We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Hote;” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Corinthia Hotel Budapest to your Saves list
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erzsebet krt 43 - 49, Budapest H-1073, Hungary (Erzsébetváros)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
oakville, ontario
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“First Class Hote;”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

recently spent 5 nights in Budapes. We loved the Corinthia and highly recommend this hotel.
We choose an executive room which gives you all day access to the executive louge, which is a beautiful, comfortable area. there is free breakfast, all day quality snacks, beer, wine and liquor, very high value and comfort. the staff who serve in this area are fabulous and make you feel like a VIP. Concierge staff are extremly helpful and I must say to special thanks to Andor who is amazing.
The hotel itself is beautiful and the rooms are luxurious, spotless, comfortable and large. Wifi was included and was 100% reliable.
Location is excellent and very central, walking distance to everything and tram and metro are right there. plenty of great restaurants in the area.
On my next trip I will return to the Corinthia and will consider other Corinthia hotels.

Room Tip: a great hotel to vacation in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I am really pleased to read that you had a great stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Many thanks for the kind words about our hotel and staff. Thank you for highlighting our location. I do hope to welcome you back in your next visit to Budapest.
Kindest regards,
Mr. Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,568
    738
    156
    58
    22
See reviews for
559
2,479
134
448
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (733)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bradbury, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Delightful hotel. We stayed in the apartments for several days and found the facilities to be clean, spacious and the staff were very supportive. Great location in a beautiful city. We didn't have the breakfast but ate at the Bock one night and it was great. The service at the bar was excellent. THis hotel was recommended by a Budapest resident.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you that you have honored Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your Budapest stay and taking the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to learn from your comments that you highly valued our staff and services I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at our Hotel in the not too distant future.
Kindest regards,
Mr. Thomas M. Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Beautiful hotel, great public areas, great restaurants. Also the staff are really excellent and very well trained, always attentive but not overly so. We stayed in the adjacent residence for a week which provided extra space but gave full access to all hotel facilities.
I can truthfully say we can not fault this hotel or any of its staff and we will most certainly be returning. And almost forgot the breakfast .... 5 star! Well done Corinthia.

Room Tip: Only stayed in the Residence - 1 bedroom apartment - spacious and quiet and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback received following your recent stay at Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am most pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us. I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I'm surprised to read some of the negative reviews. My wife and I honeymoon'd at the end of July, 2012 at the Corinthia. We love to explore new cities, so we had no problem walking from the hotel to the amazing national gallery, the spas, the river, etc., and when we got too tired, we'd take the inexpensive metro back. Our room window looked into the interior courtyard, but that was fine for us - we were so hot and exhausted when we'd come back from our days out that we were happy to relax in air-conditioned comfort. Sheets and towels were very high quality. Shower was big. Tub was practical. Bathroom and bedroom were very big, TV was small but we didn't care. Location was fun - there were tons of shops and bars and restaurants, but it didn't feel really touristy because it was a couple of kilometers from the tourist center. Spa was very relaxing - huge jacuzzi's that were more about bubble massage than about hot water, pool was clean and refreshing. We tried to eat only at the best restaurants during our stay, and one place we went to 3 times (2x dinner, 1x lunch) is directly next door, called Bock. One time we had room service, which was fine but expensive (super-expensive by Budapest standards). My only negative comment is that the fridge was warm (because it was kept in a small cabinet with no air circulation). We paid less than $150 per night, and it was a tremendous value at that price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I am truly delighted to know that you had a great stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. This kind of reviews give us always a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in Budapest soon.
Kindest regards,
Mr. Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here as part of a tour and we were certainly impressed. Such an amazing foyer area. The rooms were spacios. I was a little concerned as our room appeared to be just off where a few corridors crossed. However, we heard no noises all night.

Our tour director asked if the staff would allow us to view the ballroom, it is truely spectaculae. The hotel is large so it was a far walk to our room. We needed to use the lifts at the back of the hotel and the goyer goes on for a long way.

It is all wonderfully decorated and at night they had little tea lights around the main reception area.

The breakfast was plentiful and lovely. They even had an omlette station which I loved.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are
very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a wonderful time here. Thank you for the nice words about the Grand Ballroom. We are all very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had a 3 night stay here in September 2012, we had a lovely stay and after some discussion with the Manager we managed to sort out a different room and also cocktails which were advertised on the Club menu but were not forthcoming, until we pointed it out to the Manager; who quickley rectified the situation.

The breakfast was amazing, everything from cold cuts to fruit, cereal and a hot buffet. Tea and coffee refills without asking and our every need was attended to. Many thanks for a wonderful stay, and we will be back again soon.

Room Tip: The room's over the Antruim are impressive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you that you have honored Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your Budapest stay and taking the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to learn from your comments that you highly valued our staff and services. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at our Hotel in the not too distant future.
Kindest regards,
Mr. Thomas M. Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Dont trust tripadvisor. I paid over 300 used for a night. The shower did not have a still temperature.
The building is beautyful but is not worth the money. You can go to any top hotel near the river and paid the same or less. Also the bedrooms are not the ones in the pictures. I had the basic room if I did not mention. The mattress was regular and it did not have a flat tv. I am talking price related accommodation. Is not worth it. Even if the building is beatifull. Go and have a coffe
Also tripadvisor should check their review

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your feedback received following your recent stay at Corinthia Hotel Budapest.
I am sorry that the room was not up to your satisfaction and that your shower did not have a still temperature. Normally our heating system provides a good and ambient temperature across the hotel and we apologise if on this occasion this did not work in the room you occupied. We will endeavour to ensure a more consistent level of water temperature in all our bedrooms for the future. I am sorry for this shortcoming.
Thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention as guest feedback is invaluable to our efforts to continually improve the quality of our services. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future.
Best regards
Thomas M Fischer
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Address: Erzsebet krt 43 - 49, Budapest H-1073, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#6 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corinthia Hotel Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.