We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star quality and service at very affordable prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Corinthia Hotel Budapest to your Saves list
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erzsebet krt 43 - 49, Budapest H-1073, Hungary (District VII / Jewish Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Norfolk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“5 star quality and service at very affordable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

As first time visitors to Budapest the Corinthia provided us with exceptional service, incredible rooms and first class amenities. Breakfasts were particularly good and put most UK hotels of a similar standard to shame. It is well located and the staff warm, friendly and knowledgeable.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front can suffer from traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
My sincerest thanks for your review of the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am glad to note that you have found our services exceptional. I look forward to the opportunity of serving you during your next visit to Budapest!
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,823
    795
    167
    62
    22
See reviews for
606
2,662
142
484
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (792)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in an executive room from September 27-30th. We found the hotel and room stunning. We also enjoyed the executive club and took full advantage of the complimentary services. The check-in staff were friendly and efficient and any staff that we encountered during our stay were always happy to help us. The spa facilities were first rate and not crowded. My only minor complaint was the bed in our room. We have stayed at the London Corinthia and the beds there were very comfortable and gave you that feeling of sinking into luxury. The mattress in our room by contrast was thin and not comfortable. In fairness when I mentioned this to the front desk they offered to provide a “topper” to the mattress which amounted to putting another thin mattress on top of the existing one which made it more comfortable but still was not luxurious. Most 5 star hotels where we have stayed have feather beds on top of the mattress giving that lovely soft luxurious feeling. We recommend that Corinthia Budapest invest in making their beds more comfortable as this is critical to having a good night’s sleep. Otherwise it was hard to fault the hotel on any other aspect.

Room Tip: Ask for a topper for your mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for your honest comment. I’m very pleased that you were satisfied with our staff and services. Thank you for your constructive feedback about our matressess. Currently we are in refurbishing and we change all the Queen beds to King size beds. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon.
Kindest regards,
Mr. Thomas M. Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Very nice hotel with an excellent concierge staff that made some wonderful recommendations. The location is not perfect but they do a fantastic job with their service levels to compensate. Their executive level lounge is excellent. The food choices are first rate and plentiful. Try o stay on a high floor on the back side of the hotel. The spa and pool are very nice. This is a great property.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback posted on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I appreciate that you highlighted our level of service. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Kindest regards,
Mr. Thomas M. Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
Level Contributor
158 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Loved this place. Friendly. Good service. Near major tram and metro lines. Spa was an added bonus. We spent 3 days and were very pleased. (We did not have breakfast or meals in the hotel as we wanted to try the local cuisine).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
I am truly delighted to know that you were satisfied with our hotel services. Thank you for the kind words. This kind of reviews give us always a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in Budapest soon.
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California, USA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a grand hotel, with a lovely layout and situation. The rooms are very comfortable and nicely appointed. The executive lounge is really a delight. It's a great place to relax, have a coffee or snack, go on line, have wine and refreshments in the afternoon. The hotel is well located to go to shops and sightseeing. Thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Suggest getting the executive package to have access to the executive lounge on the mezzanine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you that you have honored Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your Budapest stay and taking the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to learn from your comments that you highly valued our staff and services I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at our Hotel in the not too distant future.
Kindest regards,
Mr. Thomas M. Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

It is rare to find a hotel where all the staff are so friendly and courteous. The hotel looks grand from the outside and even grander inside. Rooms are large and comfortable. The spa is stunning, making it difficult to leave the hotel!
The executive lounge is a bonus, chance te relax, have a drink and in the morning eat breakfast.
Centre of Budapest is walk able but metro is also close by.
If you want to eat in the Bock bistro then book ahead, nearly always full. Worth ringing a few days before arrival to reserve a table

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
I was delighted to read your generous review about our hotel. Thank you for highlighting our location and the Executive Club services. I look forward to the opportunity of serving you during your next visit to Budapest!
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights for my wife's 30th birthday. The hotel is very impressive and very grand.
The food served at breakfast was excellent and so much choice would definitely set you up for the day. the executive lounge was also an added benefit for guests staying in executive rooms with excellent snacks and drinks on offer, very generous as this is included in your rate - so worth paying that little bit more. Reception and concierge and especially krystina in the executive check in lounge were excellent with great knowledge of activities and events going on in the city. Would we go back - most definitely.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
I am really pleased to read that you had a great stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Many thanks for the kind words about our hotel and staff. I will pass your comments to Krisztina. I do hope to welcome you back in your next visit to Budapest.
Kindest regards,
Mr. Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,333 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Zara Budapest
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Address: Erzsebet krt 43 - 49, Budapest H-1073, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#2 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#3 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#6 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corinthia Hotel Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.