We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“city trip to Budapest with friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Corinthia Hotel Budapest to your Saves list
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erzsebet krt 43 - 49, Budapest H-1073, Hungary (District VII / Jewish Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“city trip to Budapest with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Corinthia hotel was just wonderfull; very nice building, nice and clean rooms (we were on the 5th floor) perfect breakfast buffet. beautifull spa and swimming pool. Cozy place to have some drinks. we had a wonderfull time and I would highly recommand it.

Room Tip: we had no noice on the 5th floor. this was a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Herewith I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your recent stay. I am really pleased to read that you had a great time here. Thank you for your kind words about the Royal Spa. I do hope to welcoming you back to your next visit to Budapest. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,818
    793
    167
    62
    22
See reviews for
603
2,658
142
484
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

As six "old lads" who have traveled to many European cities over the last thirteen years on three night breaks, this was undoubtedly by far the best value for money, service and location of all past trips. The rooms were in excellent condition and maintained to the highest standards, as was the rest of the hotel with its outstanding decor. The breakfast was quite unbelievably superb with a selection that catered for every taste. The staff were, with out exception, kind, caring and considerate and made our stay in Budapest perfect. We will in future, where available, be looking out for Corinthia hotels for all future trips. We would like to place on record our sincere thanks to everyone at the hotel for making it such an excellent stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind and positive review. I am really pleased to read that you have a great stay with us. This kind of reviews give us always a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests. I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband & I just returned from a 3 night at Corinthia Budapest on Sunday and I just can't praise the hotel enough for the first class service which we received.
From the minute you are greeted at the front of the hotel from the Doorman, the opulance of this hotel shines through. Cleanliness is obviously a high priority for the management as it is immaculate. We arrived at the hotel at 1pm knowing that check in wasn't until 4pm (I think!) and we had expected to leave our bags and be given access to the room later but no, we were escorted to our room which I must say was beautiful. It was very spacious, clean and most definately comfortable. It comprised of a bedroom area, living area and bathroom. The window in the room overlooked the atrium. One small point but not one whch spoilt our stay in the least was that the king size bed came with 2 single quilts instead of one larger quilt. We had a few drinks in the bar area and also had a snack all of which was first class. The spa is out of this world, clean, spacious and had everything that you could ask for. One small disappointment for us was that the Bock Restuarant was closed during our stay there, we would really have liked to try it following the great reviews on trip advisor. The concierge were very good though and recommended somewhere similar that we could get traditional Hungarian cuisine. No-one can say that they can't find something to eat at breakfast, they had everything that you could think of including sparkling wine to accompany your meal! The hotel also carries out behind the scenes tours of the full establishment but not on the days that we were there, we would have loved to see the ballroom etc. All in all thoroughly recommend anyone to stay here and definately would return.

Room Tip: We were on 3rd floor with a window overlooking the atrium. We had no outside noise and the room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
I am truly delighted to know that you had a superb stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Thank you for your nice words about our hotel, staff and services. I will definately pass your kind comments to our Concierge and Doorman. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Amazing Price to quality ratio. We stayed in the appartment and there are huge. The spa is beautiful and very clean. I recommand to buy a massage it is made by great professionals. The Breakfast is quiet expensive but it is worthy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your generous feedback posted on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am glad to note that your stay was great here. Thank you for highlighting our Royal Spa. I do hope that we will have a chance of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

An exceptional hotel in a great location. My boyfriend and I stayed at the Corinthia for two nights in January. The spa in itself is worth staying here. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are spacious, especially the bathrooms. The restaurant located in the hotel called The Rickshaw was fantastic as well. Our only complaint was the staff. We found most of the staff to be rude and unwelcoming. We're not usually ones to complain but we felt they were taking away from our experience at the hotel. The wifi in our room didn't work throughout the majority of our stay as well. When we asked for help they told us we weren't entering the password correctly. It took several hours to get this problem sorted out. All in all in was a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
I highly appreciate your honest feedback. I am glad to note that your stay was great here.I noted that some of our services did not exceed your expectations. Thank you for the useful comments, so we can improve our services.I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future.
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed there 2 nights and everything was excellent: the staff is very attentive and helpful, the all structure is extremely clean and functional. The room was large, well equipped, and I had very good sleep quality, Wifi connection was working well and smooth and the bathroom was wonderful. Breakfast buffet is offering a very wide selection and an excellent quality. The SPA is fantastic, in particular the swimming pool. The hotel is very centrally located, ideal not only for business but also for turism.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am delighted to read that you were satisfied with our hotel. Thank you for mentioning the Royal Spa and the complimentary wifi service. I’m very pleased that you pointed out our location that we are very close to the most important touristic attractions. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon.
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Beautifully re-instated elegance and grandeur, with modern comforts. Make sure to visit their spectacular Ballroom! Spacious bedrooms and bathrooms. Many bedrooms look onto atriums, giving one a sense of never being cut off from the activities taking place in the hotel. Melodic piano notes drifting upwards early one evening added wonderfully to the atmosphere!
Very helpful and pleasant staff, who all speak excellent English.
Great selection of restaurants either in or attached to the hotel. Rickshaws great for Oriental. Bocks is the place for a great steak, and the little cafe beside the hotel, will satisfy anyone with a sweet tooth.
Beautiful spa, but a few "Hello" magazines, would be a useful addition for guests while they wait for their treatment.
Taxis were the only problem, which we encountered during our stay in Budapest. BEWARE, meters do not appear to be officially calibrated! A journal of a few blocks in central Budapest, lasting a few minutes cost € 32!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
I would like to thank you that you have taken the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. I am really pleased to read that you had a great time here. Thank you for highlighting the Grand Ballroom and the Rickshaw Restaurant. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future.
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,330 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Zara Budapest
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Address: Erzsebet krt 43 - 49, Budapest H-1073, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#2 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#3 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#6 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corinthia Hotel Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.