We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budapest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo Hotel Budapest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Leonardo Hotel Budapest to your Saves list
Leonardo Hotel Budapest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30-34 Tompa Street, Budapest 1094, Hungary (Formerly Ramada Budapest)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Wexford, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Budapest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed in this hotel, and food was lovely. Great choice for breakfast and dinner at reasonable rates. Rooms were ok if a little small and the staff were very courteous and friendly. Hotel itself was in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andras K, Front Office Manager at Leonardo Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Margot 1111,
Thank you for your valued feedback; every review is important for us as it allows us to look at our Hotel with guest’s eyes and helps us to detect areas need to be inproved, finally to reach our ultimate goal:guest satisfaction.
We are more than happy to read, that we could add a bit to make your Budapest stay memorable and enjoyable.
Your opininion is a big motivation for our Hotel Team members to continue with the efforts, thank you for it!
We hope we can welcome you again in Leonardo Hotels!
Best Regards

Andras Kiss I Front Office Manager
Leonardo Hotel Budapest | Tompa u. 30-34 | 1094 Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    142
    95
    30
    14
See reviews for
47
142
14
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Ther's absolutely no sound isolation.
You can hear how someone mixes his tea in next room.
Rooms are dirty and with smell of mold.
Breakfast is all the same all days.
Gym has bicycle and bars only.
Infra-red Spa costs 4 euro/15 minutes.

Room Tip: Ask a room near storage room or the one in corner with view on garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andras K, Front Office Manager at Leonardo Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Zilberstein,

Thank you for your valued feedback; every review is important for us as it allows us to look at our Hotel with guest’s eyes and helps us to detect areas need to be improved, finally to reach our ultimate goal: guest satisfaction.
The Hotel is ongoing planning renovating and continuing the refurbishment which was implemented this year to fulfill every and each of our guest demands.
We hope we can welcome you again in Leonardo Hotels!
Best Regards

Andras Kiss I Front Office Manager
Leonardo Hotel Budapest | Tompa u. 30-34 | 1094 Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The hotel is located in a quiet area, 5 min. walk from Metro Station 3, which is very comfortable.
Our room was small, but it was clean and exactly what we needed.
The only problem was with the breakfast - I'm not used to see the same dishes every day. I personally didn't like any of the dishes.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andras K, Front Office Manager at Leonardo Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Amitgold,

Thank you for your valued feedback; every review is important for us as it allows us to look at our Hotel with guest’s eyes and helps us to detect areas need to be inproved, finally to reach our ultimate goal:guest satisfaction.
We are more than happy to read, that we could add a bit to make your Budapest stay memorable and enjoyable.
Upon request our breakfast cook supplies any kind of breakfast needs within the possibilities, so you just ask for it, and we will take efforts to fulfill!

We hope we can welcome you again in Leonardo Hotels!
Best Regards

Andras Kiss I Front Office Manager
Leonardo Hotel Budapest | Tompa u. 30-34 | 1094 Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Lobby, bar and restaurant really look like as they are in an average hotel. Always packed with loud Italian students having party on the street. But everything depends on the staff. If they can tell them not to have party on the street, in front of the hotel and go inside and have some drinks there instead of it would be helpful for everyone: rest of guests, people having apartment next door and hotel business also. But first of all, I am kindly suggesting for the GM to ask strictly all the employees not to smoke in front of the building. That's what makes this hotel REALLY cheap!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andras K, Front Office Manager at Leonardo Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Mr. Andrewboy,

Thank you for your valued feedback; every review is important for us as it allows us to look at our Hotel with guest’s eyes and helps us to detect areas need to be inproved, finally to reach our ultimate goal:guest satisfaction.
Let me answer your review as a budapester to the other: as you might know as well - because you live nearby in Budapest too - since a while smoking is prohibited at common indoor areas, therefor the guests must find the smoking areas out of the building 5 metres away from the entrance door... so if you had seen anyone smoking front of the Hotel, they just was trying to fulfill the rules but not in purpose of having parties.
Upon request and availability the Hotel provides smoking rooms for the smoker guests, but unoften that is not enough, or not requested in advance.

The hotel crew take as much effort as possible to arrange the Hotel stay enjoyable and memorable without any disturbance for every and each of the Hotel's guest.

Best Regards

Andras Kiss I Front Office Manager
Leonardo Hotel Budapest | Tompa u. 30-34 | 1094 Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

this is my first review and i never do them. but this hotel had very misleading photos of the hotel, inside and out. first, the area was definitely not quite. i've been up all night with no sleep. paper thin walls and you can hear every peep and cell phone vibration next door, neighborhood was noisy and it felt like a third world. nothings super close by (chain bridge is 2 miles) that are big attractions. blankets ended up with rash and this was just bad. one channel non english on tv. its decent for just to have a place to stay, but definitely misleading. not a 4 star. BE AWARE.

only pro: the bed was comfy.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andras K, Front Office Manager at Leonardo Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear beepbidoo5555,

Thank you for your valued feedback; every review is important for us as it allows us to look at our Hotel with guest’s eyes and helps us to detect areas need to be inproved, finally to reach our ultimate goal:guest satisfaction.
We are sorry about your experience, I will forward it to the adequate and responsible department to make sure the right pictures are displayed on the different websites; also to examine the possibilities of noise isolation.
In case any of our guest is disturbed by noise from an other guest, and it is reported to the Receptionist, the Security Crew has the right from 22:00 to 06:00 to ask the noisy guest to respect the sleeping hours and quiet down.

We hope we can welcome you again in Leonardo Hotels!
Best Regards

Andras Kiss I Front Office Manager
Leonardo Hotel Budapest | Tompa u. 30-34 | 1094 Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

My boyfriend and I were looking for an inexpensive getaway which is what we got, I had expected better based on the rating as the room looked dated and wasn't overly comfortable. Basic amenities aren't provided which you would expect from 4*. The location is fine with some good restaurants and a wine cafe/bar nearby.

The restaurant in the hotel was good value and the desk staff were incredibly helpful at all times.

Overall not blown away but it was a perfectly acceptable stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andras K, Front Office Manager at Leonardo Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Eagriff,

Thank you for your valued feedback; every review is important for us as it allows us to look at our Hotel with guest’s eyes and helps us to detect areas need to be inproved, finally to reach our ultimate goal:guest satisfaction.
Certainly we are willing to fullfill each market segments needs, therefore we offer rooms on different categories with different amenities.
As collecting more information about our guest's demands we will examine the possiblilities to provide amenities accordingly.

We hope we can welcome you again in Leonardo Hotels!

Best Regards

Andras Kiss I Front Office Manager
Leonardo Hotel Budapest | Tompa u. 30-34 | 1094 Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Looks like a backpackers hostel. Worst room more like a 1 star. Cheap wooden floors and the worst decor ever! Old furniture. Old bed. Didn't even have a throw on it. Just white sheets with white quilts, so bad you don't even feel like sleeping on them. In fact we checked out earlier then we were supposed to on the day of our flight and decided to hang around in the airport instead. Bathroom was dirty and small, didn't even feel clean after showering. The whole room looked damp and smelt damp with a haunted feel to it. Regret booking it. Looks exactly like a hostel in an area which looks like it belongs to backpackers. Infant this hotel has so many students in it who travel on a budget and make so much noise. So revolting. Never can this place be a 4 star. Even a B&B is better

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andras K, Front Office Manager at Leonardo Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear HelloT2013,

Thank you for your valued feedback; every review is important for us as it allows us to look at our Hotel with guest’s eyes and helps us to detect areas need to be inproved, finally to reach our ultimate goal:guest satisfaction.
We are sorry about your experience; we are taking a lot of effort to make the group of students and the induvidual clients stay as comfortable as possible. Therefor we allocate upon availability on separate floors the group and induviduals; we ask each groupleader to make all groupmembers understand the Hotel Rules as a base of the socialisation; and to give weight for the rules we collect deposit from each group member which they might loose if missbehaving. On the other hand we do respect every and each hotel guest as induvidual person and his/her rights to have a pleasure stay.
I would be glad, if you would inform me about your used room number, this way allowing me to check about your experience and follow it accordingly.

We hope we can welcome you again in Leonardo Hotels!
Best Regards

Andras Kiss I Front Office Manager
Leonardo Hotel Budapest | Tompa u. 30-34 | 1094 Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Leonardo Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Budapest

Address: 30-34 Tompa Street, Budapest 1094, Hungary (Formerly Ramada Budapest)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#78 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Budapest
Budapest Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonardo Hotel Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.