We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest

Save Saved
You added Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Izabella u 61, Budapest 1064, Hungary (Terézváros)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 331 hotels in Budapest
Kiev, Ukraine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great room and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The bohemian-like style of the hotel gets you in a very nice mood. The room was fantastic, very big, including kitchen, living room, extra bedroom and extra bathroom. The location of the hotel is very convenient to get to the center and to the main sight seeings. Value for money indeed! Staff was very helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Definitely suite which is value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMResidenceManager, Residence Manager at Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, “Dinopap”,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay in Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest.
We are very grateful for all the feedback that we receive from our guests and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Beatrix Marlyin – Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    343
    81
    13
    0
    3
See reviews for
105
160
37
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntly, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We booked to stay for five nights because we were visiting Budapest with our one year old. We thought an apartment would provide more space for him to play and also meant we could relax on an evening whilst he slept. We were extremely happy that we made this decision and stayed here. We'd read the previous reviews and felt happy after we'd booked and were not let down upon arrival. The room was spotlessly cleaned and rubbish removed daily (relieved as nappies!) The beds comfy and rooms airy and spacious. Yes I can admit a tad dated and bland decor but so what the location was ideal, no noise so great sleep and we had what we wanted a relaxing stay. Couldn't fault the staff as they were helpful, professional and polite. Supermarkets a short walk away and corner shop handy too to stock up. There is an option to have breakfast downstairs we didn't choose this but did have room service dinner first night delicious Italian food. For an apartment having facilities such as 24hrs front desk, breakfast room, room service, gym you couldn't really ask for more. Only complaint (mild one) about the facilities was the high chairs need replacing for safe ones as no straps on the only two they had! Also airport transfer wasn't waiting when we arrived but not the hotels fault.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMResidenceManager, Residence Manager at Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, “GigglingGirl”
Thank you very much for your lovely review! We are all very pleased that your first stay with us was so pleasurable and satisfying.
It is so heartwarming when guests can say that the staff was helpful, professional and polite, couldn't ask for more really and it is indeed humbling.
I was sorry to hear about your problem with the highchairs, we always try to improve our services.
Many thanks for your review on Tripadvisor.com and thank you for highly recommending us.
We hope you return to stay with us again in the future!
Kind regards,
Beatrix Marlyin – Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed here with my partner for a week in December 2012. We picked the hotel based on the great reviews and on the fact it combined the conveniences of a hotel with the independence of your own apartment and we were not disappointed. The hotel was quiet and beautifully furnished and we were so pleased when we walked into the apartment. It had an open plan living/dining/kitchen area with 2 sofas and a 6 seat dining table. The bathroom (complete with separate bath and shower cubicle) could be accessed both via the main living area and via the bedroom, which was very well appointed with lots of storage space. The apartment felt very light and fresh with large windows to look out on the city.

I liked the location of the hotel as there were lots of nice restaurants in the Andrassy area. Budapest is quite compact so you could actually walk to a lot of places you wanted to visit but if you get a handle on the Metro system you can get everywhere in the city with ease. We liked that we were close to the Terror Haz museum as this was one of the main things we wanted to visit: very thought provoking and I learnt a lot about Hungarian history.

The service in the hotel was excellent - in fact we prebooked airport transfers through the hotel prior to our arrival which was a really useful service (its also more necessary than in most cities as all guide books advise strongly against hailing a taxi on the street as you are likely to be ripped off - one of the few downsides of Budapest). We were greeted with a handwritten letter in our apartment which made out stay feel special, and the staff were friendly and happy to help.

One thing to mention about the hotel is that you don't get full maid service every day, just a basic tidy and rubbish removal each day with full maid service once a week. We were happy with this but just something to bear in mind.

I would advise comparing the price of this hotel on a few different websites as we found the price did vary (we eventually went through booking.com and paid around £25 each per night which was good value for the standard of the hotel).

By the end of the week we felt like we were leaving a home rather than a hotel when we had to pack up which I think speaks volumes. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMResidenceManager, Residence Manager at Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, “S R”
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we appreciate it very much!
Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest strives to create a home from home ambience and we are pleased you find us warm and welcoming.
It is our pleasure that you found our hotel a very good value for money, and you could enjoy the benefits of your spacious and fully equipped suite.
Yes we are in a very good location, with a beautiful 20-minutes walk through Andrássy Avenue to the city centre and as you say very good restaurants within walking distance.
We are all very pleased and happy to find that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay with us in Budapest.
We would be happy if you chose us next time as well, so we are looking forward to welcoming you back!
Best regards,
Beatrix Marlyin – Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Loved this place. Huge well furnished apartment with two bedrooms. Perfect for family or two couples sharing. Metro station is just round the corner with direct line downtown or to the Szechenyi Baths. Good restaurant, Haxen Kiraly, a couple of blocks away (best to book). Fantastic friendly and efficient service in reception. Will definitely be coming back. Tip: buy tickets for Szechenyi Baths at the hotel - doesn't cost any extra and you get good service and English speaking personal at the special reception in the baths.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMResidenceManager, Residence Manager at Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest “dyoll”,

First of all thank you for taking your time to write this wonderful review on Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you were satisfied with the work and recommendations of our receptionists. A great deal of care is given to the comfort of our guests, like the locally sold tickets for the baths, cultural programs and city tours.
We hope, you had a safe journey back home and have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Best regards,
Beatrix Marlyin – Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel for the last weekend of 2012 and it couldn't been any better. It is located 2minutes from the Vorsomarty metro station, really close to all main attractions, just 2 metro stops away from the oldest baths, very descent area. The apartment they offered us is really large, with separete bedroom, bath, toilet, kitchen and living room and dinning area. It is perfectly equipped: coffee machine, kettle, toaster, microwave, iron, anything you need. It' really cool, as you can have your breakfast in the room and the groscery shops are just within walking distance. The staff is Very friendly and helpful. I will recommend this hotel to all my friends!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMResidenceManager, Residence Manager at Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest “645Eve”,
Thank you very much for staying in our Residence Izabella for your recent stay in Budapest. We do appreciate your complimentary and detailed feedback about your experiences during your stay with us.
We very much appreciate your compliments on our team and we are looking forward to welcoming you back any time with your friends as well.
Best regards,
Beatrix Marlyin – Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This place was perfect for the two of us. We prefer to walk as much as we can on a city break (my dodgy joints permitting), so we had no issues with location as mentioned by some reviewers. It's about 20 minutes gentle stroll to the Chain Bridge, 15 - 20 mins to Heroes Park and Szechenyi Baths, about 5 - 7 mins to the Opera (well worth a tour even if you don't see a performance) and 2 mins from the Museum of Terror, which is a must-visit.

There are plenty of restaurants within easy reach, including those on Liszt Ferenc Ter which are clearly touristy but very welcoming and just fine.

The hotel itself was just right for our needs. The staff were friendly and very helpful at all times and didn't seem to mind me snoring in reception as we waited for our transfer back to the airport. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the kitchen area providing everything you need provided you're not planning on throwing a dinner party during your stay. So you can buy stuff for breakfast from the shop around the corner (left out of the hotel and left again at Andrassy for a block or two) rather than buy from the hotel or a cafe.

But it all depends on what you need from a hotel in the end. This is not a 5 star luxury palace and neither is it pretending to be. But it's comfortable, clean, roomy and welcoming and everything in the room works just fine. We would recommend this hotel to anybody and would definitely stay here again. Great value for money too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMResidenceManager, Residence Manager at Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest “lunchiebunsworth”,
Thank you for your generous feedback about Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest posted on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your kind remarks regarding the location and the surroundings. I am glad to read that the proximity of the main sights made it easier to explore our historical city.
I am always proud to read that our helpful and knowledgeable front desk staff could make your stay in Budapest easier and more enjoyable.
I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon.
Warm regards,
Beatrix Marlyin – Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I live in Budapest (on the same street as the Mamaison Residence Izabella, in fact). My husband and I were doing some home renovations and realised that we couldn't stay at home. So we booked online and trooped over with some possessions to stay the night. Despite probably looking very dusty and suspect, we were warmly welcomed. We checked in again the next night and then checked in a third time for two nights (renovate in old crumbly Budapest buildings at your peril!).
At the third check in, the lovely Orsolya upgraded our room, which was very kind and much appreciated.

In terms of location, this is a great spot (not that I'm biased). If you get a travel pass, you can use the trams, buses, metros and even a few boats! Budapest is a pretty small city in terms of getting around and taxis are cheap (relatively speaking).

Room Tip: Room 6 is quiet - it's on the ground floor and faces into the courtyard. It's also close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMResidenceManager, Residence Manager at Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest “Emer T”,
First of all I hope the renovation procedure is over by now and you are enjoying your renewed apartment in our neighborhood. Reading your kind words about our Residence Izabella I am very glad that we could be at your service in need and make your stay here as pleasant as possible under the given circumstances.
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your nice comment on Tripadvisor.com and please, contact us if we can be at your command any time in the future.
Kindest regards,
Beatrix Marlyin – Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest

Address: Izabella u 61, Budapest 1064, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Budapest
#10 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#14 Family Hotel in Budapest
#15 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation or business, you have found the perfect choice. Why would you stay in a small room if you can stay in a spacious suite (45m2 to 97 m2) in an unbeatable central location? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest Hotel Budapest
Mamaison Residence Izabella Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.