We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the Budabest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Corinthia Hotel Budapest to your Saves list
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erzsebet krt 43 - 49, Budapest H-1073, Hungary (Erzsébetváros)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
london
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“It's the Budabest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We loved our 4 night stay at the Corinthia and, if we return to Budapest, wouldn't stay anywhere else.

The hotel is classy and elegant, the staff polite and helpful and that 'grand hotel' feeling abounds throughout. We had a lovely street facing corner room which, like everything else in the hotel, was absolutely spotless.

We dropped in to several other 5* hotels (most are by the river) and they all had that convention hotel feel about them (except, of course, The Four Seasons). The Corinthia, by contrast, felt special from the moment you entered the gorgeous lobby.

The location was good too, with a 10 minute walk down the upmarket Andrassy Avenue to hit the main centre and river areas.

Room Tip: Previous reviewers have said that street facing rooms are noisy. We didn't find that. Yes, the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
I value your comments posted on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am really pleased to read that you had a great time here. Let me thank you again for your all-embracing positive comment and for recommending us to the traveling community. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,568
    738
    156
    58
    22
See reviews for
559
2,479
134
448
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (733)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blairgowrie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed in a Superior room for 5 nights with breakfast. Lovely hotel, a little worn in places but you will get this with any hotel of this size.

Breakfast was good with attentive staff, a great selection of food and drink. Couple of nights there were live musicians in the bar which was nice.

Overall a great stay and would stay again. Very centrally located and close to just about everything.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind and positive review. I am really pleased to read that you have a great stay with us. Thank you for your recommendation. I do hope that we will have a chance of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we walked into the hotel, everything was perfect. We were upgraded to junior suite, it was our anniversary and champagne, chocolates and fruit with a lovely letter from the manager congratulating us, thank you so much for such a wonderful stay. Your staff, food, and fantastic club with first class entertainment, will be recommending, and budapest was the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
I would like to thank you that you have taken the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. I am happy to read that you have an excellent anniversary here. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We are on a river cruise and spent three days prior to the cruise exploring Budapest. The hotel is in a great location and is central to the must see things in this historic city. The rooms were spacious and the staff attentive.

If we ever go back to Budapest this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am most pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us. Thank you for your kind words about our hotel, staff and services. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at our Hotel in the not too distant future. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Nice, large hotel right in the middle of a busy street lined with bars and restaurants.
3km walk to the river where there is a bridge to get to the other side or an island which has a popular park with more restaurants and bars. Beautiful scenery.
Deluxe room was comfortable and clean, carpet a little grubby but they generally are. I was on the top (5th) floor, there are plenty of lifts which were always quick.
Breakfast was good with plenty of variety, usual stuff. Only complaint the fried eggs were always cold, even when a new tray was brought out.
I was there for a 3 day conference and the buffet lunch and dinner was of good standard with plenty of variety.
The bar is a little lifeless lacking atmosphere, but the service was excellent from friendly staff. Bars outside the hotel are less than half price.
The pool is too small to train so I just bobbed about in the jacuzzi, and there are numerous sauna steam room options. Nice, no complaints.
Weather was sunny and up to 31 deg C, and T-shirt temperature at night.
I would return for holiday

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
My sincerest thanks for your review of the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I appreciate you taking your time to share your experience with all the readers. Thank you for the useful comments, so we can improve our services. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in Budapest soon. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Superb hotel in a great central location in Budapest. I would stay there again. Many hotels are in the touristy Vaca Street area, and this hotel is several blocks east of that congestion. The hotel is grand, and clearly was recently redone.

Room Tip: The breakfast is lavish, but at $45 I would skip that and eat at any little restaurant on the block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am really pleased to read that you had a great time here. Thank you for your recommendation. I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I took my partner to Budapest for her birthday and after reading the reviews of the Corinthia decided to stay there. All I can say is I'm glad I did, everything you read in the reviews is true. The hotel is beautiful the staff can do enough for you and I would recommend anyone going to Budapest stay at the Corinthia

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
I would like to thank you that you have honored Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your Budapest stay. I am very glad that you emphasized our services provided by our staff. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future. Best wishes,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Address: Erzsebet krt 43 - 49, Budapest H-1073, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#4 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#6 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corinthia Hotel Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.