We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing like their website” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Budapest Centrum

Save Saved
You added Novotel Budapest Centrum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Novotel Budapest Centrum
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rakoczi ut 43-45, Budapest 1088, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 332 hotels in Budapest
ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“nothing like their website”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here for three nights mid August. the location is not central as their website would suggest. It was a good 15-20 minute walk from the restaurants and tourists spots. The room we had was very poky and not at all like to photos on their website (beware!) The bed was far too low and the pillows were like hankies. The redeeming factor was the breakfast which was excellent.
Didn't have a pool and the sauna/steamroom was in the basement which at night was a bit intimidating as it was so dark down there. Staff were pleasant.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony as they seemed to be more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear castlecrest,

First of all thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion regarding your stay at Novotel Budapest Centrum.

We are extremely sorry that the working condition of the room did not meet your expectations in all aspects. Thank you very much your remark concerning the pillow I shared it with Housekeeping Manager and they would pay more attention on it. We appreciate your help in making us aware of the improvements that we can make to the services we provide.

Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced here.

I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
Our team stay at your disposal to discuss any further question on H3560-FO@accor.com.

Thank you again for calling our attention for your experiences and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best Regards,

The team of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    210
    308
    88
    12
    7
See reviews for
145
182
33
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amman
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My daughter and I chose the Novotel Centrum for a mother/daughter city break. It proved to be an excellent location with frequent buses on the doorstep to the main tourist areas and the metro just a few yards away. We bought a 72 hr travel card at the airport which we started using immediately to get from the airport to the hotel. It was valid on all transport and made getting around hassle free.

Book a room in the hotel high up and you won't hear any street noise. The rooms are air conditioned, exceptionally clean and generously supplied with fresh towels and toiletries daily. There is a safe, tea and coffee facilities as well as a small fridge. We didn't eat at the hotel because we enjoyed discovering restaurants but there are several supermarkets nearby where you can pick up drinks and snacks.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful, giving us directions and maps of the city.

Altogether, we found everything we wanted at Novotel Centrum, and would definitely consider this chain of hotels again.

Room Tip: Book a room in the hotel high up and you won't hear any street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Jactam,

Happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and wrote such a nice review on TripAdvisor. It is always a pleasure to know when a guest leaves the hotel satisfied and with good memories.

Your very nice comment on the front office staff was already forwarded to them. We are very proud of our customer-oriented team and it is a pleasure to read that you were also satisfed with the quality of the service.
Your satisfaction is the best possible reward for us and for our team. It encourages us and makes us proud to have accommodated you. It is a pleasure to know that our efforts had been remembered.
Please check our website for the next offers and we are looking forward to seeing you!

Best wishes and have a nice week,
The team of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad Bolivar, Venezuela
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I believe the spend all their money on the building and the restaurant cause the rooms are simple boring small and ugly. The breakfast is indeed incredible and is well ubicated right in front of a metro, the metro sucks in budapest since if you don't validate the ticket (wich is a TINY machine that nobody ever tells you that you have to use, even the police men right in front of them) they will be waiting for you and charge you 25 euros. My staying in budapest was weird and now that I've seen this city i don't think ill ever come back, too much trouble in the metro and other stuff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Oriana R,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Budapest Centrum.
We have realized that you were especially dissatisfied with the room. Please let me kindly inform you that the room, and the various services offered to customers, are determined by the international standards of the Novotel brand.
Otherwise we would like to take the oppurtunity to thank you for highlighting the interior design of the hotel.
We are sorry to hear that you had difficulties with metro here in Budapest; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences.

We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your opinion is very important for us.
It is our hope that we have a chance to welcome you again in our hotel .

Yours Sincerely,

Team of the Novotel Budapest Centrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Staff very friendly. Good location of the hotel. Near trams, buses, subway. A lot of groups, so sometimes it is hard to get free table in the restaurant in the morning. And staff despite working hard have problems to clean tables.

One big minus is thst rooms from the road side are very noisy. There are few hospitals around and ambulances are driving all night long. Unfortunatelly hotel has poor windows, so you can hear street noise all the time.
But overall very good hotel for a stay in Budapest

Room Tip: Rooms form the main street side are very noisy. Poor windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Andrzej Pi,

First of all thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we very value your feedback.
It is our pleasure that the location of the hotel met your expectations and you could easily reach the sights of Budapest.
I am sorry to hear that you had a problem with the noise which came from the main road; please accept our sincerest apologies.
Concerning the noise please on your next reservation let us know that you prefer one of our most quiet rooms and we will be happy to assign you a room facing the courtyard – upon availability.
We very much appreciate your comments and it is our honest hope that we can welcome you among our guests in the near future again.

Kind regards,

The team of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Budapest Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Budapest Centrum

Also Known As:
Novotel Budapest Centrum Hotel
Novotel Budapest Centrum Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Centrum
Novotel Budapest
Budapest Novotel
Address: Rakoczi ut 43-45, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Budapest
#47 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#53 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Budapest Centrum 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Budapest Centrum is a 4 star hotel close to the business centres and major cultural attractions of Budapest. Business travellers will find WiFi internet and seven meeting rooms at their disposal. A beautiful place to stay on holiday in Budapest, the Novotel features a restaurant, bar, gym, jacuzzi and sauna, all in a charming, heritage protected building with modern additions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Budapest Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Budapest Centrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.