We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, BUT” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Danubius Hotel Gellert

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Danubius Hotel Gellert to your Saves list
Danubius Hotel Gellert
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Szent Gellert Ter 1, Budapest 1111, Hungary   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Rome, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice hotel, BUT”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Nice hotel with awesome spa. We had a nice room looking the river. However, for this class of hotel I can not stand the lack of free internet in the rooms. Especially because free internet was available in the entrance hall, BUT the area was mostly out of use because of different activities including a summer noisy advertise for the Balaton lake. As a consequence, the customers were penalized and was virtually impossible to use internet. Even the restaurant was closed to hotel customers 2 out of 4 nights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear valued guest,
Firs of all we would like to thank you that you have chosen to stay in our Danubius hotel GELLÉRT, and for taking the time to post a comment on TripAdvisor website. We apreciate feedback that you "had a nice room overlooking the river " Yes indeed free internet is available in our ground floor area and in the mezzanine floor area only, and it is available only against charge in the rooms./management decision /
We do have a first class restaurant,this was really closed for a privately organized "Gala Dinner", on Saturday,but we do as well have a Brasseri-restaurant that was availabele during the Balaton festival for hotel guests.
We do thank you once again for your feedback.
Sincerely
Mihaly Vasony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    507
    230
    117
    62
See reviews for
155
434
191
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed here for two nights, and was rather disappointed. And I am not one to expect high standards, but the hotel promotes itself as though it is a great hotel, and truly it is not. The area is lovely, and it really looks great on the outside, however the rooms are shabby and old. The bathroom can not possibly have been refurbished since the seventies. The breakfast was nice, and the spa is large and nice, but the staff were very serious and not very helpful at all. I will not stay here again, because I know I can stay in another hotel for much less money, and not expect it to be great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our hotel and thank you for your time and review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your remarks like "the area is lovely and it really lookes great on the outside " ,the breakfast was nice and the spa is large and nice "
We are sorry to understand that " the staff in the bath was not very helpful at all "
For your kind information since 1948 the Gellért bath is a different company,under different management...sorry for the staff...
"rooms shabby and old " yes, ,the owners and the management has already prepared the refurbishment plans of the hotel,however due to the global crisis at present we do not have the information when the necessary renovation will start.
We do hope that after this renovation we will be able to welcome you again with a brand new room in the Danubius hotel GELLÉRT!

best regards
Mihály Vásony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights as I was attending a conference at Corvinus Uni just across the bridge. The hotel rooms are old & faded & if you want fancy toiletries this is not the place for you. Breakfast was OK but not great. But the view from the breakfast room is wonderful. The staff are helpful & courteous & the place is very solidly built. That means you don't get street noise or conversations from your neighbors through the walls. My room had a huge balcony just perfect for the sunny weather. A stay also includes 1 free entrance to the Gellert baths. When I visited the large outdoor pool was closed but the baths are well worth a visit anyway. Wifi is expensive but despite that I'd stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear valued Guest,
Many thanks for your positive words on our hotel,and for your short comments on TripAdvisor website.We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our Danubius GELLÉRT hotel.Also many thanks for your praise on our location,staff attentiveness "the staff are helpful and courteous "...the view from the breakfastroom is wonderful "
We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the GELLÉRT,and would like to assure you of our best personal attention.

best regards
Mihaly Vasony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Shabby room, rather overpriced, certainly not 4 stars. But the worst was a weekend convention with all public spaces full of drinking and partying locals. The lobby turned into a vulgar and extremely noisy discotheque, the first floor into a village fare. Complete disrespect to paying hotel guests.
Adjacent baths spectacular!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. We were not at all happy to read your following comments " Shabby room,rather overpriced,certaily not 4 stars." For your kind information : the owners and the management has already prepared the refurbishment plans of the hotel,however due to the global crisis at present we do not have the information when the renovation necessary will take place.
We have regretly noticed the inconveniences caused " by a weekend convention -actually a winefestival- and a village fare -the Gellért management will reconsider if anything like that should be organized in the Gellért.We truly apologize for this unpleasant experience.

Best regards,
Mihaly Vasony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

As me & my wife have travelled to Budapest we decided to stay at Gellert Hotel becouse of it's well known reputation as a unique thermal spa and lot of history
We found out a real historical place which survived the WWII, the soviet style comunism era but got loked in eighties
If you want to have a vintage exerience and taste how is run a magnificent property get a room and have a citybreak at this hotel. There is a gem of vintage !
The room we have had was huge in dimmensions but very bad in sound proof even that we where located on the third floor. The design is very much '80's and outdated but as my wife put it " with a certain flavor and chich as is so outdated" end of qut.
The moment you enter the building you have the austro-hungarian design and atmosphere in the loby and in the first flor breakfast restaurant. The furniture the huge winows and high celling!
But when you live that and get to the room, you get outdated and quite poor facilityes you have paid, and not cheap! Tiny TV, no cafee/ tea cattell, not normal toilet paper, but something from comunist era, no in room safebox, no variety on tv channells, no free wii-fi and no sound proof
And we did not want to pay for wiew side room as we where aware about the harsh soundproof as the trafic runs out side on the streets
But on the inside part of the hotel it is busty if ther is a reunion or whatsoever in one of the hotel restaurant. And we have had such event during our sty and have music dj up to 3 o'clock in the morning!
The breakfast was good and the staff try to help but the cafee was so tasteless....
The concierge was very profesional and helpfull as we wanted to go to see "Tosca"at the Opera Hose and he got us tikets. And that made us the week end
Bottom line :
a gem but with such a high level of rust on it, that make someone to ask how come this is not a maistake?
I think that the answer must be looking at the maginficent Magnolya tree in front of the hotel
But this must be in spring onlly

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our hotel. Thank you for your time and review on TripAdvisor website.We are pleased to learn you wer impressed with our location,with the "vintage-wine tastig party with DJ." And we also regretly notice the inconvenience caused by the traffic and the lack of soundproof windows.
We do appreciate your kind feedback like "the breakfast was good and the staff tried to help...the concierge was very professional and helpful " - thank you!
We have red with soorrow your remarks concerning the present state of the room,we do have some renovated rooms /renovated in 2000 /and we would be delihted to assign one of those upon your next visit ,should you be willing to give us a second chance.

Sincerely yours
Mihaly Vasony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is an old and fahsionable hotel in the heart of Budapest. Rooms are old fashioned, an of less standard than modern hotels, still the hotel is worth a visit unless you are mostly interested in TV channels and minibars. And it is connected to the nicest of old Spas that you could possibly ever imagine, with several pools (indoors and outdoors), saunas, hot vaths, etc - absolutely excellent and worth a visit in their own right.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you that you have chosen to stay in our Danubius Hotel GELLÉRT, and for taking the time to share your comments about it on TripAdvisor.Your opinion on our hotel and on our services is of utmost importance.It was a pleasure to leatn from your comments that you had an overall positive impression of our "old fashioned" hotel, and we appreciate your feedback like " it is connected to the nicest of old Spas that you could possibly ever imagine...with several pools /indoors and outdoors/ "...etc
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel GELLÉRT in the near future.
best regards,


Mihaly Vasony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Booked to stay here on package deal through Expedia for business after having previously visited for Sunday Brunch (which was very good) and to visit as possible event venue.

Having been in negotiations regarding an event, I emailed before hand advising of mine a 2 colleagues stay. When we were shown to our rooms all I can say is that they didn't even rate 1 star. They were very tired, out dated, and felt grubby. The door to my room had obviously been broken into and some point and had been "carefully" repaired with wood filler.

We asked for our rooms to be changed to be told what did we expect for booking such a cheap deal and there was no possibility of changing rooms. Luckily we were able to source rooms at another venue (who in turn did end up the booking for our event). When we checked out 4 days earlier than booked the hotel staff didn' t blink and eye or make any comment apart from making sure we knew we would be charged for 2 night minimum - can only presume its something they're used too.

Its such a shame that this hotel hasn't been given the attention to detail it deserves and needs. It is in an amazing location with stunning views but as the saying goes it's all mouth and no trousers

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay in the Danubius Hotel GELLÉRT,on TripAdvisor website.Yes -it is true, as you put it "that some of our rooms are very tired...and outdated "
As an "oldtimer" in the Gellért I am personally very sorry for the unprofessional behaviour of our receptionist-there is always a way to offer another room. It is a pity we did not meet, I know a lot about the faults of our rooms, and so far I have always managed to find a proper one... For your kind information: the owners and the management have long ago prepared the plans for refurbishing the Gellért,however due to the global crisies at present we do not have the proper information when the renovation necessary will start.
We do sincerely hope to welcome you again on a future occasion, with a very nice room in the newly rebuilt GELLÉRT hotel very soon.

Sincerely yours,

Mihaly Vasony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Danubius Hotel Gellert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Gellert

Address: Szent Gellert Ter 1, Budapest 1111, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#60 Family Hotel in Budapest
#67 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#86 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Gellert 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored Grand Hotel of neo-classical design, situated beside the Danube, at the foot of Gellert Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Danubius Hotel Gellert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Hotel Budapest
Hotel Gellert Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danubius Hotel Gellert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.