We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Budapest Metropol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Budapest Metropol to your Saves list
Mercure Budapest Metropol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rakoczi Utca 58, Budapest 1074, Hungary (Erzsébetváros)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Montreux, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Great hotel, clean and modern rooms, free wifi in rooms, perfect location in the centre and next to major metro and tram lines. Nice people at the reception. We found a great offer on easyjet.com for the flights and the hotel and we were very happy. The reception organized the transfer back to the airport, it was cheap and well organized. =)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    189
    157
    37
    23
See reviews for
52
206
55
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Breclav, Czech Republic
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Although on one of the rushest streets of the city, the Mercure Metropol was reasonably quiet with our room facing the inner court (can't say if that applies for the rooms facing the street). The location was good, the staff friendly, cleanliness very good as well. The room facilities were on the level. If there is a problem, then it would be the size of the room, which in my opinion can't even be helped much since all normal rooms looked the same size. Even so for the prize payed it was very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

now i'm not sure its really a four star BUT its not really priced as one. I paid little more than £30 a night ( we stayed 3 nights) and although we didn't have breakfast in this we had all we needed. The hotel is clean, well kept ,the location is good ( next to trams and metro) and the staff friendly and helpful. For a real luxury treat just around the corner is the Boscolo New York Palace if you have the pennies go have breakfast the place is simply awesome. Some reviews have really ripped into this hotel and i'm not sure why , i'm pretty well traveled and i found it a great hotel for the price. I didn't find the location dangerous etc as previously said and I didn't find the hotel lacking or un deserving of a Mecure tag . I liked the place and I loved Budapest. Ok there are drunks in the subway but no one came on to me or my Mum and we felt perfectly safe buzzing about on public transport and out and about even late on BUT perhaps I'm a bit more used to city travels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siofok, Hungary
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had an amazing deal of 55€ incl. breakfast for two - for that price Mercure Metropol was a perfect base for our 3-days trip to Budapest. Our room was a bit outdated, the selection of TV channels was poor. However the location of the hotel (metro and main tram line) was very convenient. The reception and housekeeping staff was very friendly, good english and smiley. The heating worked very well - what else we would need? If you are not a snobish guy and you find a good deal - try this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaskovics, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Metropol, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear ZsuLeroy,

Thank You for your nice evaluation, I took your point in term of positive and negative comments as well. Your review surely will help other travellers to find their best choice!
I sincerely hope we have an opportunity of welcoming you back to Mercure Budapest Metropol,

Best Regards,
Maria Blaskovics
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Worst hotel ever. It definetely doesn't deserve the Mercure name.
The rooms are noise and smell it. The location is not that good as well.
The restaurant isn't good.
The overal service is regular.
Stay at Ibis.

Room Tip: Choose IBIS instead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaskovics, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Metropol, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Budapest Metropol. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Most of our guest appreciates central location, and good price-value ratio.
At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best Regards, Maria Blaskovics
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Bien placé vers Blaha Lujza Ter, donc le métro et le tram pour visiter la ville. Petit bmol c'était la supérfacie de la chambre! Il y avait le lit et puis plus rien!
Well located near Blaha Luiza Ter so easy for the metro and the tram to visit the town. The downside was the size of the room - miniscule. There was the bed and that was it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel is very nice and very accommodating. The front desk staff was awesome. My suitcase arrived on another flight and was delivered and they were very quick to let me know when it had arrived. The rooms were very modern, but not very many outlets. It is very close to a metro station, which makes it very easy to get everywhere in Budapest.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and the room was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Budapest Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest Metropol

Address: Rakoczi Utca 58, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#81 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest Metropol 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offering 130 rooms situated on the Pest side halfway between the Danube and the eastern railway station. The most significant sights and public institutions of the city are within easy reach. Ideal for both business and leisure travellers. The hotel features a bar, snack counter and 3 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Budapest Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest Metropol Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Metropol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Budapest Metropol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.