We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for sighseeing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pension Helios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pension Helios to your Saves list
Hotel Pension Helios
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Liderc utca 5/a, Budapest 1121, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
GREAT VALUE, GOOD PRICE
Ranked #42 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal for sighseeing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

A cosy home from home atmosphere. I found it very easy getting to and from the city (and I am in receipt of a pension!). I went for a studio room and it was very large and warm. It was room 1A. Even was able to watch BBC World while sitting in bed having my cup of tea I'd made at the kitchenette. Personally I think Helios would be suitable any time of year. Receptionists speak good English and are very helpful. I wanted to visit a proper "local" market and George told me which one was best. And he was right. At peak time there are seven or eight buses an hour into Budapest. Last one back though is before midnight. By the way EU citizens over 65 get free travel on all public transport throughout Hungary. Filling breakfasts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    85
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
77
83
32
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed 4 nights and where very satisfied with the rooms and service. The first room we were shown into was small and the shower had to be held by hand, so we asked for a change. For a small addition to the booked room fee we then got Appartments 3 & 4, which left nothing to desire. Large, new bathroom, good bed, kitchenette and fridge in the room. W-Lan was working in the room and breakfast at €6 was good. Secure parking and very helpful staff.

Room Tip: make sure you get the appartments at €33 respectively 42.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Friendly staff who will always give good advice in English (and other languages). Great breakfast (€6). Clean, well serviced rooms. Large garden with sheltered seating. Frequent bus service to town (day, two day and week tickets a very good idea). Baroskos, the nearby recommended small restaurant, offers real Hungarian food and good prices. All in all, a very happy stay.

Don't hesitate - book it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seeheim-Jugenheim, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel/guesthouse is situated in a quiet area of Budapest. It takes about 20 minutes by bus to the centre of the city. Bus tickets are available through the reception and the bus stop is a short walk away. The rooms were spacious and clean, and ours were also equipped with a small kitchen, sufficient for simple meals. Our rooms also had access to a huge terrace. The grounds include a childrens play area which would be nice if you were travelling with small children. The reception staff were all extremely helpful, and multilingual as well. They gave us many suggestions of how to make our too short stay in Budapest the best we could. There is breakfast available, but we chose to make our own. There is a small convenience store a short walk away and a nice restaurant, recommended by the staff, 10 minutes walk away. We were able to leave our car in the free parking in the courtyard for the whole time we were there. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The guesthouse is situated in a villa area, very quiet. Beautiful location on the hill, courtyard, mountain atmosphere with trees, patio, pond, fresh air. Attentive staff, very helpful, the willingness to provide details about the city, connoisseurs of English and German. Rooms are very clean and spacious but can offer privacy, great view over the city.
Accessibility to the bus station, 15 min to the center ring of the city, tickets to the reception house.
Car parking is provided in the courtyard. In conclusion, excellent service at reasonable prices.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Very quiet area, beautiful garden, excellent service, private parking space. At the reception you can buy bus tickets, sightseeing tours, etc. Best money can buy if you want a quiet holiday in Budapest.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romania
Level Contributor
242 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This place is located in the outskirts of Budapest, but the neighborhood is one of the best in town! Not very easy to reach the city center from here, but public transportation is within walking distance. This is a big house, quite new and very friendly. There is parking, a large garden, breakfast and free wi-fi. The staff is helpful and polite, and the area is great for relaxation, away from the noise of downtown Budapest. We had a large room, overlooking the hills around Budapest, with all the amenities you can expect in its class. Extremely quiet neighborhood, and a feeling of upscale living!

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before accepting it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Pension Helios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Helios

Address: Liderc utca 5/a, Budapest 1121, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#24 Family Hotel in Budapest
#42 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#66 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension Helios 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-run hotel in Budapest. Located in a green area of the City only 15 min. by local night and day bus from the City center. Helios Hotel Pension offers in Budapest newly furnished room studios and apartment.We offer free Internet access, enclosed parking place and hungarian buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Pension Helios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helios Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pension Helios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.