We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for family with children” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest to your Saves list
Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Izabella u 61, Budapest 1064, Hungary (Terézváros)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Oslo
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great for family with children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Loved this place. Huge well furnished apartment with two bedrooms. Perfect for family or two couples sharing. Metro station is just round the corner with direct line downtown or to the Szechenyi Baths. Good restaurant, Haxen Kiraly, a couple of blocks away (best to book). Fantastic friendly and efficient service in reception. Will definitely be coming back. Tip: buy tickets for Szechenyi Baths at the hotel - doesn't cost any extra and you get good service and English speaking personal at the special reception in the baths.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMResidenceManager, Residence Manager at Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest “dyoll”,

First of all thank you for taking your time to write this wonderful review on Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you were satisfied with the work and recommendations of our receptionists. A great deal of care is given to the comfort of our guests, like the locally sold tickets for the baths, cultural programs and city tours.
We hope, you had a safe journey back home and have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Best regards,
Beatrix Marlyin – Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    108
    17
    0
    3
See reviews for
117
189
40
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel for the last weekend of 2012 and it couldn't been any better. It is located 2minutes from the Vorsomarty metro station, really close to all main attractions, just 2 metro stops away from the oldest baths, very descent area. The apartment they offered us is really large, with separete bedroom, bath, toilet, kitchen and living room and dinning area. It is perfectly equipped: coffee machine, kettle, toaster, microwave, iron, anything you need. It' really cool, as you can have your breakfast in the room and the groscery shops are just within walking distance. The staff is Very friendly and helpful. I will recommend this hotel to all my friends!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMResidenceManager, Residence Manager at Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest “645Eve”,
Thank you very much for staying in our Residence Izabella for your recent stay in Budapest. We do appreciate your complimentary and detailed feedback about your experiences during your stay with us.
We very much appreciate your compliments on our team and we are looking forward to welcoming you back any time with your friends as well.
Best regards,
Beatrix Marlyin – Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This place was perfect for the two of us. We prefer to walk as much as we can on a city break (my dodgy joints permitting), so we had no issues with location as mentioned by some reviewers. It's about 20 minutes gentle stroll to the Chain Bridge, 15 - 20 mins to Heroes Park and Szechenyi Baths, about 5 - 7 mins to the Opera (well worth a tour even if you don't see a performance) and 2 mins from the Museum of Terror, which is a must-visit.

There are plenty of restaurants within easy reach, including those on Liszt Ferenc Ter which are clearly touristy but very welcoming and just fine.

The hotel itself was just right for our needs. The staff were friendly and very helpful at all times and didn't seem to mind me snoring in reception as we waited for our transfer back to the airport. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the kitchen area providing everything you need provided you're not planning on throwing a dinner party during your stay. So you can buy stuff for breakfast from the shop around the corner (left out of the hotel and left again at Andrassy for a block or two) rather than buy from the hotel or a cafe.

But it all depends on what you need from a hotel in the end. This is not a 5 star luxury palace and neither is it pretending to be. But it's comfortable, clean, roomy and welcoming and everything in the room works just fine. We would recommend this hotel to anybody and would definitely stay here again. Great value for money too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMResidenceManager, Residence Manager at Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest “lunchiebunsworth”,
Thank you for your generous feedback about Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest posted on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your kind remarks regarding the location and the surroundings. I am glad to read that the proximity of the main sights made it easier to explore our historical city.
I am always proud to read that our helpful and knowledgeable front desk staff could make your stay in Budapest easier and more enjoyable.
I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon.
Warm regards,
Beatrix Marlyin – Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I live in Budapest (on the same street as the Mamaison Residence Izabella, in fact). My husband and I were doing some home renovations and realised that we couldn't stay at home. So we booked online and trooped over with some possessions to stay the night. Despite probably looking very dusty and suspect, we were warmly welcomed. We checked in again the next night and then checked in a third time for two nights (renovate in old crumbly Budapest buildings at your peril!).
At the third check in, the lovely Orsolya upgraded our room, which was very kind and much appreciated.

In terms of location, this is a great spot (not that I'm biased). If you get a travel pass, you can use the trams, buses, metros and even a few boats! Budapest is a pretty small city in terms of getting around and taxis are cheap (relatively speaking).

Room Tip: Room 6 is quiet - it's on the ground floor and faces into the courtyard. It's also close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMResidenceManager, Residence Manager at Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest “Emer T”,
First of all I hope the renovation procedure is over by now and you are enjoying your renewed apartment in our neighborhood. Reading your kind words about our Residence Izabella I am very glad that we could be at your service in need and make your stay here as pleasant as possible under the given circumstances.
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your nice comment on Tripadvisor.com and please, contact us if we can be at your command any time in the future.
Kindest regards,
Beatrix Marlyin – Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a hotel with apartment style residences. I thought it was really good for the price, but I guess I tend to like things to be a notch above this in terms of luxury. The bathroom was basic, and a tad musty. The bed was fine but not super comfortable. The locations wasn't bad, but it also wasn't right there next to all the attractions. I think if you are trying to save money, it is an excellent choice. If you don't care about the finances as much, I would suggest something a little closer to the main attractions.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMResidenceManager, Residence Manager at Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest “Dragonlady15”,
Thank you for choosing our Mamaison Residence Izabella for your visit in Budapest.
Your comments are appreciated and I would like to assure you that we will continue working on to improve our services.
As you highlighted our Residence Izabella is located in the business area along the Andrássy Avenue, which is at the perimeter of the touristic attractions within an authentic and quieter part of Budapest.
I hope we will have the chance to accommodate you again in the future.
Best regards,
Beatrix Marlyin – Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here for 4 days this month and found it to be a lovely warm and friendly hotel. The rooms were extremely clean and spacious, ours had a fully fitted kitchen, a living area and a seperate bedroom. The staff were very friendly and helpful (as are all the people of Budapest) and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMResidenceManager, Residence Manager at Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest “Jameseygirl”,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your nice comments on Tripadvisor.com following your stay in Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest. We are very glad to read positive remarks concerning the spacious suite and the helpful hotel staff. I will certainly forward your nice words to my colleagues.

We would be very glad to welcome you back any time.

Best regards,

Beatrix Marlyin – Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had a 1-bedroom apartment, with kitchen, living/dining room. Apartment was very large, overlooked courtyard. Quiet. Non-smoking. Breakfast was excellent - eggs, bacon or sausage (different each day), pastry, cereal, sliced ham, cheese, yogurt, coffee, juices. Always plenty of food. Breakfast area is small, but we always found a table. Staff were extremely nice and helpful. There was a computer for use free in the lobby (WiFi was pretty slow). Use of laundry facilities (washers & driers) were free.
Very convenient - one block from M1 subway stop, tram to Keleti/East train station right at hotel door, lots of inexpensive/moderate-priced restaurants within walking distance. Could walk just about everywhere in the old Pest town.
We would definitely stay here again, and will now look for other Residence hotels in our travels.

Room Tip: Street is not noisy, so it shouldn't matter. Might be more noisy in summer with more tram traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMResidenceManager, Residence Manager at Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest “metaligenics”,

I would like to thank you for choosing our Mamaison Residence Izabella for your city break in Budapest. Special thanks on behalf of our entire team for this kind review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted that you truly enjoyed your stay and particularly our central location made it easier to explore the city. I really appreciate your kind words on our friendly and helpful staff and various buffet breakfast offers and I am very much pleased that you discovered the experience of a residence hotel with us.

Please feel free to contact me directly should your travel plans bring you back to Budapest in the future!

With kind regards,
Beatrix Marlyin – Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest

Address: Izabella u 61, Budapest 1064, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Budapest
#19 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#21 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#24 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation or business, you have found the perfect choice. Why would you stay in a small room if you can stay in a spacious suite (45m2 to 97 m2) in an unbeatable central location? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest Hotel Budapest
Mamaison Residence Izabella Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.