We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Danubius Hotel Gellert

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Danubius Hotel Gellert to your Saves list
Danubius Hotel Gellert
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Szent Gellert Ter 1, Budapest 1111, Hungary   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We had a lovely 3 nights on our honeymoon. Easy access to the spa, great service, rooms that take you back to a by gone age and a views of the river and bridge which were great day and night. Fantastic!

Room Tip: A balcony room with a view of the Danube is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Dear "peckham c /London,Dear Guest,

Thank you for your short feedback of Hotel Gellért/Budapest.
It was a pleasure for the Management and the staff to read that you had a "lovely 3 nights stay during your honeymoon".Thank you for mentioning "easy acces to the spa,great service,fantastic view of the river and the bridge lightened.
I am pleased that generally you had a good and pleasant experience,and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Gellért in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Vásony Mihály
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    499
    230
    117
    61
See reviews for
154
426
189
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

The Gellert is the “Old Dame” of Budapest Hotels and is attached to the Gellert Baths.
The rooms we had had not been updated since the 70’s? not sure but a long time but were of good size and clean but lacking “modern features” On particular note was one of our rooms was a suite and the suite consisted of a small bedroom 2 bathrooms and a large circular room that had a small couch and an old desk that the locks had been removed from. This room had great “ bones “ but no furnishings.
Another annoyance is the hotel still uses actual Keys and there is one key per room and when you go out you leave the key at the front desk. Just try and organize that with a family added a lot of confusion.
Connection with the Gellert Baths was great as a guest of the hotel you could simply go through a special entrance on the first floor directly into the baths. I did not realize how big a thing this was until I went out the front door of the baths and saw the line up to get in. As a guest of the hotel you do not even know the lineup exists.
The Danubius Hotel group that owns the hotel is trying hard to modernize and I am no sure what is holding them back if feels like some throwback to a previous era.
I would strongly recommend the “experience “ of staying at the hotel good people working with would equipment trying to do their best a perfect example of that is the restaurants. Which I will review separately.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Mr Mike Calga,Calgary

Many thanks for having taken the time for a longer feedback,concerning your stay at the Hotel Gellért,Budapest.As a recent guest in our hotel your opinion is very important for the management,and will serve as an encouragement to all our staff to continously improve the quality of our services!
We were happy to learn that you were satisfied with the "king size" of our suite despite the fact -as you write - "it had not been updated since the 70's "Yes the furnishing might look a bit old or slowly fading-they are from 1971!
The Gellért management and the staff is looking forward to a full reconstruction-we do hope that our owners will be able to raise the funds necessary.
We do supply -for security reasons- only one key per room,but we always have a chambermaid,or a duty manager with a pass-key to open up the room when necessary.
We appreciate that you liked the connection /easy access / to the bath and we hope you have enjoyed our pools and thermal bath.

And may we thank you for your comments as you write:"I would strongly recommend the "experience"of staying at the hotel"

May I thank you once more for your kind comments,and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Danubius Hotel Gellért on a future occasion!


Yours Sincerely
Vásony Mihály
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I spent three nights in a shared double room. The room was tiny, run down, with spiders on the wall, and paint getting off. I'm aware that there might be different kinds of rooms, and the one we had was on the cheaper end, but still expensive.
The breakfast was reasonable (I'm not expecting that much these days), and the only good point was the free access to the Gellert baths.
My recommendation for anyone considering staying there: there are far better places in Budapest, and with far better value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Mr Martin L Edinburgh,U.K.

Thank you for leaving a comment on TripAdvisor,we very much appreciate your time and effort.
The Management of the Danubius hotel Gellért was disappointed to read that we were unable to meet your expectations.I am sorry that we were unable to meetpersonally as both the reception and me we always try to find a solution and change the room immediately.The management is looking forward to a complete refurbishment,and we do hope that by the end of the recession we can start it hopefully sooner.
In the meantime our staff is trying very hard to offer an excellent service to overcome the probleme of some of our " tiny,and run down "rooms.
Anyway we are sorry for the inconvenience caused during your stay In case of a second visit we definitely promise a nice upgraded room-at no extra charge!

Sincerely

Vásony Mihály
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

I always stay here when in Budapest and, often for the F1.

The hotel has the best spa and pool area and it has the history of Budapest....

However it is a little used, almost run down, but the biggest problem is that there is no aircon in the hotel, which in the summer and even september is a huge problem.

But there is a fantastic spirit in this hotel, it is one of the last places you can feel the old Budapest still alive.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view to the River and with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Public Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Dear Sir,
Thanky you very much taking the time to review the Danubiu Hotel Gellért!
We were glad to read how much you have enjoyed our Gellért spa during your stay.Yes we agree,the lack of aircondition is avery old problem,almost as old as our hotel.
We sincerely hope that after a complete "face lift" of the hotel all the rooms will have aircondition.
At present-due to the crisis in the real estate business,our owner companies do not have the necessary funds to start to refurbish the Gellért.
Thank you for mentioning the"fantastic spirit in this hotel",our entire staff will do its best to work very hard and offer an excellent service!

best regards

Vásony Mihály
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

It is easy to say it is run down or not what it used to be but this is one special place. The staff is old world charming and there are a lot of helpers around. It is the only hotel that every declined to take my credit card saying they would tell me what I owe at the end. And what a grand treat to go into their baths right from your room. I stayed at the Kapinski - far more expensive and "five star" - but this tops this. Also it is a short walk up to the top of the best view in Hungary. And the keys are not automated plastics but an actual key with a big metal holder with the name of the room.I was suprised and impressed, pampered and pleased - the Sunday brunch is not bad either! Of course to be fair I have to aknowledge some shortcomings - the wifi didn't work when I was there

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Dear Mr Ronaldfai,Miami Beach Fla,

Thank you for taking your time for a short "feedback"concerning your stay in the Gellért Hotel.

I am an "oldtimer" at the Gellért and it warms up my heart to read reviews like yours.We the staff of the Gellért fully agree with you as you write : "this is one special place - even if it is a bit old,run down,or not what it used to be.
"We-the entire Management and the Staff - all realize that the hotel is getting older-we badly need a complete renovation/refurbishment.,and we sincerely hope that our owners will soon raise the funds necessary
You mention that"the staff is old world charming and there are a lot of helpers around"--Thank you - I agree!..Yes we do have a direct access to the Gellért bath and it is only a short walk to the top of the Gellért hill to enjoy a fantastic panorama..Thank you for mentioning how much you liked our old type of keys with a big metal holder,and we were pleased to read thet our "Sunday brunch is not bad either"!
Unfortunately we have had bad luck with our wifi supplyer on Sunday on the day of The Hungarian F I Grand Prix the system of our supplyer collapsed....

Once again many thanks for your review!

Best regards:


Vásony Mihály
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed with friends at this hotel to celebrate a birthday.
It was a good choice because it was so different from the regular style of hotel one may experience in any major city, and we wanted to remember our time together.
We celebrated the birthday with a grand lunch in the hotel private dinning room.
The staff were attentive and helpful. The bedrooms had a dressing room/small sitting area attached which was an upgrade we found made for more comfort.
Access to the Gellert Thermal baths was included so we started each day with a swim and hot water soak. Tramcars passed the door or we would walk cross the bridge to the city proper.

Room Tip: Dealing direct with the hotel gave us good prices and the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The hotel is a magnificent building which has seen better times in the past. For this reason the rooms are reasonably priced. The hotel is well placed and has large rooms and particularly excellent suits. Unfortunately the hotel does not have effective air conditioning in many rooms and it can be uncomfortable in hot weather.

The staff are very friendly and do all they can to meet the needs of guests.

The restaurants and bars are excellent and the service is excellent

Room Tip: Advise upgrade to suite. Very negotiable and the suits are magnificent. Unfortunatley few rooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Danubius Hotel Gellért.After reading your kind feedback the managements is sure you have enjoyed your stay with us!
Your opinion is very important,and it helps us to improve the quality of our services.
Yes you are right:"the hotel has seen better times" yes it was opened in 1918, than burned out during the war in 1945 and was reopened in 1960,so we are old...
Because of the lack of reconstruction it is as you mention "reasonably priced" Many thanks for praising our staff at the front desk and in the restaurant.
Yes as you mention you are right"unfortunately few rooms with aircondition."
Our Management and the staff is looking forward to a full reconstruction,we sincerely hope that our owners /company in the U.K./ will soon be able to raise the funds necessary!

Best regards

Vásony Mihály
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Danubius Hotel Gellert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Gellert

Address: Szent Gellert Ter 1, Budapest 1111, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#60 Family Hotel in Budapest
#68 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#87 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Gellert 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored Grand Hotel of neo-classical design, situated beside the Danube, at the foot of Gellert Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Danubius Hotel Gellert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Hotel Budapest
Hotel Gellert Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danubius Hotel Gellert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.