We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at an affordable price.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Save Saved
You added Corinthia Hotel Budapest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erzsebet krt 43 - 49, Budapest H-1073, Hungary (Erzsébetváros)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 331 hotels in Budapest
Dublin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Luxury at an affordable price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Three of us ( a couple and a solo) were attending a major wine fair Vince held in the Corinthia Hotel and decided to stay there as it was very good value. Rooms just over €100 a night plus 18% VAT and 4% local tax ( for room and not per person) . But what lovely rooms, large, beautifully furnished, impeccable spacious marble bathrooms, and although the most economic on the list were superb. I can't imagine what the suites must be like! Most rooms look over the many Atriums. This is indeed a very "Grand Hotel" but with all modern amenities and fresh and delightfully furnished. Decor very much in the Grand Hotel sytle with fabulous ballroom. It also has a multiplicity of restaurant choices. Breakfast offered was expensive at €28 per person although reduced to €19 if booked on arrival. However, we had found a gorgeous coffee shop right next door and connected to the hotel which had a delicious pastry/cake counter, served omelettes etc. and super orange juice and coffees for a fraction of the price and really delightful staff. We got mixed up in the number of noughts in the currency and offered a note which she came back immediately and said "This is too big, way, way too big!" We dined in the Rickshaw within the hotel on the first night which had superb Asian dishes and very reasonable. Excellent wine list too. For lunch next day, we ate next door on the other side of the entrance from the coffee shop at Bock. We chose a few tapas and a salad and even though our charming waiter said we were being far too healthy it was hugely satisfying and the flavours were gorgeous. At the equivalent of €16 each including some wine it was a triumph. We tried to return for dinner and next day for lunch but it was booked up completely. Subsequently, the questionnaire from the hotel included this restaurant so it is obviously a part of the whole complex. We also ate in the Brasserie in the Hotel and also in the other adjoining self-service grill. Both were excellent but not quite as memorable as Rickshaw and Bock. Staff lovely all round.

Just one word of warning. Taxi drivers in Budapest are " Dick Turpins". Never, ever take a taxi on arrival when approached. Always go to the official Taxi Rank. Same applies on the street. They "rook" you. Use hotel or restaurant to call a taxi and ask the local to agree the price before getting in. A trip from the aiport should cost about 75,000 HUF ( forints ) to city centre. i.e €21 or if booked by hotel, €26 as they get commission which is a lot better than being taken for a ride, literally. This also applies at the station where in another visit my exit from the train was blocked by a giant who grabbed my bags and started walking. Not quite as greedy as the airport one but at least he carried my bags a long way on a hot day so I forgave him.
Otherwise, Budapest is a super place to spend a few day, summer or winter. Fabulous buildings, lovely riverside, great restaurants and very friendly people. As for the cakes!!!!! And the wines are pretty good too.

Room Tip: Rooms are mainly facing into various huge atriums and very quiet. Just make sure you get to grips wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
I was delighted to read your generous remarks about our Hotel.Thank you for highlighting our services and the Rickshaw Restaurant. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kindest regards, Thomas M Fischer General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,767 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,943
    623
    131
    53
    17
See reviews for
438
1959
106
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

There is no doubt that the excellent reviews here are well deserved: the location is great, the staff all delightful and the amenities superb and I have still rated five blobs, but..
The room was incredibly hot (I rather suspect that the air conditioning plant was not switched on) but although we complained and heard another guest do so, nothing came of it. We were in an otherwise superb room that looked out on the enclosed atrium, so no alternative ventilation was available. Although staff said they were sorry, I don't believe anything was actually done.
The breakfast buffet is quite magnificent - even the excellent Hungarian champagne is on offer - however we had to wait for a table. This was not because of a lack of space but an apparent shortage of staff to clear tables, when we did get one on two occasions, we were surrounded by uncleared tables . Not very elegant. This can all be fixed and we would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Check the air conditioning works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback. Your comments are valuable for us and highlight the areas where we need to focus on in order to gain an excellent guest experience.
Thank you for taking the time to bring the breakfast service and air conditioning issues to our attention as guest feedback is invaluable to our efforts to continually improve the quality of our services. Please be assured that appropriate action will betaken. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future.
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at the Corinthia Hotel in Budapest in March 2013 and we had a great visit. This is a beautiful, grand hotel in the heart of Budapest. It feels brand new even though the original hotel is about 100 years old. The soaring lobby and big ballroom are reminders of the grand past. But the rooms, restaurants, elevators , etc are brand new. You get the Best of both (old time charm and modern convenience) ! We had a two bedroom APARTMENT and it was GREAT ! We are a family of four adults so we really liked the living space; and the Apartment was cheaper than getting Two rooms. Breakfast was wonderful, concierge was very helpful, staff was great. I have only good things to say about Corinthia hotel !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
I am really pleased to read your review. I am delighted that you were satisfied with our services. I do hope to welcoming you back to one of our Royal Residences very soon.
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Where to start with this hotel, set right in the heart of the Pest side of Budapest with easy access
to this beautiful city.
On arrival we were upgraded to a suite, the rooms were huge. We also had champagne on arrival
as it was my birthday we were celebrating, so many thanks to the hotel for that. We did
have to move rooms due to our room looking onto the main road, which has 24 hour trams running up and down, my wife & I are both quite light sleepers so this may not affect others. The room move was managed superbly by the staff, we just packed our cases and left them in our room for the staff to move, by the time we got back from our day out, it was all done for us!

The city itself is lovely, loads to see & do, and very easy to get around. Loads of cafe's,bars & resturants, most reasonable in price.

We found one bar near the hotel called Presszo 53, it cost under £6 for four drinks!! Happy days.

The hotel spa is wonderfull, steam, sauna, pool etc. Treatments available as well.
We had breakfast included in the price, again it was wonderfull, vast & varied amount of food.

Overall, I could talk all day about the place, would highly recommend a visit to both the hotel &
city.

Room Tip: Light Sleeper request a room away from the road facing side of the hotel. Trams run 24 hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
First of all I would like to thank you that you have honored Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your birthday celebration stay and taking the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to learn from your comments that you highly valued our hotel and the services. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at our Hotel in the not too distant future.
Kindest regards,
Mr. Thomas M. Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Well were do you start?
We have stayed in hotels all over the world and like most people you start off in a basic hotel and later in life you treat yourself to a bit of luxury when you are away on holiday. The Corinthia is just that a lovely piece of luxury, more than justified in it`s 5 * status. We had booked this package holiday with lowcost holidays and got a great deal. I would have been happy with the double bedroom standard room, but opted for the double executive one.
When we arrived we were welcomed by the attentive staff and advised to take the lift to the executive check in floor situated on the next level.

We were warmly greeted by the lady at the check in desk and asked if we would like a glass of champagne/wine or anything else. She proceeded to explain the benefits of the room in which we had booked into. The main benefit being the access to the executive club, which to name but a few meant, complimentary champagne/wine/spirits, beer, coffee/tea etc from 0630 - 2200. The club allowed its members to access the spa,swimming pool, hot tub, sauna etc.

When we had checked in we were show to our room which was on the second floor (2219) and we were pleasantly surprised as it was pretty large, we have shown a couple of photos from our room which overlooks the covered atrium.

We unpacked and decided to have a wander round the hotel to see the interior, it has extremely tasteful decor and beautiful statues/art especially on the staircase as you enter the hotel from the main street.

Our vacation was for 6 days from 1st march and we can honestly say that the staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and your requests were greeted with a smile and not a frown.

We did a little sight seeing in budapest, and would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends as it is absolutely superb in every way and deserve the accolades many people have stated here on tripadvisor.

Well done all

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th_M_Fischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time and leaving us a very positive comment. I am glad to read that you had a really great and memorable stay with us. I do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradea, Romania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at Corinthia for just one night on the 9th March and it was a great experience. We stayed here for my fiance s birthday. I ordered a special birthday cake, everything was arranged perfectly. We also received a complimentary champagne which was really nice. I asked for a quiet room which it was. Very nice rooms, very well kept, clean. The only negative thing is that they had a wine tasting that weekend and the hotel was packed. The Spa is nice but too small for this hotel, especially when they have high occupancy like this week-end. So, unfortunately we couldn t enjoy the Spa. Breakfast is great, many choices. Great location. For dinner we tried Brasserie Royal, which has a very nice ambiance, great service, but we had higher expectations for the food. We had the duck leg and the beef tenderloin. The duck was good, but the beef although I had it medium it was hard to chew on. One in all a great hotel! We do recommend Corinthia!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
I am truly delighted to know that you had a great stay and your fiance had a great birthday at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Thank you for the compliments abour the Brasserie restaurant. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in Budapest soon and you will have the chance to enjoy the Royal Spa facilities as well.
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I don't often leave reviews on tripadvisor but just back from a weekend here and there are simply no areas where I wasn't thoroughly impressed.

The rooms are spacious, all have free wifi access, very high standard bathrooms, with separate shower and bath. It is kept immaculately clean.

The facilities we used were excellent the leisure club has a beautiful 15m pool with saunas, jacuzzis and a steam bath which is a great way to start or end your day, everything again, faultlessly clean.

We had bed and breakfast, the breakfast buffet was ridiculously good, there was someone there making omlettes to order and you could sit inside the brasserie or in a light atrium. The quality of everything was very high, food was tasty, hot and the choice was ample.

All of these things are all praiseworthy but the real asset of the hotel are the staff, the standard of service, from the doorman, to the reception, to the concierge, to the leisure club to even the maids and cleaning staff (all of whom would say good morning as you pass) was absolutely superb. The only regret I have is the next hotel is going to struggle to match this one!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind and positive review. I am really pleased to read that you have a great stay with us. Thank you for highlighting our staff. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon.
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Address: Erzsebet krt 43 - 49, Budapest H-1073, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#3 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#4 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#6 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Booking.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corinthia Hotel Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.