We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful spa break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Danubius Hotel Gellert

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Danubius Hotel Gellert to your Saves list
Danubius Hotel Gellert
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Szent Gellert Ter 1, Budapest 1111, Hungary   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save HUF4,500 on select meals
Ranked #100 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful spa break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

First time in Budapest and not sure what to expect. We had fabulous adjoining rooms with a great view of the Danube. The hotel is in a great location. We had several of the spa activities - manicure, pedicure, massages - all of which were very reasonably priced. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
May we thank you for taking your time for a short but very positive comment on TripAdvisor website,about your recent stay in our Danubius Gellért hotel. We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our hotel.It was a pleasure to learn from your comments that you had a positive impression of the hotel "we had fabulous adjoining rooms with a great view of the Danube"..the hotel is in a great location..
It was a pleasure for us to read "we had several of the spa activities...all of which were very reasonably priced. One more quotation from you "would love to go back ",yes we hope to have the possibility to welcome you back in our HOTEL GELLÉRT!

Yours faithfully,


Mihaly Vasony
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    766
    307
    144
    71
See reviews for
250
643
267
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delft, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is loaded with character! It is an attraction by itself. Especially at night it looks awesome. The art deco interior is awesome. Be sure to visit the thermal baths! The staff is polite and helpful, the breakfast is good and the rooms are quiet. Be sure to book a room with a view so you can look at the Liberty Bridge and the Danube river. Many attractions are within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Maybe my expectations were too high, but I really was underwhelmed by this hotel. The carpets were soooo dirty, the bed was for a tiny person, and everything looked on the shabby side. But the money they didn't spend fixing up the place must be going to the food, because we had an amazing breakfast buffet, excellent pastry in the coffee shop, and an excellent dinner with gypsy music. The lunch place was so-so, however. If it weren't for the breakfast and dinner, I would have given this place a 2. It is very expensive for the experience that you get. The view was nice, out the front, with the Danube and the bridge.

Room Tip: If you are taller than 5'3" make sure to ask about the bed size, or your feet will hang off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback on your recent stay in the Danubius hotel GELLÉRT on TripAdvisor website.We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our hotel.I am pleased that generally you had a good experience and a pleasant sty with us. We do appreciate your remarks like "we had an amazing breakfast buffet,excellent pastry in th cofee shop,and an excellent dinner with gipsy music...the view was nice,out the front,with the Danube and the bridge " I was sorry to read your comments on the room. Yes we are an old hotel with old rooms, opened in 1918 and rebuilt in 1960. The owners and the management has already prepared the refurbishment plans of the hotel,however due to the global crisis on the Real Estate market at present we do not have the information when the renovation necessary will take place...Despite of this we do sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at our GELLÉRT hotel,in a refurbished room-we do have some...

Sincerely yours,

Mihaly Vasony
Duty Manager
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We booked the hotel for a weekend after reading the reviews in tripadvisor. It is a spectacular old building comprising not only the hotel but also the bathing house. The rooms and furnture are far from brand new, and the hotell is somewhat worn down, as stated in many of the reviews. We did however enjoy our stay thanks to the bath, the breakfast buffet and helpful staff. All in all, the hotel lived up to our expectations, and i can see us returning for another visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay at the Danubius GELLÉRT hotel on TRipAdvisor web page. We are pleased,that you have chosen our property.We are glad to learn from your review, that generally you had a good experience and we thank you for your following comments "We did however enjoy our stay,thanks to the bath,the breakfast and the helpful staff " You are absolutely right,when you mention in you feedback "the rooms and furniture are far from brand new "yes the hotel is getting older and older since it's reopening in 1960. BUT: the owners and the management has already prepared plans for the refurbishment of the hotel, - however due to the global crisis at present we do not have the information when the renovation necessary will take place...
We do appreciate your last sentence "All in all,the hotel lived up to our expectations,and I can see us returning for another visit " yes you will be more than welcome at the GELLÉRT

Sincerely Yours

Mihaly Vasony
Duty Manager
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I will not disagree with some of the other reviews that this hotel is from a by-gone era. The good news is that according to many in Budapest, the renovations will be happening in 2013 to refresh the splendor of this magnificent place.
In saying that, the old fashion style of the hotel (build over 100 years ago) in its current state has also some charm and the facilities in themselves are truly amazing and a wonderful example of a the 19th century craftmanship.
We stayed on the top floor in one of the main suite (named after a famous actor) which was simply enormous and offered magnificient views over the Danube and Budapest in general. It would be unfair to attempt to describe the Spa and Pools attached to the building so much the details and uniqueness of this place is like no other things that can be encountered in modern facilities.
The breakfast was truly amazing if not the best I have ever seen in my travels as it caters for tastes and customs of visitors from around the World.
Trams are passing just at the bottom of the building and will take you everywhere, quickly in Budapest.
The Gellert is one of those places you have to stay at some stage in your life just be able to say it; but more than that to treat yourself and enjoy an unique experience and true indulgence.

Room Tip: Danube view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Well, I stayed there mostly because of free entrance to spa in same building. Spa itself was best of it. Breakfast (included in price) was ok, but nothing impressive - just like in other hotels. I booked single room with shower but got with bath (kinda upgrade), but for me it wasn't renovated for about 15-20 years; Looked like in 90s. NO AIR-CON!. Inside there were TV, mini-bar (paid), safe an something to press trousers. Bed was very soft - to soft for me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your time and review on Tripadvisor.We would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen to stay in the Danubius Hotel Gellért.Your opinion on our hotel is of utmost importance.
We were happy to read ,that you have booked "mostly because of free entrance to spa " and-"Spa itself was good "
We thank you for your remark "breakfast was OK" and that you have appreciated the "kind upgrade" - to a single room with bath. May we reflect to your remarks about the room: the owners and the management has already prepared the plans for the refurbishment of the Gellért, however due to the global crisis at present we do not have the information when the renovation necessary will take place...

yours truly,

Mihaly Vasony
Duty Manager
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of France
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel is situated 100 metres from the chain bridge on the Buda side. It is right next to the tram line (47 & 49) which will take you right into the center of Pest. The frontage is very grand ans is the entrance and lobby with MARBLE columns (not plastic covered) the reception staff we very helpful and polite. The is a Bar, Brasserie and Coffee Lounge off the Main entrance. There is also a Therapy Suite where you can get different treatments, I had a 1 hour full body massage for £24 which is extremely good value.

On the first floor is the Restaurant and Breakfast dining room. Unfortunately the Restaurant was closed for 2 nights to the guest as it was booked for parties which I do not think was acceptable. We did get to eat in the Restaurant eventually and we had an excellent meal (5 course including a different glass of wine with every course for £34 each. There was a string quartet that played in the Restaurant and in the Brasserie, they were very good and gave the place atmosphere, I did not appreciate them touting their CD during the meal though.

The Breakfast dining room was chaotic in the morning as there were not enough staff clearing the tables after people had left, the staff that were there were not very helpful, the breakfast itself was excellent which include a cooked selection as well as cold meats and pastries.

ROOMS: The room we had was in need of an upgrade and not what I would call 4 star. It was clean and after a couple of days we got used to it. The bathrooms were the worst part as the sink was cracked and the bath was very rough through years of use, the water was very brown. As we had only paid £80 per room an a special deal I was not too worried but if I had paid the advertised rate of £170 I would have been hopping! There is no WIFI only a cable Internet which you have to pay £18 per day for including a TV film package, not happy about that! There was no AirCon so would not recommend staying in the summer.

All in all for the price it was not bad but definitely not 4 star.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments in Tripadvisor,and we are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our Danubius Hotel GELLÉRT.Your opinion on our services is of the utmost importance and will help us to improve our services.We do appreciate your very very detailed description of the inner parts of the hotel,this definitely will help future customers to get orientated. We fully agree vith your feedback "the breakfast room was chaotic in the morning " it is not easy to avoid that over a hundred of our dear guests decide to take their breakfast at the very same time between 9.30-to 10.a.m....
It was a pleasure for us to read "in the Restaurant we had an excellent meal 5 course,- including different glass of wine with every course" and further- "the breakfast itself was excellent "-thank you!
We have understood from your kind comments that you had an overall positive impression of our hotel, and the reduced roomrate also helped you to get this positive feeling.
We hope to welcome you back again in our Hotel Gellért soon.

with my very best regards,

Mihaly Vasony
Duty Manager
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Danubius Hotel Gellert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Gellert

Address: Szent Gellert Ter 1, Budapest 1111, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#56 Family Hotel in Budapest
#66 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#77 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Gellert 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated on the Danube riverbank, at the foot of Gellert Hill. Impressive Art-Nouveau building with large, light corridors and lots of character.The hotel shares its building with the famous Gellert Spa, one of the city's most beautiful thermal bath. It is located 10 minutes' walk from Great Market Hall and the downtown shopping area. The new Metro 4 station is just a few steps away from the hotel. It offers excellent business facilities, superb food in the brasserie and a charming coffee shop serving traditional pastries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Danubius Hotel Gellert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Hotel Budapest
Hotel Gellert Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danubius Hotel Gellert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.