We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't be fooled by photos of the pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Save Saved
You added Corinthia Hotel Budapest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erzsebet krt 43 - 49, Budapest H-1073, Hungary (Erzsébetváros)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 332 hotels in Budapest
nyc
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“don't be fooled by photos of the pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

one of the main reasons we wanted to stay at this hotel was because of the photos of the pool, which make the pool look very large. the pool is not particularly large. it is also somewhat cold so it's nice for a dip after a long day but we didn't linger long. the spa facilities are very good. my husband and i both got massages, which were excellent. they were expensive considering we were in budapest but reasonable by american standards. schedule in advance if you want a particular time,

we never got room service during our stay because even by american standards it was very expensive. just not worth spending $22 for a chicken dish when you can go next door and pay a third the price. we never upgraded to the executive room because we didn't spend much of the day in the hotel and our tour came with a lot of meals and left early so we couldn't do a breakfast buffet. we never ate in any of the hotel restaurants as there are so many places nearby, we'd usually go out to explore.

the hotel is not in the center of the city center, which is fine. it's easy to walk to and the main area and i felt safe at night as there were lots of people around enjoying the bars and restaurants in the area. i liked the location and there were several good restaurants nearby. i really recommend checking out the cakes at the attached coffee shop -- too many to try. the cake i tried was incredible and my friends raved about the chocolates we brought home.

this is a lovely hotel. our room was beautiful and i have no complaints about the staff. they have a car service that you can book at the front desk. it's likely to be cheaper than one you'd book on your own. request your car in advance and you won't have to wait. they also provide guides through the concierge, though we found our guide through tripadvisor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
I would like to thank you that you have taken the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. I am most pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us. I do hope that we will have a chance of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future. Warm regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,733 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,918
    616
    129
    53
    17
See reviews for
434
1940
105
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We usually don't frequent hotels as elegant as this but we're glad we did. It's well situated on the main thoroughfare and minutes from the opera house. A wonderful spa and pool accessible by a separate elevator awaits you on the ground floor. Just make use of the complimentary bathrobe and slippers to make your way down there. Perfect to soothe your aching bones after a long day's sight-seeing. The inner courtyard serves breakfast but we skipped it since the buffet was priced at 39 euros and you can easily get 2 cappuccinos and 2 pastries at any of the sweet shops just outside the hotel for one tenth of the cost. Food is relatively inexpensive in Budapest (as compared to Vienna). The rooms themselves are very comfortable with modern updates. I wish there were more English channels to select from other than just 24 hour news channels. If you're looking for something to do, I highly recommend the free walking tours each morning at 10:30 in the main square. Also check out some of the "ruin" bars in the Jewish quarter.

Room Tip: Make use of the pool and hot tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your stay. I am really pleased to read that you had a great time here. Thank you for your high rating. I do hope that we will have a chance of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future. Kind regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here for a 4 night break as a birthday treat. The hotel is well appointed and a great base for exploring the city.
Worth looking for a deal that includes breakfast in the rate, lots of choice and even accommodated gluten free etc..

Would recommend the hotel to anyone, service was really good and we found the staff very helpful. Our only issue was the price of drinks in the hotel, but with such a good choice of bars nearby that wasn't a problem!

Nearly forgot the pool and spa are well worth a visit!

Room Tip: We liked the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
My sincerest thanks for your review of the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am most pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us. Thank you for sharing your experience. I hope the next opportunity to hosting you in the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Yours faithfully,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Budapest is a spectacular city, a combination of Vienna, Prague and Paris, and the Corinthia is the place to stay. It lives up to this magical city in every way, elegant, beautiful, personable, pleasant. The details are impeccable, from the wake-up call from a real person, to the toiletries, to the fixtures, to the respectful and knowledgeable concierge, to the quiet and spacious rooms with tasteful decorations. And the location and price can't be beat. Treat yourself to this place, the city and the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your stay. I am really pleased to read that you had a great time here. Thank you for your kind words. I hope the next opportunity to hosting you in the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel is definitely worth it! The spa is incredible and is openend until 10 p.m which is great after a day walking to discover this beautiful capital.

The bed and linens are exceptionnal, the staff is helpful and the food is delicious.

You will not be disappointed !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
I would like to thank you that you have taken the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that you were satisfied with our hotel. Thank you for highlighting the Royal Spa. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in Budapest soon. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was the third hotel on our month long trip through Central Europe. Budapest was one city we wanted to visit. After thoroughly researching hotels on Trip Advisor, we choose Hotel Corinthia.
Once at the hotel, we were able to valet our car and check in. The hotel is beautiful, no doubt. But, there were hoards of Viking Ship River cruisers in the lobby. Luggage stacked in every corner. It was mayhem! At the front desk, we were not greeted as warmly as we had been at our previous hotels. I got the distinct impression that the aggressive river cruise passengers had probably tested their patience. My simple questions were abruptly answered and I felt asking anything more was an imposition.

Once in our room, we were very surprised with the size and overall beauty of the room. The built-in his and her closets were wonderful. The sofa, table and desk a real bonus and the bathroom with tub, luxurious. The bed was comfortable and the linens and pillows very fine. The shower was large and pressure and temperature, perfect.

We dressed for dinner and went downstairs. We had a drink in the bar area and were served very professionally by a young lady who was efficient and competent. I ordered a Royal Martini (house speciality) which was downright awful. She had no problem switching it out. We ate dinner at the Asian restaurant inside the hotel and found the server to be just as professional and pleasant.
It was back in our room that we found that the "quiet room" we requested was nothing but. We had been given a room with the windows facing the front Atrium of the hotel. The Viking River cruisers were back and they intended to party. Because the Atrium has all marble floors, the noise was incredible. Even with the window shut tightly. I called the front desk and got the same abrupt response when I asked about moving to a quieter room. They didn't have anything that night, but would accommodate us the next day. After midnight the noise level subsided. It was Saturday night and I didn't remember the Trip Advisor tip to stay away from the Atrium facing rooms. For the record, Sunday and Monday were much quieter and rather than be inconvenienced, we stayed in this room.

After walking around the area and taking a bus tour of Budapest, we determined that the Hotel, while truly a gorgeous property, was not the place to be. We should have been on the opposite side or Old Town, near the water. The hotel was in an odd location. I didn't feel all that safe walking around at night there. We eventually found restaurants about 10 blocks away in the Franz Liszt park area which were very good, but it was a trek. This area of Budapest reminded me of New York. Very large and sprawling.

We did use the pool, spa area, but it had a large, cold feeling to it. Just like many of the front desk staff we encountered.

Not sure what it was about this hotel. But, my husband felt the same. If we ever go back to Budapest, we would probably stay near the water.

Room Tip: Stay away from the Atrium facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
I value your comments posted on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I appreciate your mentioning about the attentive service provided by our staff at the bar and the Rickshaw Restaurant.
Please accept my apologies for the disturbance caused. We do encourage our guests to be respectful and considerate of each other, though you will appreciate that it is not always possible to control the behaviour of others. As much as possible the team on duty at the hotel will take action to quieten any disturbance that does occur. I hope that otherwise your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Very truly yours,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Corinthia is a magnificent property. Location is somewhat distant from many of the more elegant hotels in Budapast, but it is easily accessible by metro, streetcar or private transportation. We had an executive room which was large, beautiful and well equipped. The Executive Club is a wonderful amenity: food, drink and concierge services all day long. The service everywhere in the hotel was impeccable. We used the indoor swimming pool and spa each day; it was a great place to exercise and unwind after a day of walking all over Budapest. My only complaint was that our room was too dark: the window faced an atrium and the walkways around each floor, so the curtains had to be closed. I would prefer a room that faced the street ... probably noisier but much lighter. The Corinithia staff does a great job; we would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the atria are dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your stay. I am very glad that you emphasized our services provided by our staff. Thank you for pointing out our spa facilities. I am happy to read that we definitely welcoming you back to your next visit to Budapest. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Address: Erzsebet krt 43 - 49, Budapest H-1073, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#2 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#3 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#5 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#6 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corinthia Hotel Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.