We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 5* best hotel in budapest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Corinthia Hotel Budapest to your Saves list
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erzsebet krt 43 - 49, Budapest H-1073, Hungary (Erzsébetváros)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Discover Budapest
Ranked #5 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
BELFAST
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Excellent 5* best hotel in budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Second time at this hotel. First 5 years ago for our 25th wedding anniversary when we received a complimentary upgrade to the executive lounge. This time we were upgraded to a junior suite. This is a truely excellent hotel with exceptional customer service.
Room excellent
Executive lounge excellent
Breakfast excellent
Customer service excellent
Spa and treatments excellent (although they could do with a separate relaxation area for after treatments).
Thanks to all the staff for suite upgrade, bubbly wine km chocolates and fruits for our 30th anniversary. Eat in Bock and it was excellent. I would think of no other hotel to stays in when in Budapest

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
I was delighted to read your generous remarks about our Hotel. I am happy to read that you have an excellent wedding anniversary here. Thank you for your continous loyalty to us. Let me thank you again for your all-embracing positive comment and for recommending us to the traveling community. I hope the next opportunity to hosting you in the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Kind regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,044
    634
    132
    50
    16
See reviews for
472
2,123
112
382
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Overall, a really good hotel - especially when there are discounts and offers (there is usually a January 50% sale). Our room on the top floor overlooked one of the central courtyards and was very quiet. We would have appreciated complementary water as opposed to the astronomical sum charged for bottled water. But then again, they did have free wifi. The only drawback of our room was that it smelled of smoke. Nothing serious enough to insist on changing rooms (although some would), but I wouldn't expect rooms at a hotel of this class to smell bad.
The spa/pool area was really very good: brilliant range of facilities in clean, relaxing, and attractive surroundings.... well worth a visit or two, or three.
We were able to arrange a Hungarian language lesson from Fungarian on our first day, which I have to recommend. We invited the tutor to our hotel for this, and used the lobby which was quiet and spacious. Unfortunately, we felt pressured by staff to buy drinks when sitting in the lobby (it was empty, so we weren't taking up space) - even though we weren't thirsty. This was very strange and made us feel unwelcome - you would expect free use of lobby areas when you are a resident at a hotel. Apart from this, we enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
I highly appreciate your honest feedback. I am glad to note that your stay was great here. Thank you for the useful comments about the lobby bar, so we can improve our services. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

The choice of staying at the Corinthia enhanced our recent stay in Budapest because of its central location, the high quality of all aspects of the hotel particularly the breakfast session which got the day off to such a good start. Pool and spa facilities added to the enjoyment for my wife and our friends. Our only disappointment was not being able to book a convenient meal time at the Bistro despite the efforts of the concierge. A most enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Herewith I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your recent stay. I am really pleased to read that you were satisfied with our staff and services. Thank you for highlighting our location and the helpful feedback about the Bock Bistro. I do hope to welcoming you back to your next visit to Budapest. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Breakfast
Gorgeous. Everything you could possiby want is there - in abundance. One of the best breakfast buffets I have had.

Overall building & Location
Impressive building. Location - a little further out than the other 5 * hotels but by lots of restaurants nearby which is more important, in my opinion. I don't mind walking a bit for a tourist attraction but don't want to have a long trek for a restaurant or evening drink.

Room
A little disappointing. We were a group of 3. The extra bed (which they happily charge you a full person's rate for) was a truckle bed crammed into the room. In a 5* hotel, I'd expect them to allocate a slightly larger room if there are going to be 3 of you in it. It was 'tight' when we were trying to get ready to go out in the morning or evening.

Spa
Lovely. A perfect way to fill that time between daytime sightseeing and the evening entertainment.

All in all, a great stay. I'd give it 5 if it wasn't for the room size.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am delighted to read that you were satisfied with our hotel. Thank you for pointing out our spa facilities and breakfast selection. Thank you for your useful remark about the guest room. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in Budapest soon. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

A five star rated hotel that meets all requirements to a de-luxe hotel. Well-equipped spacious rooms, elegant common areas and a fantastic pool-area with jacuzzi and saunas. Friendly and smiling straff from bellboy in the door to straff in restaurants and reseption and concierge. (Not always used to this in Budapest). Breakfast is expensive (23 euro pp pd ?), but selection is so well that it could be your main meal this day. Look for special offers where breakfast is included. Lot of breakfastplaces near the hotel. Good central location with tramstop (no 4 and no 6) just outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Concider the price of upgrading from std to executive room and services included in executive .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
I would like to thank you that you have honored Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your Budapest stay. I am most pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us. Thank you for your high rating. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay with my husband in an executive room definately worth the little extra cost. All the staff were very polite and helpful, recommend the tour of the hotel if you're there on a Tuesday or Thursday, Krisztina gave my husband and I a personal tour of the ballroom, apartments and top suites and was very knowledgeable on the history of the hotel saw parts of the hotel many probably miss. Spa was lovely as long as we timed it right though the robes were a little snug for my more ample figure!! Thanks for a great stay to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary

Room Tip: Executive room allowing access to executive club well worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
My sincerest thanks for your review of the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am happy to read that you have an excellent 10th wedding anniversary here. I will definately pass your kind comments to Krisztina. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon. Kind regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, Northumberland, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I recently spent 4 nights at the Corinthia with my wife and another couple. We booked executive rooms which gave us access to the executive lounge. This proved to be excellent value for money. The room was extremely well appointed, service throughout the hotel was superb, the spa was outstanding and the lounge was a pleasure. The only minor gripe was the Sunday brunch, which we all found disappointing.

Room Tip: Book an executive room. Worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
My sincerest thanks for your review of the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am really pleased to read that you have a great stay with us. Thank you for your nice words about our Executive lounge and the Royal Spa. I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Address: Erzsebet krt 43 - 49, Budapest H-1073, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#3 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#3 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#5 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Escapio, Despegar.com, Venere, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corinthia Hotel Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.