We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Value, Excellent Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Budapest Centrum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Budapest Centrum to your Saves list
Novotel Budapest Centrum
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rakoczi ut 43-45, Budapest 1088, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 EUR breakfast promotion
Ranked #66 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
USA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Value, Excellent Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The reception staff were excellent and spoke English well. The beds in the rooms were very comfortable and the rooms were spacious. There was plenty of hot water in the shower (not always a given in the former Soviet bloc) and the rooms were very clean. Room service was very good and the breakfast was excellent (superb variety in a beautiful setting). Though the hotel is not in the very heart of Budapest, a 10 Euro taxi ride will get you there quickly. The hotel is also quite close to a metro station, so public transportation is also very convenient.

The only downside of my stay was that the air conditioning had been turned off as October is usually quite cold in Budapest. However, the week we were there saw unseasonably warm temperatures, so I was forced to keep my windows open all night. My room faced the main thoroughfare and so the sound of sirens, traffic, and drunk voices was extremely loud all night long. With the windows closed, the sounds were not obvious at all. Thankfully, I always travel with earplugs, which did the trick in this case.

I'd definitely stay here and again and give it a strong recommendation. The hotel is advertised as a 4-star and I agree with that assessment.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the side away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Musician47,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is a pleasure to read your very kind comments regarding you stay at the Novotel Budapest Centrum. Thank you very much for emphasizing the location of our hotel; it is our hope that you could reach many sights of the city.
Your compliments have been forwarded to the staff; it is always a great reward for us when a guest leaves the hotel satisfied.
It is our pleasure to hear that you would recommend us to the traveller community.
Next time please let us know your preferences ; We will be happy to assign an inner-courtyard room for you upon availability.
Thank you for your positive review once more and we would be glad to welcome you in Novotel Budapest Centrum again!

Sincerely yours,
The Team of Novotel Budapest Centrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    381
    104
    15
    6
See reviews for
212
242
37
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

sometimes i don't get some of these reviews. when people write negative comments about the stuff, i wonder what were they expectation! Service was excellent. we asked for more towels, got them in 5 min. Needed a room service menu in english, 5 min. we need to be fair with hotels that have low cost yet try to give good service. i told them in the registration while booking the room that this is an anniversary celebration. two min after check in and they came with a nice bottle of champagne (complimentary, thank you Dora for everything) . Breakfast was above my expectation. Location is good and in 10-15 min walk, you are in the center of everything. Metro line (we didn't use it) is just around the corner, button line. well done Novotel Centrum

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear meiru1,

Thank you very much for your kind comments! We are glad that you were satisfied with Novotel Budapest Centrum and it is our hope that you will choose us for your next stay in Budapest as well.
Your kind and detailed comments have already been shared with the staff and we are all happy that you were satisfied with our services.
Thank you very much for mentioning the good location of the hotel and hopefully will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the hotel again.

Best wishes,

The team of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed with our two kids, (5 and 7). Easy to get to all places around Budapest. Plenty of choice of transports nearby. Supermarket cross the street. Good choice of breakfastitems. The room facing the street with good soundproof windows and enough space for the four of us. Novotel always a sure thing!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Stefan A,

We are all pleased at Novotel Budapest Centrum that you provided us with your feedback concerning your stay in our hotel. Your very kind comments have been forwarded to the staff – it is always the greatest reward for us when we receive the positive review from the satisfied guests.

It is delightful to know that the room and the services have also met your expectations. Thank you very much for highlighting the good location of the hotel – hopefully you could easily reach many from the sights of the city.
It will be our pleasure to host you again in the not so distant future!

Yours Sincerely,

The team of the Novotel Budapest Centrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The word centrum is a little misleading as it is a long walk to most of the attractions of Budapest .and the hotel is not situated in a particularly nice area especially after dark. The hotel is nicely appointed also our bedroom, the bed most comfortable. Unfortunately we could not get an internet connection in our bedroom. The reception staff were most helpful especially Mr Grunvald the Front Office Manager .The food was good, but the menu is limited especially if you were staying longer than a few days.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear inspector61,

Thank you very much for posting a review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at the Novotel Budapest Centrum. We read sadly that the internet connection didn’t work properly in your room during stay; Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences that you had to experience. Otherwise I do hope you had a memorable stay in Budapest. Your compliments to Mr. Grünvald have been forwarded to him; it is always a great reward for us when a guest leaves the hotel satisfied.
Thank you for your review once more and we would be happy to welcome you in Novotel Budapest Centrum again!

Sincerely yours,
The Team of Novotel Budapest Centrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

In general, the Novotels are good standard hotels. So with this one. The reception area, the bar and the restaurant is very nice looking and presented in a good way. Staff is generaly nice and serviceminded. The rooms are of good quality and quite good size. But this time we had a room that took in all the noise from the street. In addition the room was extremely hot. I have spent 3 nights here and every night I have slept on top of the bed without anything covering me because of the heat. I was told by the receptionist that it was the cold season and it is not possible to run both aircon and heater at the same time in the building. Isn't that called balanced ventillation..? The best thing to do I was told was to shut down the hole ventillation system. This ruined a big part of the impression of the hotel I'm sorry to say, because it was difficult to get a good sleep. Otherwise this hotel is a good share.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Preben G,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Budapest Centrum.

Please accept our sincerest apologies because of the issues with the air-conditioning– it is our hope that even with these inconveniences you had memorable days in Budapest.
I would like to kindly inform you that the heating in the room already turned on but unfortunately the system not able to do both the cooling and heating in the same time.

Furtermore thank you very much for highlighting the enterieur design of the hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear nice words from our guests.

Our team stay at your disposal to discuss any further inconveniences on H3560-FO@accor.com.

Thank you again for calling our attention for your experiences and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind Regards,
The team of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We were a family of four and stayed here because my sister was staying here on a Trafalgar Tour. They really squashed us in and although we didn't spend much time in the room it was a bit of a squeeze. The towels in the bathroom were terrible. Small and very thin. The breakfast was amazing and the staff were friendly.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear travelplanneranna,

We are all pleased at Novotel Budapest Centrum that you took the time and care to tell us about your experiences concerning your stay.

Happy to read that you enjoyed the wide selection of the breakfast in our restaurant, Café Palace. Its interior design has a unique style – Art Nouveau - which is related with modernity in services.
Furthermore, the size of the room is determined by the international standards of the Novotel brand, therefore we are sorry if it wasn’t up to your expectations. It is our hope that you were satisfied with the quality of the services we provided. Your opinion is very important to us because we are extremely vigilant to our guests’ satisfaction.
Let us apologize because of the inconveniences in connection with the towels - Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
Thank you again for calling our attention for your experiences; it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind regards,

The Team of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The rooms in the Novotel are clean but many of them face a very noisy street. The location is a long walk from the river and the neighborhood is bit dicey, particularly after dark. The service was fine and the food was average. OK for business but would not recommend for tourists.

Room Tip: make sure your room does not face the main street. Very noise all night long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear shandydog,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review concerning your stay at Novotel Budapest Centrum.

I’m really sorry to hear that the location of the hotel wasn’t up to your expectation but I hope you had the chance to discover some of the sights in our city.
If you found your room too noisy than upon your next reservation please let us know in advance – we will be happy to assign you a room facing the courtyard – upon availability.

Thank you again for calling our attention for your experiences. We highly appreciate your help in making us aware of the improvements that we can make to our services.

Hopefully we have a chance to accommodate you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Team of the Novotel Budapest Centrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Budapest Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Budapest Centrum

Address: Rakoczi ut 43-45, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Budapest
#44 Family Hotel in Budapest
#46 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#59 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Budapest Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Budapest Centrum is a 4 star hotel close to the business centres and major cultural attractions of Budapest. Business travellers will find WiFi internet and seven meeting rooms at their disposal. A beautiful place to stay on holiday in Budapest, the Novotel features a restaurant, bar, gym, jacuzzi and sauna, all in a charming, heritage protected building with modern additions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Budapest Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Budapest Centrum Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Centrum
Budapest Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Budapest Centrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.