We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great revival” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Corinthia Hotel Budapest to your Saves list
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erzsebet krt 43 - 49, Budapest H-1073, Hungary (District VII / Jewish Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
164 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great revival”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful luxury hotel with rich history. when you stay there you will not believe that the interior is merely 20 years old.
A great stay with very good breakfast and other meals, a nice and exquisite spa area and nice spacious rooms.
A revival of the Belle Epoque in Hungary.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
I am truly delighted to know that you had a superb stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I was glad that you were impressed by the service provided by our staff and services. Thank you for your kind words. I do hope that we will have a chance of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,811
    793
    166
    62
    22
See reviews for
600
2,655
142
484
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I'm not going to lie, I think my view of this hotel might be slightly skewed. We were visiting Budapest with friends for a long weekend. On arrival at the hotel, we quickly realised that there was a conference on. I immediately got down heartened, not looking forward to spending a weekend surrounded by pharmaceutical salesmen. However, due to the hotel being so full with delegates we got upgraded. All the way. TO THE PRESIDENTIAL SUITE! 9 rooms, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, an office, boardroom and an awesome view. So this was a good start.

Ignoring the upgrade, the hotel was immaculately clean, very good staff and in general a very impressive set-up. The real gem though is the spa. It's just great. It'd take pages to describe, so just check out the website images. It does look like that in real life. We used it everyday. Really nice.

The only real disappointment would be the restaurant and the bar. We didn't actually eat in the restaurant, so I can't comment on the food. However, the reason we didn't is due to its perceived lack of atmosphere. It is located in one of the vast indoor courtyards and just felt odd. Hard to explain really, but to be honest it doesn't matter as Bupapest has so many other great restaurants. The bar was also odd, not in the same way as the restaurant, but just felt very stuffy. This is very subjective, and in general there was nothing wrong with it, just pretty sterile.

Overall though, had an excellent stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive and very detailed review. I was delighted to see that you had a great hotel experience here. Thank you for the useful comments about restaurants and bars, so we can improve our services. I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We just returned from 4 nights at the Corinthia Hotel in Budapest. Luxurious, large rooms, free use of the elegant Royal Spa, the best breakfast in our entire trip (including smoked catfish/trout as well as salmon, eggs, pancakes and waffles to order), knowledgeable and helpful concierge service made this one of our favorite hotels. While not located in the tourist section near the St. Stephen's cathedral, the hotel was close to metro and trams made visiting the sights of Budapest easy and allowed for walking in more residential/laid back areas of the city. The Opera house was only about a 15 minute walk and Parliament about 40 minutes. The Corinthia is definitely a hotel we would return to/

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your generous feedback posted on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am very glad that you emphasized our services provided by our staff. Thank you for highlighting our location. I hope the next opportunity to hosting you in the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Warm regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Beautiful, stylish hotel.
Every comfort provided, especially as we were upgraded to a suite.
All the staff were helpful with absolutely everything.
A wonderful choice for breakfast. We ate out otherwise but the dinner menu looked great.
Perfect location in central Budapest with tram and metro close by.
Margaret and Michael Hardy, England

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Mrs Hardy, I am truly delighted to know that you had a superb stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I appreciate your mentioning about the attentive service provided by our staff. Thank you for pointing out our location. I do hope to welcoming you back to your next visit to Budapest. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel is not the new york Palace, but I suppose the prize range is slightly cheaper. The junior suites do not have a window in the bedroom and I felt very claustrophobic . I asked to be moveD and had a disabled access suite where the bedroom did have a window. Its very big hotel and it easy to get lost.
The staff are nice and friendly except the executive suite reception woman who is miserable and always on her phone or Facebook on the computer.

Room Tip: ask for disabled access suite if you want a window in the bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback. Your comments are valuable for us and highlight the areas where we need to focus on in order to gain an excellent guest experience. I was sorry to learn that your stay on this occasion fell short of your expectations. I am happy to read that finally we could find a solution and the after the change the suite was acceptable for you. I was disappointed to read your comments regarding a staff member’s attitude in handling your concerns. Please be assured that your comments have been reviewed with the front office team and expected service behaviours have been reinforced. I do hope that you will look upon this breakdown in service as a one off and not indicative of the customer care we wish to provide at all times. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future. Kind regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Danube flooding disrupted our river cruise so Viking booked us into the Corinthia for our final two nights. We were given a small room on the 6th floor. Our first experience was the room keys did not work. Not a big deal but after a long, hot day on a bus the extra trip to the front desk was annoying. The room was a smoking room. As an ex-smoker I found this extremely bothersome. The second day we were there the hotel had no ice cubes. Really? There was crushed ice so I had a vodka slushy. The bathroom had no ventilation so it was always hot and humid. I could hear water dripping behind the wall while I was in the bathroom. The breakfast buffet was okay but it was quite crowded. No wash cloths were provided. We had to ask for them. The front desk staff was very polite. I would have much preferred staying aboard the ship. Disappointing ending to our cruise.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I was sorry to learn that your stay on this occasion fell short of your expectations especially related to the guest rooms. We welcome all feedback that we receive from our guests and will endeavour to use such feedback constructively. Feedback such as yours that highlights areas where we could be doing better is particularly useful and we are grateful for your time in sharing your experience with us.
I am delighted to note that you were satisfied with our Front Office staff I will pass your kind words to them. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Corinthia Budapest and better meeting your expectations in the future. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just came back from Budapest and thought we'd be making a statement, five nights at the Cortinthia Grand. One of the very best places we ever stayed in during our travel and we're quite experienced, the hotel is a gem of architecture with an even better location downtown. Staff is truly attentive and helpful in a manner that exceeds expectations without being intrusive, very efficient reception department and good, solid quality breakfast incl for vegetarians. This is our second visit to Budapest but first with this hotel and plan to use it again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your stay. It was a pleasure to learn from your comments that you highly valued our hotel and its facilities. Thank you for highlighting the architectural beauty of our hotel and the location. I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,330 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Zara Budapest
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Address: Erzsebet krt 43 - 49, Budapest H-1073, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#2 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#3 Family Hotel in Budapest
#6 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#6 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corinthia Hotel Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.