast. Beautiful art nouveau pool and spa with sauna and jacuzzi give one an excellent opportunity to relax after an exhausting day out. Some treatments are free, most are not. The hotel is centrally situated within practically walking distance from most sites, public transport in Budapest is very good, taxis as expensive as anywhere(watch the meter!), many people speak English which is of great help as Hungarian is a language like no other. In spite of the minor complaints we enjoyed our stay there and would happily come back again. Budapest is such a great city! PS. If you want to change money do it in the ubiquitous little bureau de change where you will get the best rate. Usually, but certainly NOT at the railway station, where is it worse than miserable!

Room Tip: have a t-shirt, rooms can be very hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive and very detailed review. I appreciate you taking your time to share your experience with all the readers. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Address: Erzsebet krt 43 - 49, Budapest H-1073, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#6 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corinthia Hotel Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.