We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good-ish location, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Budapest Metropol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Budapest Metropol to your Saves list
Mercure Budapest Metropol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rakoczi Utca 58, Budapest 1074, Hungary (District VII / Jewish Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #155 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good-ish location, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

There's nothing happening right next to the hotel but we walked almost everywhere and it didn't take long to get places. The staff is super friendly and helpful. The breakfast sis nothing special but very complete with fruit, eggs, bread, vegetables, etc. The rooms are very small but clean, I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaskovics, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Metropol, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Mrs. E,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion on the Tripadvisor! We are very happy that you find our hotel nice and well located, not to mention the breakfast value.
We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and a review such as yours is most gratifying.
I sincerely hope we have an opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hotel,
Best Regards,
Maria Blaskovics
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    227
    179
    51
    32
See reviews for
66
249
60
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Can't say much good or about my stay. The Hotel is close to the Underground station which is two stops to the Danube River. The area feels a little run down with street hawkers around the streets and underground station. Rooms were small but perfectly functional including TV, free
wi-fi, en-suite, mini bar. If you have booked room only don't pay for the breakfast as it's a waste of money. Staff all very helpful and offer storage of bags after I checked out. Room rate was very good so met my expectations considering I spent little time in my room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaskovics, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Metropol, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank You for your comments, I took your point in term of positive and negative feedback as well. It’s a pleasure for me to read that our housekeeping and front desk staff provided you a real professional service.
I sincerely hope we have an opportunity of welcoming you back to Mercure Budapest Metropol,
Best Regards,
Maria Blaskovics
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Let me pass my deep dissapointment for the service we have recieved today.
We are having more than 200 nights in Hotel Korona Budapest a year as a company, and today´s experience just completely dissapointed us.

1. As hotel Korona was sold out, I was transffered to Hotel Metropol, with the promise of privilege room.
Receptionist did not bother to offer the privilage room (eventhough it was on a visitir card clearly stated)and booked me in a room 309/smelly smoky mini room with socialistic type of bathroom. After I went up with all of the luggage, room key did not work twice, so needed to come back to reception 2x.
I ve asked for the reason why I was not upgraded as promised, receptionist finally, upgraded the room. Bz the waz ..priviledged is "just a slightly bigger standard room" - very old , dirty look, horrible"like 1000 x used" blankets and pillows
Rooms – either privilage and standard are very LOW standard, old, smelly, and dirty and for 90 € !!!!!, we would never ever AGAIN ENTER THIS HOTEL !

2. My collegue – had reservation for 3 nights in Corona – and when she arrived, she was informed that her room was canceled """"with no explanation !
She was also linked to METROPOL with the promise for an upgrade. Again, upgrade was not offered, booking was wrong, just for 1 night instead of 3 nights. We neede to pay for a taxi etc.

I would like to stress, that My collegue is spending in Budapest 3 days each week and was using Hotel Corona. Im personaly member of Le club and we travel around CEE region using ACCOR hotels as well,.
AFTER THIS CUSTOMER EXPERIENCE OF HORRIBLE SERVICE, RUDE STAFF AND UNBELIEVABLE CHARGES FOR LOW CLASS HOTEL, WE WILL BE NO LONGER WILLING TO USE YOUR SERVICE IN BUDAPEST.

Best regards,

Natália Šegedová

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte Amalie, null, United States
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The Metropol building has an interesting historical back story. You just can't beat the price and location. Walk out the lobby and everything is nearby. The rooms are small but who goes to Budapest to stay in the room! All the staff were very friendly. I ended up getting a few great gifts from the shop in the lobby which my friends really enjoyed!

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaskovics, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Metropol, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciated the time and the care you took to evaluate our hotel. It is a pleasure for us that you were satisfied with our staff, service, and location.
I sincerely hope we have an opportunity of welcoming you back to Mercure Budapest Metropol,

Best Regards,
Maria Blaskovics
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

definitely did not leave us a 4-star feeling. the rooms are quite clean but seem old, the staff is not very helpful, the area in which it is located is a noisy and notorious one, only one outlet in the room which was already occupied by a lamp! there were no towels in the room, had to call for the reception to bring us. they were hopefully clean but needed immediate replacement. our reservation was for a room with a queen side and the gave us a twin room and they weren't able to upgrade us. only upsides, near the railway and metro station, and the big variety of the breakfast. if you insist on choosing the Accor hotels, definitely choose Ibis.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Blaskovics, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Metropol, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Sir, Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us!
We are very sorry that full hotel occupancy with some laundry delay caused you some uncomfortable moments, and the same time I highly appreciate your positive feedback regarding good public transport possibilities and breakfast quality.
We hope you will give us the opportunity to show you our best Mercure performance,
Best Regards,
Maria Blaskovics
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed here through Gate 1 Travel and it was a decent hotel. The prices I saw were pretty steep for the quality, but it was alright. The rooms were pretty clean, the carpet seemed a bit dirty though. The staff was friendly. The breakfast wasn't that good. It was in a pretty convenient location. It was within walking distance to everything, so that's great. Overall.... it was a decent hotel. There are lots of better options in Budapest though!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Eight of us spent 2 nights on a recent trip. We got exactly what we'd expect from Mecure - friendly helpful reception, clean comfortable rooms and excellent value for money. The hotel is a short (10 minutes) walk from the river and then a little way further to the main sights. It is close to some of the best bars to go party.

All in all very satisfied.I didn't eat there at any point so am not giving 5 stars as I don't know what the food was like, but I heard nothing bad said by anybody in the group.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
#116 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
Hotel Museum Budapest
#88 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#75 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Budapest Duna
#133 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest City Center
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Budapest Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest Metropol

Address: Rakoczi Utca 58, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest Metropol 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offering 130 rooms situated on the Pest side halfway between the Danube and the eastern railway station. The most significant sights and public institutions of the city are within easy reach. Ideal for both business and leisure travellers. The hotel features a bar, snack counter and 3 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Budapest Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest Metropol Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Metropol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Budapest Metropol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.